Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% fantastic show!HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
"Supernatural" is just outstanding!A mixture of comedic moments along with darker and more emotional subject matters-the show goes from strength to strength!Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki's relationship as brothers is undeniably realistic, a credit to their acting abilities! I love the change in character of both brothers and the ongoing plot in both seasons is kept up...
Published on 11 Aug. 2007 by Millie

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This series gets better and better
This show has a lot of flaws, but it has some really good qualities as well, and it's so worth getting through this first season because the rest are awesome.

When it first came out I tried to like it but after 4-5 episodes gave up. Now, years later, I can't stop watching it and am currently working my way through season three.

This first season...
Published on 3 Jan. 2011 by Amy Connolly


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This series gets better and better, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Amy Connolly "book addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This show has a lot of flaws, but it has some really good qualities as well, and it's so worth getting through this first season because the rest are awesome.

When it first came out I tried to like it but after 4-5 episodes gave up. Now, years later, I can't stop watching it and am currently working my way through season three.

This first season isn't the best. It was their first one and they weren't comfortable yet, but once they get into the swing of things the show really picks up.

What's amazed me as i've been racing through the seasons is the underlying plot. At first I thought it was just each episode as a stand alone as they encounter different supernatural/mythical creatures of lore and nightmares, but as it progresses we find out more and more and the plot thickens. It is so intricate now I literally can not stop watching them. I'm hooked.

I'm also a bit embarrassed to admit it's a scary show. Not many shows/films make me hide behind the couch, but this is one of them. At the same time, it is one of the funniest shows i've seen in a long time.

So if you enjoy paranormal shows with a kick (Ghost Whisperer, Medium, Buffy, Angel, Charmed, etc)then you should enjoy this series. And like I said, the first season isn't the best, but it is so worth getting through because it just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% fantastic show!HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!, 11 Aug. 2007
By 
Millie (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
"Supernatural" is just outstanding!A mixture of comedic moments along with darker and more emotional subject matters-the show goes from strength to strength!Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki's relationship as brothers is undeniably realistic, a credit to their acting abilities! I love the change in character of both brothers and the ongoing plot in both seasons is kept up with surprising power! Shocks, horror and disaster combined with twists and jokes makes this a must see show!If you loved Angel or Buffy then this is a definite....1000x better, faster, intense and full-proof storyline! Absolutely ace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Supernatural TV Show Ever., 15 Dec. 2007
By 
Ms. S. E. Lay "The Raven Queen" (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
For me, this has to be one of the best things to ever emerge from the US. The acting, writing, directing, effects and sheer scale of this show is overwhelming. The main characters are superior to any others I have watched so far, which is helped enormously by the acting talents of Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles who, aside from being incredibly easy on the eyes, really make the Winchesters 'real.'
Some people have been complaining about the shoddy effects of the show but, to be honest, the monsters always have, and always will, be a backdrop to the fact that this show is all about the Winchester brothers.
All the episodes in Season 1 are fab - the weakest episodes being Route 666 or Bugs - and really help develop the characters.
I really cannot praise this show enough, Eric Kripke did a brilliant thing when he created it. Be warned though, the series finale is horrific and will leave you craving more.
Season 2 is even better, I just can't wait for the Season 3 DVDs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and fun but no extras, 4 Jan. 2008
By 
C. Crawford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
At its heart, Supernatural is about two brothers having adventures. That the brothers have a messed up family history that has turned them into skilled hunters of the supernatural (and that the two brothers make some of the nicest eye candy to ever sweeten a tv screen...) makes those adventures all the more entertaining. There's enough suspense and grisly goings on to satisfy most viewers of tv horror and the parade of urban legends that make up a large number of the episodes will be welcomed by those who loved the early years of X Files. While the series itself is nearer a five than a four star, this particular set only gets four stars because it doesn't have the extras available on the NTSC version of the boxset. However, if you simply want to sit back and be entertained and don't care about gag reels and behind the scenes tidbits, this boxset should satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Show of This Kind Since X-Files!, 24 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
As you've probably figured out, I was a huge fan of the X-Files. That show had everything a person like me could ever as for, and I was a little sad when the show finally ended all those years ago. Then Supernatural comes along. A totally different show, yet not. I won't go through the story, as you most likely already know it. Season one is a good start for the show, and it proved immensely successful the world over, thanks for its continuous innovative episodes, and the chemistry between Jensen Ackles (Dean) and Jared Padalecki (Sam). Their relationship never comes off fake or dishonest, and they are extremely convincing as the Wincester brothers. Bottomline; if you like show like the X-Files, Supernatural is right up your alley. So, sit back and take with the Wincesters on a journey to kill as many "evil sons-of-bitches" as possible.

Favorite episodes: "Scarecrow", "Benders", "Home", "Phantom Traveler", "Hell House" and the season finale: "Salvation" and "Devil's Trap".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 23 Sept. 2007
By 
L. Thomas "pseudo__nymph" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I don't really watch a lot of TV, but when I cam across this show I found it absolutely unmissable. The characters are well developed and interesting, there are comedic and absolutely terrifying moments, and there is a great classic rock soundtrack to each episode. As other reviewers mentioned, the DVD lacks special features, which is annoying - especially as they were included on the American version, but all in all, one of the best shows I have ever seen and definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredible show..., 6 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
but it's let down by the lack of special features. Again and again this happens: we get the show without the features that the US fans get. It's a small complaint, maybe, but it does detract from the boxset. It leaves a bitter taste in the mouth and it's hard to ignore, hence the four stars, rather than the five it deserves.

Overall though, this show is, as I have stated in the title, incredible. Brilliant acting, dramatic storylines and genuinely frightning monsters combine to make it one of the most involving shows in the past few years. The episode 'Bloody Mary' frightened me so much I couldn't sleep that night. Or it could have been down to the exam I had the next day.

Either way, though, this show is not to be missed. It might not shock the hard-core horror fans, but the talented Padalecki and Ackles make it much more than just a worthwhile investment. If only it wasn't so underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very convincing about demons roaming around us, 20 Nov. 2011
By 
A new series is always something delicate because we must forget about all other series and try to get into the new one without any preconceived ideas. And that is difficult.

I am going to deal with ideas that will be true for the next seasons first. The main idea, the center of the series itself is a triad of three things: the car, the family and the demon. Note what's more that from the very start the family is reduced to three men, the father John and his two sons Dean and Sam Winchester.

This triad of father-elder-son-younger-son is kind of constituted from the very start of the first episode. The elder son comes up one day and literally seizes his younger brother from college to go get their father who has been absent for something like a week. Then this triad is only two looking for the third one. In this season the father will appear as a glimpse in the ninth episode when the two sons come "home" to clean up the house where their mother was killed. Then he will materialize for good in episode 16, then he disappears again and finally turns back up in the last three episodes of the season in which he is at least at the end possessed by THE demon the sons and father have been hunting down. Dean realizes at the end the father is not normal but cannot shoot him and then Sam will have the opportunity to do it but he will wound the father and let the demon go away. So much for the family.

There are many demons, some being more powerful than others. The "yellow-eyed" one that the two brother and the father are after is a really powerful one, and can command lower ranks demons (that are recognizable by their black eyes). So the father and sons have been chasing the various supernatural phenomena, because it is what they know how to deal with and what they consider to be their job. Yet they are often no links with the demons (yet the more the series go on, the more they are caught in a large web drawn by higher forces from Hell and Heaven). The demons are an extraordinary and rare supernatural opponent that the brothers are not skilled enough to fight properly (yet). Their path is drawn by the supernatural events that are coming onto their way and that they must take care of, learning as they do, to be brothers again. This is then a long picaresque voyage across America but entirely dressed in supernatural and partly horror garb.

The third element is the car, a black Chevrolet Impala 1967, Dean's car actually that becomes the car of the hunt. The car is the only means of transportation or nearly. Only one episode involved planes and a plane flight (And Dean is actually scared to get in it, which defines, in a way, a circle that cannot be left, drawn around the car). The car takes the brothers from one place to the next and the road is their world. Along with this road we go from one motel to the next and from one diner to the next, not to speak of gas stations, not too many, true, and other road "furniture and contraption" without which there would be no travelling. Actually the series does not insist on that too much and along with this horse powered picaresque search we are constantly entertained by music, mostly rock music (which is strange since radio stations are always local and thus can vary a lot from one place to the next, and we do not get any country music nor gospel and other Christian music, nor, and that is absolutely amazing, black music, I mean negro spirituals, jazz, black rock and roll, rap and other forms of that ethnic musical world) (In some episodes we can see that they actually use tapes, and besides, they are able to switch the channel).

We should wonder about the geography of the journey: it goes from California to New York and covers practically all the regions except the South. Actually that exclusion, so far, of the south enables the authors and producers to avoid Voodoo (or Vodun) magic and witchcraft. This means the demon they are looking for is a white demon, a demon from the white tradition. Malefic of course, diabolical of course and deeply antichristian: it is thus sensitive to holy water, salt and other standard protections, not to speak of the possibility to exorcize it out of the possessed people. We will note it is visually identified as some kind of dark smoke coming out of the possessed person through the mouth and the master demon is absorbing the soul of a sleeping child through his mouth and out of the child's mouth in a form of a luminous vapor. We remain in the medieval tradition as for that, including the devil's trap in episode 22, fundamentally a pentacle or pentagram in a circle in a triangle representing the devil contained in the circle of God's creation contained in God's trinity.

Note, the Yellow-eyed demon does not feed on the babies, but actually feed them (selected babies that are supposed to possess some special abilities - Sam being one of them) with demon blood to make them stronger.

Many other subjects should be examined but I would like to say a few words on the father and his sons. There is a strong tradition of authority and respect of authority in this family, and it is common for a son to say "yessir" to his father. Sam actually represents a certain amount of rebellion against that authority and this rebellious spirit should be scrutinize, though it is an essential dramatic element because it is always at a crucial moment this element occurs. It dictates some very deeply dramatic and potentially tragic emotions in the spectators when that rebellion comes just when the worst catastrophe is going to happen, and when the stake is to kill the father because he is possessed. What son will ever be able to do that?

The two brothers on the other side are deeply attached to each other. Their love is absolute and it means death if it is necessary to save the other and it means complete and permanent cooperation. It also has some moments of doubt and rebellion but these deepen the relation instead of breaking it. They live in absolute spatial promiscuity but the film is very careful not to show it, and when it does it does so with great modesty. In fact this physical promiscuity is constantly present in the series because the two brothers are always looking into each other's eyes. It is ocular promiscuity to a degree that justifies the joke in episode 8 about their gender or sexual orientation. It is true Dean is quite often looking at girls and both of them have an episode from time to time, but in fact less than we should expect from two healthy young men slightly over twenty.

But the next season is prepared with the escape of the master demon and the salvation of ,the father. Let's wait for the next episode.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU (with some help of Ivan EVE)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Progression, 1 Oct. 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
While quietly leafing through a magazine, unaware that my mind had wandered from the articles to the very urgent and 21st Century problem of: 'What was I going to watch now?', a review of a TV show that I had heard of, but only in truncated whispers, caught my eye. It was the review of Supernatural Season 5.2. And it was glowing. I mean REALLY glowing. The kind of glowing that Battlestar Galactica used to get. But what interested me most was not that the reviewer seemed to like (REALLY like) the last half of Season 5, but that he also REALLY liked the first half too. And the whole of Season 4. And also went on to sagaciously instruct his readers who had not seen either season to go back to the beginning and watch the whole darn lot. Almost as if I'd been hypnotised, I agreed then and there to do the reviewer's bidding and eagerly sidled to the nearest computer to order away. I had finally (hopefully) found a replacement to the aforementioned BSG and (wholly, come-downesquely disappointing) Lost. And I also found that Supernatural had been around for a while, not in real terms (I was aware it had already run for a number of seasons) but in the back of my mind. Every few months while flicking through a magazine or skipping TV channels it would be there, being lauded. It was the obvious choice. And (note to Amazon) the overwhelmingly agreeable price for a new copy of a 22 episode series kind of sealed the deal.

But would it be any good?

The answer is a resounding: 'I can't believe you asked that!' It is very, very good. It is no BSG and definitely no Lost (thank crikey) but that's a great thing. I didn't know it but I had just about had my fill of dark, gritty, real, character-driven Peasbody Award winners. BSG, The Wire et al are all great but they can be slightly dry sometimes. The best thing about Supernatural is that it is FUN. It's like The X-Files getting it on with Buffy and then being sat on by Quantum Leap. Or something.

Premise is: 2 brothers, a hard Han Solo type (Dean) and a younger, more thoughtful Luke Skywalker type (Sam) go around America killing anything Supernatural: ghosts, demons, vampires, poltergeists and lots of others they made up with funny names that either come from urban legends or ancient folklore. They're on their own due to the fact that their father has gone 'missing' during a 'hunt'. He was the boys' sole authority figure and mentor in all things supernatural from a very early age due to the fact that when the boys were tiny a demon killed their mother. After that incident he swore to find the thing that did it and killing every other beastie that got in his/their way. Yep, that sounds ridiculous. But onscreen it just kind of makes sense. The reason is that it is simple, scary, funny and doesn't take itself too seriously. The best episodes of the X-Files were the tongue in cheek stand alone monster of the week ones and Supernatural is like that ALL the time. The other thing that keeps it watchable is the relationship between the 2 brothers. At times it is down-right hilarious, so much so that there should be T-Shirts on sale immortalising the brothers' quippy one-liners, especially Deans'. Oh and the car is awesome.

To the actual episodes. The pilot is a great introduction to the mythology, with the death of the brothers' mother and the re-emergence of the demon to do away with Sam's then girlfriend. And it also has the most beautiful-looking ghost I've ever seen. 'Wendigo' is one of my favourites - it's meat and potatoes monster of the week stuff with a great, scary monster. 'Dead in the Water' is a good one for a bit more depth of characterisation of Dean and the boy in the water at the end is sufficiently chilling, but it's a very by-the-numbers melodrama. 'Phantom Traveller' is back on form with a very silly but cracking episode of a haunted aeroplane. Stand outs through the rest of the season are: 'Bloody Mary' and pretty much everything from 'Home' onwards. I could gush about a lot of them but I've written too much already.

The mythology and story arc doesn't come in until the second half of the run which leaves the boys to have a lot of fun just killin' stuff. But when she appears, Meg Masters is a welcome change of pace that made me more excited to be watching. And then with the father's return towards the end of the season, together with the 'special' Colt and the demon being found, it all comes together perfectly and very satisfyingly. A definite apetite whetter for the festivities of later seasons.

It is not the best thing on TV, nor ever will it be, but it is one of the most fun Tv shows around. It is well written, has an excellent cast and crew and a soundtrack to die for. A definite cult favourite and one I am seriously looking forward to seeing more of. At last - a new best show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Dad's on a hunting trip... and he hasn't been home in a few days", 14 Mar. 2012
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A long-time fan of Supernatural, I have recently gone back to watch it again from the beginning. Season 1 remains one of the best opening seasons of any I have seen. It starts out from the very beginning in exactly the way it means to go on. Its "different horror movie every week" concept (as described in the documentary that accompanies it) works perfectly, the classic car, classic rock and American road trip elements work perfectly, and at the core of it, it's a series about family - in particular the relationship between the two initially estranged brothers and their missing father. The core elements of an overall story arc are put straight in front of you in the pilot, and small clues and story points are placed sparingly throughout what in this series are mostly stand-alone episodes based around classic horror themes and urban legends. Towards the end of the season, the tension racks up and it leads towards a thoroughly heart-pounding final two episodes, and one of those cliff-hangers that comes at you out of nowhere.

If you've missed out on Supernatural so far, then you should consider buying the box set, but I know many people started buying individual seasons on DVD after it switched TV channel here in Britain, and to those people I would say it's well worth going back and revisiting it from the start as I have, for the stories really do bear up well to repeat viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006]
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews