Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Reissue
I'm not going to spend a lot of time talking about the music on this album, because I really think those looking at this listing are already Alan Parsons fans - and know what's on this disc. If you like his music, you'll be wanting it!

Which just leaves the question of - is the upgrade with the reissue worth it?

I give a resounding YES to that. The...
Published on 18 Mar 2008 by Vaughan

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven listening
I like Alan Parsons Project - when they sound inspired. This album is however a bit flat with only a couple of good songs. Not bad, but I prefer "Tales of mystery and imagination" and "Turn of a friendly card". That might, of course, be because I generally listen to more progressive rock.
Published on 26 Jan 2008 by Unsmart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Reissue, 18 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyramid (Remastered/Expanded) (Audio CD)
I'm not going to spend a lot of time talking about the music on this album, because I really think those looking at this listing are already Alan Parsons fans - and know what's on this disc. If you like his music, you'll be wanting it!

Which just leaves the question of - is the upgrade with the reissue worth it?

I give a resounding YES to that. The additional clarity is noticeable, and it really lets the music and production shine. Instruments are better separated, vocals can be heard more clearly. All in all, the album proper is simply marvellous now.

The bonus tracks? A mixed bag, but almost all interesting. There is one howler - the Can't Take it With You (Early Version Demo). In this one Parsons plays all the instruments and even sings - and it's awful.

I appreciate the efforts that are going into these reissues, but sometimes you've just got to know when to say "no". This would have been such a case.

Still - that's just a bonus (which I'd have preferred on a second disc). So let's not grumble too much.

The one flaw in this series of reissues is that, for some silly reason, they chose not to include the lyrics. Now, even the cheapo old release of this CD included those, so it's very noticeable here. Pity. The booklet has some good information though.

All in all I'm giving five stars because the album is great, the remastering is superb, and the booklet good. Easy worth the money asked here.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Single Most Underrated Project by Eric Woolfson & Alan Parsons, 7 Sep 2008
By 
Parrish A. Highley "the_projectron" (Somewhere I've Never Travelled) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyramid (Remastered/Expanded) (Audio CD)
While I ROBOT and EYE IN THE SKY generally enjoy their fair share of accolades, PYRAMID has always struggled for the recognition it so richly deserves. Given its cohesion both conceptually and musically, that somewhat low regard seems every bit as mysterious as the theme of the album itself. But, then, if ever there was a complex theme cleverly shrouded in nuance and subtlety, it would be that of PYRAMID!

The opening instrumental staggers the listener with an atmospheric ambience destined for a proper quadraphonic presentation while the following piece "What Goes Up..." asks why, if nothing is lasting, even build a pyramid at all. Colin Blunstone of The Zombies made his first appearance with the project singing "The Eagle Will Rise Again," a stunning ballad where a very young Pharaoh struggles to reconcile the deity he is proclaimed to be with the gnawing insecurities from which every child suffers. (Curiously, this thought-provoking ballad was a favorite of the prodigious Kate Bush who would listen to it repeatedly in the late seventies.) Of "One More River" Alan, himself, has gone on written record saying, "this was better than anything we did on I ROBOT." Wow...that's a tall order for a shuffle to achieve, but "One More River" more than lives up to that assessment with its ambient bridge alone. The radio hit "Can't Take It With You" explains, in stark terms, how all the earthly treasures the Pharoah accumulated throughout his life won't be joining him in the next. "In The Lap Of The Gods" is arguably the finest piece of experimental music that Parsons and Woolfson ever composed, not the least of which is due to some of the best orchestral arrangements Andrew Powell has ever crafted, but it also marks a turning point on the album where the deceased pharoah lay entombed in his singular mausoleum while the multitudes who built it rejoice over the fruits of their life's singular task. With all the heaviness of melancholy thought throughout PYRAMID, Woolfson and Parsons wisely saw the need for bit of humor. At the much deserved expense of G. Patrick Flanagan and his, shall we say, questionable claims of pyramid power, "PYRAMANIA" is a send-up in the proud tradition Rodgers & Hammerstein. "Hyper-Gamma-Spaces" is another ambient instrumental by Alan Parsons that makes me pine for a quadraphonic surround mix on Sony's SACD. Lastly, "Shadow of a Lonely Man" closes PYRAMID in epic, albeit somber, proportions with the spirit of the dead pharoah hovering quietly over his earthly treasures in a museum exhibit as passersby examine them with varying degrees of interest.

Ardent fans will revel in the bonus material. I was particularly intrigued with "What Goes Up/Little Voice" and the two demo versions of "In The Lap Of The Gods." The vast improvement in sound quality from the original Arista disc is directly attributed to Sony's Direct Stream Digital sampling from the best source tapes available. My only complaint is that this masterpiece is not available in surround on SACD. That said, I could not be more pleased with this remastered product even if it is only redbook compact disc. From start to finish, PYRAMID more than rises to the occasion to which its liner notes allude:

"From the rise and fall of an ancient dynasty, to the quest for a key to unlock the secrets of the universe, this album seeks to amplify the haunting echoes of the past and explore the unsolved mysteries of the present. Pyramid...the last remaining wonder of the ancient world."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As momentous as the Great Pryamids at Giza, 23 Nov 2003
This review is from: Pyramid (Audio CD)
This album is a true wonder, the sort of concept that Pink Floyd captured in the wall. It's a bittersweet story of death, with unforgettable Egyptian themes, and sound effects that would rank with 'War of the Worlds'. Epic, moving and so beautifully complete a concept. It has emotive melodies, hauntingly beautiful and poetic laments, plus some very funny lyrics as well.
It is one of those rare albums that you just have to sit down, and listen to from start to finish, and it is addictive... I have forgotten the woman who introduced me to this record, even her name, but I have not forgotten the music, even replacing the album after an ex conveniently acquired the first copy, and again after a break-in.
'I've consulted all the sages I couldn't find in yellow pages, and there aren't many of them. And the Mayan panoramas, on my pyramid pyjamas haven't helped my little problem'.
If you find this jewel, don't walk on by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another perspective, 27 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyramid (Remastered/Expanded) (Audio CD)
What an informative and insightful review by Parrish Highley.

Whatever mood or images you have on listening to music, put that in mind with this puts a better slant on it.

As a confirmed APP fan anyway, I think think this is one of the more atmospheric of the albums' set, and the additional tracks are a bit of a mixed bag, but nevertheless interesting. The remastered version is definitely worth getting. Hence the 5-rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Goes Up?, 3 Mar 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyramid (Remastered/Expanded) (Audio CD)
"Pyramid" was my first foray into APP, stumbled on accidentally and probably remains my favourite of all their albums. True, Eye in the Sky was more successful and had its theme used on TV (the science consumer programme 'Tomorrow's World' its swelling choir and atmosphere and with Colin Bluntstone so soulfully taking the lead vocals? Mind-blowing, actually, when you're 16!

I loved the concept - I loved also the LP artwork, I loved the huge variety of instrumentation, the shimmering waterfall SFX on 'One More River' and the screaming sax and brass led orchestra having a running battle for supremacy. Whistling as a lead instrument??

As for 'In the Lap of the Gods', this epic sounding instrumental was just like a big bold film score by Ennio Morricone. Again, surging, swelling orchestra and choir take over from a brilliantly executed percussive start. The big crescendo was as good and uplifting as I'd ever heard in classical music at that time. Lastly, having such a superb ballad, again sung by Colin Blunstone as the conclusion made ballads sung by men, cool,

In those days of drum machines and soulless manufactured bands this was truly a revelation for me. What a producer/writer/arranger this Alan Parsons was AND he'd engineered the biggest marvel of a record ever (Dark Side of the Moon) I've pretty well bought all the CDs to replace and supplement my APP collection. I admit that I might have a slightly biased affection toward it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic Parsons, 24 Sep 2007
By 
D. Moses (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyramid (Audio CD)
You are in for a treat upon listening to this album. Track after track is exceptional. 'The eagle will rise again' and 'Shadow of a lonely man' are the ballads and they stand out a mile as the strongest, most beautiful songs on the release. Colin Blunstone and John Miles excel on these two songs. All the other songs are also fantastic. The only track I don't care for is 'Hyper gamma spaces', which is cold and programmed and like a late 70's computer game. This cold, computerised sound does not fit in with the orchestrated beauty of the rest of this exceptional album.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arresting, opens the mind and takes you away., 3 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid (Audio CD)
From the opening chords, Pyramid lets you know you're in for a trip. Think open autobahns, summer heat, the unknown and the promise of something memorable. It won't let you down.
Haunting, thoughtful and totally mesmeric, the album will stay with you always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of near-genius, 4 Dec 2007
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pyramid (Audio CD)
For anyone who doesn't know, Alan Parsons has an incredible track record as a producer and engineer. Heis credits include engineering The Beatles' Abbey Road album, Dark Side of the Moon and Al Stewart's "Year of the Cat" where he was responsible for tranforming Al's sound from the early folk to the more sophisticated sound. He also produced Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel's "Best Years of Our Lives" album - which is brilliant in itself.

The Alan Parsons Project went from about 1975 - 1987 and produced over 10 albums, all of which are worth a listen. This is one of the best. The Egyptian theme, the stories and the musicianship. Pyramania is also one of those songs that just sticks in your head. "There are pyramids in my head, there's one underneath my bed and my lady's getting cranky. Evey possible location has a simpe explanation and it isn't hanky panky"

But it's much better than that, this is an album to listen to late at night with no interruptions. Only then will the genius of Alan parsons shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stepping back, 15 Mar 2006
By 
E. Irving - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyramid (Audio CD)
I had the Pyramid album in the 70's (vinyl) it got warped been in the attic!
I was delighted to find this CD on Amazon. It sounds better now.
A great CD to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyramid (Remastered/Expanded) (Audio CD)
I never realised Alan Parsons had a lot to do with Pink Floyd, but the production style was hauntingly familiar, when I had the Vinyl.. Its a fun album, and has aged well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pyramid (Remastered/Expanded)
Pyramid (Remastered/Expanded) by Alan Parsons Project (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews