Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2008
This is a very good compilation. For those who do not know the work of Bix this is a very nice introduction. The liner notes give a brief history of the man and tell enough to generate an interest. The CDs are nicely presented in a double box and inserted into an outer sleeve. The music it's self is guaranteed to set your toes tapping. There is a good representation of Bix's style and shows his work from small group to orchestra. Well worth the cash layout this makes an excellant addition to any collection. I hope to see more from the label, Primo.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
For someone discovering Bix this was the perfect album. Lots of Gems and will stand a lot of playing without getting monotonous. .
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
I heard a Bix Beiderbecke CD playing in the background at a fashion/craft shop I was visiting with my wife and the atmosphere it created was perfect. On investigating further I realised I needed to get some of his excellent music. This album seemed an excellent 'starter/sampler' pack to showcase his talent, and doesn't disappoint. The 40 tracks here cover his life and career(he died at 28)very well and his distinctive sound comes across loud and clear.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
We're all sort of aware of this music from countless film and TV soundtracks so it's easy to take it for granted. This CD is one everybody should have in their collection. Just great feelgood music. Beautifully played cornet from BB.
This is an ideal introductory set with plenty of stuff to show off the talent on offer. Some of the vocals are very dated but the rest is still magic, timeless pleasure.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Clear as a bell is how Bix sounds on this double CD. It includes all the classics that he played even an early vocal by The Rhythm Boys with the dulcet tons of Bing Crosby on "Mississippi Mud". The recordings cover the period from 1924 to 1930. He passed away the following year. If you like Bix then you will love this. The remastering is excellent. It doesn't however give the personnel, which can be found of course on the internet. Does this matter? Only if you think it does.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
an excellent CD. if you like the foot tapping rythmic jazz that you don't always hear now-a-days. His individual style comes over loud and clear. this CD is a must for any Jazz lovers colection, and what a bargain, two discs 20 tracks in all, and all excellent tracks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Been after this album ever since the TV series 'The Beiderbecke Affair' was on, and that's going back a bit! Very pleased with my purchace, great music to drive to. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
A genius- fantastic album
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
classic, brilliant
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
This was a present, so in a sense it's not for me to rate it, but the recipient seemed chuffed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.