Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for all the family
I watched Over the Hedge with my almost-40-yr-old husband and I spent the movie doing what I usually end up doing while watching funny films.....rewinding it to hear what I'd missed while my husband was roaring laughing! And yes....it is that funny.

The movie starts with a greedy raccoon (RJ) getting caught stealing a bears stash of food. The bear gives RJ...
Published on 17 Oct 2006 by O. Doyle

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, but it's no Shrek
Obviously this isn't aimed primarily at the adult audience, but it is by the people who made Shrek (and advertised this way), so there's a hope that the story is multifaceted and would, like Shrek, appeal to both adults and children alike. Unfortunately this just isn't the case.

The animation is superb, something we've come to expect in todays computer animated...
Published on 10 Dec 2006 by purpleblob


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for all the family, 17 Oct 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched Over the Hedge with my almost-40-yr-old husband and I spent the movie doing what I usually end up doing while watching funny films.....rewinding it to hear what I'd missed while my husband was roaring laughing! And yes....it is that funny.

The movie starts with a greedy raccoon (RJ) getting caught stealing a bears stash of food. The bear gives RJ just one week to replace everything he's taken....or else. RJ stumbles upon a group of simple forest critters who he entices into a plan to go `over the hedge' into the new housing development and feast upon some of the best food they've ever tasted. What follows is a laugh a minute. It's a movie that the kids will watch over and over and not one which will have the parents going `oh no, not again' as you could watch it over and over and still find it as funny as the first time you saw it! If you enjoyed the likes of Shrek, Monsters Inc and Cars then you'll love Over the Hedge. If you didn't enjoy any of them......what's wrong with you!?!?!?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On The Hedge Of Fantastic, 7 July 2006
With stars like Bruce Willis, William Shatner and Nick Nolte you get the idea that this movie is not going to leave you disapointed...and if you thought this you would be correct.

A very enjoyable movie even though i'm not a kid. It may not have terribly much slapstick as you may look forward to and the movie can begin to slow down in parts, however it is quickly picked up again with quick, and exciting scenes.

The story line is simple and sweet, RJ a hungry Racoon steals food off a bear named Vincent, so RJ must get the food for Vincent before Full moon or Vincent will hunt him down.

An easy moral of deceit and lack of trust which is good for anyone watching it and a favourite character soon becomes one of the worst.

Make your decision, see the story, enjoy the movie and most of all...have a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars? no, wait, let me explain..., 15 April 2009
By 
C. MILLIGAN "Zaarin2006" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over The Hedge [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, I love films, I love cinema, I love a gripping story and I love a good plot. I love new innovations, and I love directors to surprise when I go to see a film with preconceptions. I am also a computer animator. Now forget that last sentence, and bear in mind everything I said before it...

SKG and Dreamworks have produced some truly dreadful CG animations. 'Happy Feet' and 'Flushed Away' pandered solely to the child-begging-parent commercial market; you know the same one that brought us the Happy Meal and their associated plastic kitsch (incidentally much of which has been focused on characters from SKG animations), and 'Madagascar' - my personal nemesis, released far too soon under a thin veil of shoddy design, a suspiciously familiar script (did you see Disney's much better 'The Wild' - tragically designed before but released after Madagascar?) and surprisingly questionable animation for a big-screen release. All of these have felt like computer games ported to movies.

Where did the talent go that brought us 'Shrek'? Well, I suspect some of it lingered in the making of 'Over the Hedge'. The film has an appealing set of characters, likable from the child's perspective. Loosely based on the comic strip of the same name, OTH goes further than the slice-of-life observations of invading suburbia by the local woodland critters. The humour is advanced - much more remeniscent of the Shrek era, and the plot is enough to keep you amused an entertained throughout.

The film stands out for its innovation - some of the technical set pieces in this film are truly impressive; but is that really important to the average cinema goer? Well, yes I believe it is, though maybe for different reasons to the discerning animation critic. They're impressive because they're memorable, and that's what much of this film is, quite simply. Surely that is the mark of a good film. I love this particular film because it represents a return for SKG onto the right track, and having just come out of the cinema having seen 'Monsters versus Aliens' I can thoroughly assure you they have not strayed from that track so far since OTH.

If I do have issue with this film it's this; it's too short. Come on guys, let's make an animated epic. I know their designed for today's tartrazine-fueled toddlers, but seriously adults can enjoy them too. That's what 'Toy Story 2' proved. Finally, to say if you do have children you are probably going to end up loathing this film; the Jurassic Park effect of having seen it far too many times to give a care for it. Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Disc Version Stick to One Disc, 4 Dec 2006
By 
The film is excellent 10 out of 10, however the second disc in my opinion is poor for a DVD of this quality from Dreamworks. When i checked the file size when i was installing the PC hammy desktop i was shocked !! to see how little was actually on the second disk.

1. DVD Video Part it mostly Seasonal with Hammy dancing and thats about it. Hammy busting out his best moves (Dancing Hammy )

2. The second part is computer based Give hammy a home on your desktop and printable seasonal goodies. when i put it in the drive to see the computer goodies

Including pt1 and 2 there is very little on the second disc if you are only getting Over the Hedge.

In my personal opinion if you only want the DVD Film and the better extras ie the Hammys Bomerang Adventure etc then go for the One Disc version, and save the difference in money to put towards another Title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cut above, 16 Sep 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A scheming squirrel gets caught trying to pinch a psycho bears stash of grub, gets one week to replace every last crisp packet or its death by bear claw. He runs in to a band of simple wood dwellers who fall for his food gathering con trick.

The story is tiny and as usual full of aww schucks moralizing as per usual but who cares when the films is this funny? The voice overs are all very good and any cartoon worth its salt will have every last hair rippling with realism and thats all very nice but far too often these sort of kiddie flicks blast out of the blocks and then fizzle out with a wimper but not this one it starts off funny and keeps it up right to the end. Whats more some of the scenes are truly inspired in paticular one, where the potty squirrel who runs away with the whole film, gets so stoked up on fizzy drink that the whole world appears to be moving in slow motion to him.

This is a nice change from the usual and stands up to repeated viewing.

You'll enjoy this and so will the nippers it's well worth getting, go on, splash some conkers on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the Cookie-Obsessed Squirrel Please!, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Over The Hedge [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
When RJ the Raccoon (Bruce Willis) gets Vincent the bears food smashed up on the highway, he only has a week to get it all back. RJ comes across an family of foraging woodland creatures and cons them into stealing food from the encroaching suburbia.

The film is based on the hilarious comic strip by Michael Fry and T. Lewis, Over the Hedge is a brilliant film for all the family. The voice cast for the film include Bruce Willis, Steve Carrell and the hilarious over-actor, William Shatner.

Hammy (Steve Carrell) the cookie obsessed squirrel is the funniest of all the characters. Verne (Gary Shandling) is the constantly panicked reptile, who doesn't want RJ around and doesn't want to have anything to do with the humans.

Overall the movie is a funny one, but they could have pushed it and made it hilarious. It's a film for all ages, but the younger children will definitely enjoy it the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the finest animation comedy i have seen in years., 31 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over The Hedge [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
For entertainment value "Over the Hedge" is without doubt one of the funniest and likeable animation comedies i think ive seen.

The two chracters i particularly loved were Racoon and Ground Squirrel whose dialogue was superb.

Trying to keep Squirrel from drinking the caffine sports drinks because of his hyperactive behavior was the highlite for me.

The dozens of reviews written about this scream of a comedy must speak volumes of its popularity.

There was not a single dull moment from begining to end.

The animation and expressions on all the characters faces were magic.

Only a short film but for likeability and enjoyment factor i think this enchanting comedy beats the like of Shrek and others hands down.

Its the kind of film you would never tire watching again and again.

Pure Magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... The light and the space, 4 Feb 2007
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Over The Hedge [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
1: The story and writing is... good. Not awesome, but entertaining and often very funny.

2: The voice acting is fantastic.

3: The action sequences are awesome and funny.

4: The visuals... are out of this world. Or maybe that should be "into this world", for the amazing thing, apart from the sheer amount of detail, is how photographic they are. You might not notice because the story is engrossing, but if you watch it a second time (the commentary track is good), take note of the light. They have very deliberately made the light look like the real world, including making sun-drenched details in the background be almost washed out (as in the picture above), and big blocks of things in the shade, etc. The light coming through semi-translucent objects like the turtle's shell is gorgeous.

The way they use "tele lenses" and "wide angle lenses" (of course it is all data in a computer, but they can program everything to simulate the real world, including camera positions and what lenses to use...) is amazing. The space is so convincing.

Of course this is a comedy aimed at the family market. (Read: basically for children, but we hope the adults will enjoy it too.) But the amazing progress of talent, skill, and technology displayed here make me very optimistic about future CGI films for adults, like SF and fantasy. It is getting very hard to imagine what can't be done any more, given a good budget. (And the budget necessary shrinks every years as hardware and software progresses.)

Actually I think that the main reason almost all the CGI films so far have been family films is that the big problem is making really convincing humans. The humans are getting very good, but they still look a bit like dolls. Not the best thing for a serious film. But it'll get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice family movie, with some totally irresistible adults oriented gags, 13 Oct 2007
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is one of the best and smartest family movies I saw in those last years - and having a 7y old daughter I saw a lot of them, believe me. This is the story of a raccoon named RJay who succumbed to the temptation and tried to rob a very nasty and very big bear, named Vincent (Nick Nolte gives his voice to the bear - and he sound like a real, real bad guy!). And now he has four days to get all the food he stole (and lost) back, otherwise he is bear snack. Only one solution to do that - get some help and stole all this food from humans. And he gets some help, from a bunch of animals, whose forest was mostly destroyed.

Those animals are:

- Verne, a very conservative turtle ("It is me. Tentative. There are even places in my shell where I have never been yet")
- Hammy, a hyperactive squirrel, a little simple but incredibly cuddly ("Hi, I am Hammy, do you want to see my nuts?").
- Stella, a cynical, tough girl skunk ("I can clear a room. That much I can do")
- Ozzie, a possum, lone parent rising a teen aged daughter, not really very bright or courageous, but a great actor, whose voice is provided by William Shattner ("Playing possum, is what we do. We die. To live")
- Heather, his teen aged rebellious daughter. Somebody had the great idea to hire Avril Lavigne to be her voice - and it really works!
- Lou and Penny, porcupines, a very loving couple rising three kids.

But there is one problem: with all the food being stolen, some humans finally call Dwayne the Verminator (a verminator is like an exterminator, just meaner...) who uses equipment banished by law everywhere except Texas....

"Over the Hedge" is a very, very funny film, with a great number of gags for the kids and some one-liners, that the adults will appreciate more that the children. And then there is one moment which is simply Oscar material - a plastic chirurgical intervention to transform Stella in a gorgeous cat girl who must seduce Tiger, an enormous, nasty, almost genocidal tomcat, who happens to watch the access trap to one of the houses. Those two scenes are possibly the most irresistible moments in family movies since Shrek's courtship to Fiona!! And I almost died laughing during RJay's presentation about relation of humans and their food - one important detail here: RJay's voice is provided by Bruce Willis and it magnifies the comic effect....

I simply love this movie. And one year ofter watching it my kid is still sleeping with the toy of Stella the Skunk, her favorite character....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for the kids, 4 Feb 2008
This review is from: Over The Hedge [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably one of the funniest, ones i have seen although that you might not be able to use the second disk on your computer (Windows vista) It is still the best film over the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over The Hedge [2006] [DVD]
Over The Hedge [2006] [DVD] by Karey Kirkpatrick (DVD - 2006)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews