Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back, Ready and Rock Steady!
I first discovered All Saints a year or so after their breakup, and purchased their first album at a carboot stall for under a pound. In all honesty, I wasn't too keen on the CD and left it on a dusty shelf where it remained

A while later, I decided to give them a second chance and bought their second album "Saints and Sinners", and boy was I impressed! It...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Joey

versus
6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very poor comeback
with 5 years since their last album this album sounds like it was written in a week and recorded in 3 days.

i found it very boring and non of the songs made sense.
Published on 17 Nov 2006 by M. Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back, Ready and Rock Steady!, 19 Nov 2006
This review is from: Studio 1 (Audio CD)
I first discovered All Saints a year or so after their breakup, and purchased their first album at a carboot stall for under a pound. In all honesty, I wasn't too keen on the CD and left it on a dusty shelf where it remained

A while later, I decided to give them a second chance and bought their second album "Saints and Sinners", and boy was I impressed! It stayed playing on my Stereo for sooo long. I later revisited the first album too, and got more into it.

When I heard they were reforming I couldn't believe it. I loved the Rock Steady song, and knew I had to get this album...the verdict?

I can say with all honesty that this album, despite not having the best sales, is truly 1 you need to go and buy NOW if you havent already. Sure, there are a few fillers which are OK, but nothing here is terrible. Some of the songs such as Flashback, Chick Fit, and my personal favourite Too Nasty will no doubt be playing on "Repeat" for ages, and keep your foot tapping. There's something for everyone here, and you can really hear the many different influences. Whereas Shaznay wrote almost all the songs in older days, now all the girls have tried their hand at songwriting. It's a great effort, and good to see Natalie and Nicole getting more involved in the group as a whole. In Rock Steady, Nicole gets to sing a whole verse, and her voice really shines through.

All Saints have definitely matured in the years since their split, and this album is 1 you definitely dont want to miss out on, I urge you to buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a comeback! WOW!!, 13 Nov 2006
This review is from: Studio 1 (Audio CD)
O.K lets start by saying i bought this album the day of release based on there last album Saints and Sinners which over the years has become one of my favorites album. Plus there new Single 'Rock Steady' has got stuck in my head. and lets just say I am not disappointed its absolutely outstanding its so mature and blends together perfectly, There has been so much bitching in the press from the likes of girls aloud its claiming they have stolen 'there sound' which is totally un-true the only thing i can think of is Girls aloud feel a bit nervous as suddenly a huge band from the 90's has made a huge comeback as girls aloud fans are getting older and are looking for a new mature sound to listen to and I think they will find it in the all saints.

This album is way more daring than anything any girl group would try at the moment its got r and b, ska, pop, chilled tunes its just simply amazing.

Stand out tracks for me already are' on and on' 'chick fit' 'one me and u' and 'headlock'

buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, 15 Nov 2006
By 
M. D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio 1 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Back in the late 'Nineties, when the Spice Girls ruled the airwaves, All Saints were the tougher, cooler, more credible alternative. I was only ever a casual fan, but became more interested when they teamed up with William Orbit (fresh from his sterling work on Madonna's 'Ray Of Light' album) and produced the two terrific singles 'Pure Shores' and 'Black Coffee' (I remember wishing at the time they'd followed Madge's lead and made a whole album with him). However, it was soon after this that the band, who had been dogged by rumours of catfights and grudges within the group since their first album, finally imploded. The individual members went on to have brief (VERY brief in Mel Blatt's case) solo careers but they never matched the success they'd enjoyed together. End of story... or so it seemed.

Six years later and they've suddenly re-emerged with a new album, 'Studio 1'. The intervening years have seen all the girls become mothers, which no doubt helped to mellow them and put things in perspective, and they've overcome their differences and reunited. I really didn't know what to expect, but 'Studio 1' turns out to be an impressive return and perhaps their most consistent work to date.

The single 'Rock Steady', which opens the album, is a fairly good indication of the group's new sound, which has added some reggae influences to their usual blend of pop, soul and r'n'b. It actually sounds not unlike their spiritual successors the Sugababes (which I mean as a compliment), and it's the most obviously chart-friendly track, but after a few listens other quality moments emerge. Despite the overall flavour, there is some surprisingly varied material here. Standouts include the sparky 'Chick Fit', the sweet summer groove of 'In It To Win It', the 'Seventies r'n'b of 'Headlock' which is reminiscent of Sly and the Family Stone, and top funk workout 'Flashback'. Best of all, however, is the haunting, gospel-tinged epic 'Fundamental' which closes the album and definitely deserves to be a future single. Shaznay has once again taken on the main writing duties, but Mel, Nick and Nat all contribute their own tracks. The band seems to be paying tribute to a number of their early influences, which results in a sound that's both retro and bang up to date. There aren't any duds as such, but some of the songs on the first half of the album sound a bit similar and indistinct; the second half is definitely the strongest.

So, a great return. But is it worth getting the limited edition? Well, for the extra few quid you get a DVD which features a twenty-minute interview, the excellent video to 'Rock Steady' and a pretty good bonus audio track, 'Sexy'. If you're a big fan, you'll probably have gone for this version already, but casual listeners probably won't miss the DVD unless they particularly want the 'Rock Steady' video.

I don't know how long the band's current friendly relations will last - they could be scratching each other's eyes out already for all I know - but I hope they can hold off the hostilities for a while because this is a very accomplished and promising return, and I'd love to hear what they do next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still All Saints.., 13 Nov 2006
This review is from: Studio 1 (Audio CD)
They split ..went solo ..did TV ..and came back - and all of that seems largely influential on this album (well ...except for the jungle). This is album I feel falls right in the middle of the Appleton effort 'Everythings Eventual' and Shaznay Lewis' 'Open'. I can even hear hints of 'see me' - One of Mel Blatt's few solo outings in places. This album feels as though it's pretty much picked up where 'Saints and Sinners' left off over 4 years ago. For me - it works. It feels like a clash of William orbit with somethin more to the right mainstream (though not a producer on the album) in places - most mentionably on 'On And On' - quite a sweet piece of music - and My personal favourite on the album 'Fundamental'. There's noteable references to bashy rnb - in 'headlock' (another favourite) 'hell no' ..and 'Flashback' we see bouncy production and feisty lyrics to match. 'Headlock' in particular feels like it could've belonged on Shaznay Lewis' 'Open' - though fits much more appetisingly here. Beyond the afformentioned, Tracks such as 'Not eazy' and 'One me and you' serve almost as 'part 2s' to other tracks on the album ('Not eazy' sounding very much like 'Rock Steady' to begin before moving on ..and 'One me and you' feeling like the link to 'On and on').

All in All - A really impressive comeback ..different enough that it's fresh - but still very much All Saints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Saints, 13 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Studio 1 (Audio CD)
Trust me after 5 years these girls have set a new standard for acts to follow. If you want a fun album then this is it- gets you in a perfect mood. All tracks could be decent singles. Highlights have to be "Not Eazy", "On and On", "Headlock" and "Flashback". This is not just an album for old fans, but for a whole new generation of music lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Continuation Ever!!, 14 Nov 2006
By 
S. L. Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio 1 (Audio CD)
5 years later and the girls prove they have still got what it takes. this album has to be the album of the year by far witha variety of different music styles and tracks like 'chick fit' 'headlock' 'flashback' just to name a few you will be singing along in no time.

what you waiting for go buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome back, 1 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. A. F. Barnett "kiddo" (herts uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio 1 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
welcome back to all saints and lets hope its for good this time

excellent album and good to see they still got it after five years

not to sure why many people have slated this album as i think its perfectly fine and desevered a much higher chart position then it got

easy to listen to and all songs where written by the girls themselves

i was so happy when i heard the band had got back together and could not wait to hear their new sound if this album is anythng to go by cant wait to see what the future sound of the girls will be

ace album and a great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back!, 30 Nov 2006
By 
W. Greenwood "Wendz" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio 1 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
It has been a few years since All Saints broke up, so I was so surprised, and delighted to hear they were reunited! They were definately one of my favourites bands back in the 90's!

Oh my gosh, the new album Studio 1, is brilliant! Even better than there older stuff! Almost every song is good with only 2 songs that seem to be fillers!

Run down of songs.........

Rock Steady - First single released off the album, great choice and great video!

Chick Fit - Hopefully this will be the next single released, great dance song, with lovely fast paced chorus!

On and On - One of my favourite songs on the album, sounds very similar to old All Saints music.

Scar - This song has great lyrics, and cool beat!

Not Eazy - Cool new sound! Turn it up!!

Hell no - In my opinion this is a filler! Got a bit annoying!

One me and u - Lovely Sweet song! Hopefully will put a smile on your face!

Headlock - Strong song with Nic doing some singing!

Too Nasty - Another favourite! A bit dark, with superb lyrics and fantastic singing!

In it to win it - Another filler - no comment

Flashback - Great rock/dance song with Nat singing some verses!

Fundamental - One of the best! Good ending to a 5 star cd!!!!!!

Hope this helps! Its wonderful to have All Saints back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Studio 1, 27 Nov 2006
By 
L. Omelasz "brekkie_tiffs" (Dundee, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio 1 (Audio CD)
Less a 'reunion' album but more a "continuation" (as Melanie Blatt said). If this were simply a one-off reunion, they'd have chucked all the Pure Shores/Black Coffee-esque songs they could muster onto the album. Instead, they've veered off into a more reggae/ska sound. And it works. There's so much to enjoy such as the likes of "Chick Fit", ska-cum-60s pop and "Flashback" which can only be fully appreciated when played in dance halls and the like. Sadly, the album hasn't performed as well as expected in the UK (debuted at #40), which is a damn shame because it's actually rather good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Continuation Ever!!, 14 Nov 2006
By 
S. L. Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio 1 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
5 years later and the girls prove they have still got what it takes. this album has to be the album of the year by far witha variety of different music styles and tracks like 'chick fit' 'headlock' 'flashback' just to name a few you will be singing along in no time.

The DVDs interview last fors approx 25 mins and is bound to make you smile and laugh, with clips from the girls in to studio to unseen photoshoot clips. Also contains the amazing video to 'Rock Steady' and contains an exlcusive catchy track 'sexy' definately worth the money.

what you waiting for go buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Studio 1
Studio 1 by All Saints (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews