Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Beware Of The Moors, Lads"
An American Werewolf In London (DVD).

Product Info.
Format: PAL
Region: 2
Number of discs: 2
Ratio: 16.9/1.85:1 anamorphic
Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1,
French-dubbed 2.0 track
Subtitles:English, French & Spanish
Classification: 18
Studio: Universal Pictures UK
Running Time: 98 minutes

DVD...
Published 5 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Believe the Bad Transfer Reviews
I always like to make up my own mind about items. I read reviews; but because everyone is different I take everything with a hefty dose of salt. That being said, I had already decided that I would like a copy of this film. It's one of my favourite 80s horrors and, in my opinion, one of the all-time-best werewolf films. I had intended to rent this on blu-ray before buying,...
Published on 5 Jan. 2012 by Pantheon


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Beware Of The Moors, Lads", 5 Oct. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An American Werewolf In London (DVD).

Product Info.
Format: PAL
Region: 2
Number of discs: 2
Ratio: 16.9/1.85:1 anamorphic
Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1,
French-dubbed 2.0 track
Subtitles:English, French & Spanish
Classification: 18
Studio: Universal Pictures UK
Running Time: 98 minutes

DVD Extras.
All of the extras from the previous edition have been ported over here, with a couple of new additions.
Disc One:
Commentary track with stars David Naughton & Griffin Dunne.
Rick Baker: I Walked with a Werewolf.
Making An American Werewolf in London
Outtakes
Animated Storyboards
A still Photograph Montage.

Disc Two:
A brand-new documentary: Beware the Moon.

Cast.
David Naughton as David Kessler
Jenny Agutter as Nurse Alex Price
Griffin Dunne as Jack Goodman
John Woodvine as Dr. J.S. Hirsch
Lila Kaye as Barmaid
Frank Oz as Mr. Collins
John Landis as Man smashed in window
David Schofield as Dart Player
Brian Glover as Chess Player
Rik Mayall as Man in Pub (2nd Chess Player)
Don McKillop as Inspector Villiers
Paul Kember as Sergeant McManus
Michael Carter as Gerald Bringsley
Will Leighton as Joseph
Frank Singuineau as Ted
Sydney Bromley as Alf
Linzi Drew as Brenda Bristols

Trivia.
1)This is the first film to earn the Academy Award for Best Makeup. That category was created in 1981.
2)All the songs in this film have the word "moon" in their titles.
3)The fake porno movie "See You Next Wednesday" was the first thing to be filmed during production.
4)Studio executives hoped John Landis would cast Dan Aykroyd in the role of David & John Belushi as Jack. John Landis refused.
5)David Naughton reported that the hospital bed in the forest scene was the most difficult & painful one. Back then, they used glass contact lenses.
6)Michael Jackson was so bowled over by this movie - most especially by the the makeup and special effects - he insisted on hiring the responsible personnel for his planned music video Thriller (1983).
7)Unlike most motion pictures it was filmed in sequence, with the opening scenes filmed first & the closing sequences filmed last.
8)John Landis: appears briefly near the end of the film. He is the bearded man who gets hit by a car & thrown through the plate glass window in Piccadilly Circus.

What's The Story.
Two American college students are on a walking tour of Britain who don't listen to the warnings of the local townsfolk & are attacked by a werewolf in the moors.

Jack is killed, while David is bitten, The werewolf is eventually killed & reverts to its human form, while the local townspeople are unwilling to acknowledge the werewolfs existence.

Back in London David finds himself falling in love with a nurse named Alex who looked after him in hospital but begins to have nightmares & keeps seeing his dead friend Jack who demands that he commit suicide as David will transform into a werewolf during the next full moon & prey on innocent victims to feed his bloodlust who will also become cursed by being trapped between two worlds because of their unnatural deaths.

Timelord Thoughts.
Director John Landis delivers a cult classic werewolf movie here mixing together the right balance of horror & comedy & gives us one of the most impressive painful & shocking on screen non CGI transformations of man to werewolf sequence that still looks impressive to this day.

This film is bloody scary, funny & satirical & very sad as the main character David as a genuine nice guy who just happens to be cursed by having being bitten by a werewolf, David Naughton is brilliant in the role of David Kessler & gives a charming likeable performance & allows the audience to feel empathy with his infliction & sadness at his ultimate demise.

Griffin Dunne is fine as David's friend Jack in his short appearance, Jenny Agutter does well as the love interest here playing Nurse Alex Price who has never looked more beautiful while John Woodvine as Dr. Hirsch gives a superb performance & completely steals every scene he's in.

The werewolf transformation as I've mentioned is impressive & puts the CGI werewolf sequences in movies today to shame, the zombie Jack looks dated now however & again this is another horror film that abruptly ends, personally I'd have featured a sequence with Alex at David's grave rubbing her tummy that hints shes pregnant with his child which would've been more effective.

This two Disc DVD is impressive & features a stunning DVD transfer of the movie that's clearer & sharper over the previous release plus a enhanced 5.1 soundtrack, while the extras are great value especially the documentary 'Beware the Moon' which is 90 minutes long & covers everything you want to know about the movie from script to screen.

Overall, An American Werewolf In London is a solid horror film that delivers chills, jump out scares & wonderful satirical comedy that will have you jumping behind the sofa one minute & laughing out loud the next & is a excellent werewolf movie that deserves it's title of a cult classic.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lycanthropy Landis Style, 14 Jun. 2006
By 
Shaun Anderson (Nottingham/Hereford, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Werewolf sub-genre is one that has suffered over the years from poverty row production values and destructive self mockery. Like the Zombie, the Werewolf is the poor relation to the endless tales of vampirism and Frankenstein. This is mainly due to a lack of generic tradition in literature and art, but Hollywood has done little to redress the balance over the years. However for a short time in the early 1980's the Werewolf enjoyed the fullest of moons with both Joe Dante's HOWLING and John Landis' AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON thrilling audiences and winning important critical notices. Landis had scored with ANIMAL HOUSE and THE BLUES BROTHERS, and deftly combines the ribald humour of those films with all the horror clichés that had undone Universal's output in the 1940's. Importantly Landis's humour is not mocking, instead he gives us an affectionate parody, overflowing with enthusiasm. He is also very aware of the conventions and limitations of the genre itself. The scares and violence come in abundance as does the nonsensical narrative twists. England is both beautiful and eerie, a space in which the age old battle between science and superstition continues to be played out. The film works because of its lack of originality, through its post-modern appropriation of Universal's themes and iconography we have an early example of a horror homage. Wonderful special make up effects by Rick Baker however firmly anchors the film in modern horror seas. Full of excellent British character actors, the nostalgia of the film is pitched perfectly and represents the high watermark of Hollywood horror films for the 1980's.

Universal's 2 disc DVD is misleading. The supplementary features amount to little more than 45 minutes, and the DVD could have easily been presented on a single disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware The Moon, Stay On The Path, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
J. Rain "John Rain" (Hove) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of my all time fave films is finally available on Blu Ray.

I will cut the film review part, I am sure if you are reading this, you know the film and you just want to know the quality.

Picture
Very grainy, think the recent Ghostbusters Blu Ray in terms of the grain. Intrusive at first but once your eyes adjust it feels quite clear. It is lot brighter than the grainy and dark VHS/DVD transfers. You can see a lot more. But you get a lot more grain.

Audio
A new English DTS-HD Lossless Master Audio 5.1 Surround track (48kHz/16-bit) has been produced for 'An American Werewolf in London.' The film has always possessed a rather effective mix for a 1981 horror picture, and it has been upgraded nicely here.

Surround deployment is impressive considering the film's age. The rears are active for the big scare moments, particularly the creepy wolf sound effects, and general atmosphere. Charles Bernstein's underrated score is also nicely balanced, which gives a decent heft to the soundfield. Dialogue is pretty crisp and intelligible, with only some of the hushed tones and British accents a bit muffled. Low bass isn't particularly impactful (the mix sounds a bit brittle, particularly high-end) but it's strong enough to give some kick to the wolf attack scenes. Again, considering the age of the material, I was happy with this mix.

Extras
This is where the film marks high for me. Paul Davis's "Beware The Moon" is a fanboy geekgasm of a documentary, and a feature length one at that. He gathers the thoughts of everyone worth hearing from involved with the film and visits the locations. I didnt want this to end. The rest of the special features bassically mirror the 2001 DVD (Outtakes without sound, casting the hand etc) but "Beware The Moon" makes this Blu Ray worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD release of a great film, 10 Oct. 2003
This film is one of those that everybody likes. It's funny, it's scary, it's got special effects that were way ahead of its time, and it's British. The two stars may be American, but everybody else in the film is English, it is all filmed in England, and it feels English. John Landis included some very un-American ploys in the making of this movie - for instance, the music includes three different versions of Blue Moon, plus Bad Moon Rising and Moondance. It's all set in current time (well, 1980), unlike the Hammer Horror and Lon Chaney werewolf films that people were used to. The hero ends up running around London zoo, naked, after waking up in the wolf's cage the morning after a night of rampage and violence. And that's another point - the hero is the bad guy. He's the werewolf in the story, but you're on his side. Nobody is on Freddy Krueger's side, or Michael Myer's side, in the American horror films that have been released over the last 20 years.
This is one of those films where you notice something different each time you watch. Be it Rik Mayall playing chess with Brian Glover in "The Slaughtered Lamb", the further decomposition of Jack each time he comes back to visit David, the inclusion of the Muppet Show in one of David's most horrendous dreams (plus Frank Oz, the voice of Miss Piggy and Fozzy Bear, as the man from the American Embassy), the really bad acting on the porno movie that's playing in Piccadily circus, the fact that Landis plays one of the London crowd who gets run over when the werewolf escapes from the cinema at the end, the offer of congratulations to Charles and Diana on the announcement of their engagement that rolls past as the end credits roll.
This 21st anniversary release contains a second disc showing how the movie was made, how the special effects were created, trailers, and loads more besides. And the commentary by the two lead actors as the movie is playing reveals just how much in awe of Jenny Agutter they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware the moaners, 31 May 2011
By 
Ryan Dunne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ignore, as always, those deluded souls who start to moan on about grain issues - the Blu ray of American Werewolf is crisp and clear, the best the film has ever looked, far better than any video or DVD release. There's more noticeable grain because, quite simply, there's more information on a Blu ray transfer, which retains more precisely the original negative image. Better picture, better sound - better buy it, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "THAT'S ENOUGH, THAT'S ENOUGH"!!!!!!!!!!!, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michael Jackson's Thriller short film is the best music video ever made but it would not have been what it was had it not been for the superb An American Werewolf In London. This film is the best horror film ever and one of my all time favourite movies. I simply can't fault this film in anyway shape or form and I challenge anyone who does. I have been watching it since my uncle made me watch it on Betamax in the mid 80's and I have been hooked ever since. If I had kids I would make them watch it over and over no matter how much is scared them. And it should scared people because if it did not then what's the point of a graphic horror film like this. But I don't have kids and never will because I can't stand them and I want to enjoy my expensive holidays and not have to spend my time with drained parents who have nothing interesting to talk about. If you want to book your holidays at a hotel with a kids club and family friendly dining then go ahead because I will be many miles away in my 5 star resort watching Werewolf on my in room DVD player after a few single malt's.

The story of An American Werewolf will be known well by most people but if you are unfortunate enough not to have seen it yet, then please read on. Two Yanks take a walking holiday in the UK and find themselves on the Yorkshire Moores when they take refuge in The Slaughtered Lamb pub ( I wonder if they visited Whitby because its a loverly place). There they are warned by the locals to "Stick to the roads, stay clear the moore". The lads walk on but end up off "t" road and attacked by the beast. One survived and one in limbo, ripped to shreads and revisiting his mate in a state of rot and decay throughout the film until the curse is lifted. The survivor, David Kessler wakes up in hospital being taken cars of by a bang tidy nurse, Jenny Agutter. The corpse that is Jack turns up looking very I'll and warning David that he will change with the full moon. Oh, and look out for RIk Mayall in the pub scene (RIP).

After a series of horrific dreams involving Nazi zombies and a real s**t ya pants moment with David waking up on a hospital bed in the woods, the full moon eventually arrives. The change from man to beast is amazing and it still not to be beaten to this day. It's creepy as hell and will leave you thinking about forever afterwards. No dodgy CGI in this, just practical special effects by the master Rick Baker who also worked on MJ's Thriller.

Another scene which always makes me reach for the tissues and hand cream is the love scene with Jenny Agutter. I have w***ers whiplash from all the times I have watched that! The porn theatre scene is hilarious and the caotic Picadilly Circus attack is utter madness when the beast goes biserk. There are so many quotable lines in this film that even 30 odd years on I still use them at any opportunity with a very good mate of mine (SB). Yes I know I'm sad but at least I don't watch crap films like Transformers or Fast And Furious. Give me Jenny Agutter in the shower any day of the week. Ill have a good hard think about that again later, when I am alone of course!

Get a copy of Werewolf if you don't own it already and sit your kids down no matter what age and get them into something classic. They will appreciate it when they are older and won't have to be warped by mindless rubbish like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turds! I have the 21st anniversary edition DVD and ltd edition steel book Bluray of Werewolf, both of which have fantastic special feature doc's. So get snug on the sofa with a "small Guiness" and enjoy this brilliant horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'BEWARE THE 'MOON', 2 Nov. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
American hitchiker's/tourists 'David' (David Naughton) and 'Jack' (Griffin Dunne) are currently touring
Northern England thy are dropped off by a Sheep-Farmer on the Moors and directed toward a small
Moors Village.
The two are in need of food and rest they find a public house called 'The Slaughtered Lamb' the locals
are far from welcoming, so much so they decide to leave, they are warned to stick to the road and keep
off of the Moor, and told 'Beware The Moon'
They stray against advice, they hear a howling, and are then attacked by a wolf-like creature, 'David' is
saved by the villagers who had second thoughts about sending the lads away, 'Jack' however had been
killed by the beast.
Two weeks pass 'David' regains consciousness in a London Hospital far away from the Moors where he
is attended by 'Dr J.S.Hirsch' (John Woodvine) and Nurse 'Alex Price' (Jenny Agutter) (Railway Children)
The Police had been told by the villagers of the Moors Village that 'Jack' had been attacked by a madman,
nobody will listen to 'David's' version of events.
He begins to have regular and vivid nightmares, and doesn't want to be alone. Nurse Alex is volunteered
to do so.
'David' is visited in his Hospital room by 'Jack' who says he cannot rest until the bloodline of that which
had attacked him is dead, meaning 'David' - 'Jack' says he should take his own life and warns his friend
that in two nights time there will be a full moon, and that he will become a Werewolf and kill, 'David' of
course is less than convinced.
Upon leaving Hospital having nowhere to go 'Alex' offers him shelter, romance must be in the air ? at
the flat he receives a further visit from the 'Walking-Dead' - 'Jack' again he tells 'David' to kill himself, he
still doesn't believe.
The night of the Full Moon has arrived..........let the killing begin............there is a Monster on the loose..
.....Blood Will Flow.
With a few appropriate songs along the way and a hint of comic-horror, the very visual and graphic
sequences that see 'David' transform into a Werewolf a little less than comic (the filming of this was long
and painstaking in truth, clever nevertheless)
Can 'David' be saved from the nightmare by death ?
Well worth a re-visit or indeed a first.
Picture Quality is certainly better than it's DVD release in quality, the sound is good.
Songs -
'Blue Moon' - 'Bobby Vinton'
'Moondance' - 'Van Morrison'
'Bad Moon Rising' - 'Creedence Clearwater Revival'
'Blue Moon' (Closing) - 'The Marcels'
Features -
* I walked with Werewolf (Hi-Def) Featurette
* Beware the Moon feature-length documentary
* Making- An American Werewolf In London - an original featurette.
* Interview with 'John Landis'
* Make-up Artist 'Rick Baker' on An American Werewolf in London
* Casting of the Hand
* Out-takes
* Storyboards
* Photograph Montage
* Feature Commentary with cast members 'David Naughton' and 'Griffin Dunne'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ......" have you tried talking to a corpse? it's boring "......, 3 Jan. 2010
An American Werewolf in London is about two traveling Americans who encounter an episode with a werewolf. One dies and the other is left injured. He is constantly visited by his dead friend who advises him to kill himself before he turns into one himself.

The opening scene takes place in the Moors, where we witness the two protagonists coming out from the back of a lorry full of sheep. Instantly, we begin to sense this film being a comical Great British romp. Indeed this is exactly what it is; Landis wastes no time in introducing the theme of the film. Furthermore when the protagonists visit the local pub a distinct sense of oddness is portrayed. The inhospitality of the villagers immediately brings suspense into the film in a very similar way to the wicker man, also a British horror film.

The film steps up a notch when we see David Naughton changing into the legendary beast for the first time. This is definitely an upgrade from all them early hammer horror films, as here the effects look real. Another thing that enhances the film is the retro / vintage feel to it which works well with the suspense and humor. Look out for the attack on a bystander in a London Underground station where clever use of camera follows the victim up the elevators until he meets his doom. Also look out for a young Rick Mayall who has a less than two minute part as a socially redundant villager with one line to his name. The film is definitely better than An American Werewolf in Paris in all ways; the acting is stronger, better narrative and better script.

In one of the documentaries Landis mentions that the film was meant to be more of a horror film as opposed to a comedy, but it's difficult to agree with him. Humor is an inseparable part of his work and shows best in the mismatched police officers and in the porn theater where Naughton is calmly advised by a bunch of corpses to kill himself. On the surface, being visited by corpses would be horrifying but not if they are as amusing as this. This reminds me of a film called Brain-dead made by a certain peter Jackson, which was far more gruesome but managed to beat the censors as it was also very funny.

The DVD transfer is gloriously re-mastered and has interesting extras, not surprising since Universal studios are experts in the field bringing us re-mastered versions of Vertigo, Back to the Future etc.

This is a well constructed horror / thriller but it is also a slow burner, which is surprising considering the running time of only ninety minutes. There's more suspense than actual thrills and when the werewolf is in its full glory, Landis chooses to take the camera away from him in scenes of torture and rampant barbarianism. If you expect extreme viewing, then you will be disappointed as this falls in the category of 80's cheese!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A killer movie, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
David Kessler and his best friend Jack Goodman are on summer vacation from college and decide to backpack in Europe, making a start in the cold and damp moors of Northern England; in the middle of what seems like nowhere they stumble upon a tiny village and a pub known as The Slaughtered Lamb where some very peculiar and somewhat aggitated locals are less than enthusiastic about their company. Before they leave, they're warned to "beware the moon" and "keep to the road", both notes of advice they unfortunately ignore.

Soon, a fierce howling begins to pitch the night, and David and his friend Jack are attacked savagely by some kind of wild beast roaming the moors; David awakens in a hospital in London to discover his friend has died from the attack, and he has been there some time. David is suddenly plagued with frightning and vivid dreams; his friend Jack visits him in a decomposing and bloody state telling him that they were attacked by a werewolf, and that David must "break the curse" he was infected with by the attack.

At first, he dismisses this as hallucations, even when his dreams are becoming even more violent as some carnal entity inside struggles to make itself known.

The film itself is considered today to be THE epitome of the werewolf movie genre. An American Werewolf in London paved the way for makeup and special effects in modern horror as we know it; John Landis' gutsy use of bright lighting and lack of cutaway combined with Rick Baker's real-time physical effects and state-of-the-art prosthetic makeup made this film revolutionary for the horror genre so much that the Academy Awards began to celebrate special effects and makeup. Even seeing the magic of digital effects and special effects in modern movies, I still can't help but be impressed when watching the full transformation scene.

While the film is gory and somewhat frightening (although somewhat tame by today's standards), Landis used a somewhat "Hitchcockian" approach to direction of the movie, giving it some "laugh out loud" moments in black comedic style to ease the audience in before the real suspense or terror is due to come along - tactics that are still widely used today by horror directors (Sam Raimi being a good example). While not strictly a comedy in a sense, the movie has a good entertainment value. A MUST for all werewolf fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant!!, 10 Aug. 2009
I recieved this DVD last weekend and watched it right away. I have not seen this film for years and had forgotten how good it is. I love the englishness of it, David is brilliant and funny and sad as he tries to understand what is happening to him. The music is great and the transformation from man to wolf still looks good. The picture was a little grainy but I did not mind this. It added to the sense of nostalgia! John Landis is a genius!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An American Werewolf in London [HD DVD] [1981] [US Import]
£14.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews