Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took a gamble, it paid off.....
I always read review for games before I buy them (usually). And saw this got a few average ones. So I ordered and played it last night and found it to be a blast. I was scared the controls would be dodgy as some people reported. But a casual gamer such as myself found it intuitive and the moves pull off, and don't find it a problem at all. Do the training first as this...
Published on 5 July 2007 by J. Davies

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective copy sold to me
I can play one-player game, but no two-player "Kombat -> Versus" is available for me.
Also "Kombat -> Arcade" and pushing "+" on other wiimote does nothing. So basically you have sold me a defective one-player version of an ultimate two-player kick-ass game!
What gives?
Published on 20 Aug. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took a gamble, it paid off....., 5 July 2007
By 
J. Davies "Soundman" (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
I always read review for games before I buy them (usually). And saw this got a few average ones. So I ordered and played it last night and found it to be a blast. I was scared the controls would be dodgy as some people reported. But a casual gamer such as myself found it intuitive and the moves pull off, and don't find it a problem at all. Do the training first as this will hold you in good stead. Really enjoy the game, and good fun with multiplayer mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brilliant, 5 Oct. 2007
By 
M. Bilsland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
MKA is a welcome addition to the Mortal Kombat Franchise. Having over 60 characters to choose from. There is a character for everyone's liking in the game, so you can play as your favourite character and beat the hell out of everything in the game.

If you get bored of fighting, you can have a go on the Motor Kombat. Choose from 10 characters and race along 5 different tracks.

Using the Wii remote on MKA does take some getting use too. But it features a mode where you can train until you are confident enough in using the Wii remote. If that isn't to your liking, you can easily change to the Gamecube controller or the Classic Controller and enjoy some button bashing.

To get the most out of MKA, you have to be patient, there is a lot in the game to get through. But it is a rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A game to keep you busy until Super Smash Bros Brawl, 22 Jun. 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
`Mortal Kombat: Armageddon' features over 60 playable characters from all of the previous games in the series and as a big fan of the Mortal Kombat franchise, this is absolute bloody heaven.

With all the usual different modes of play like Arcade mode there's also a few others like Motor Kombat - a Mario Kart-style racing game with MK characters, making perfect use of the Wii's tilt sensitive controls. The Konquest mode, which was featured in Deadly Alliance and Deception, also returns but has been improved a lot, making it an excellent extra alongside the main game as it takes over 10 hours to complete.

The Wii controls take a little while to get used to on this game but once you've got the hang of it this game is great fun to play. Although they may not suit everyone's liking, as it will take a few goes before you'll get used to and for a normally "pick up and play" genre, this may not be the case with this on the Wii.
Firstly, the Nunchuck is used to move the character about. The C and Z buttons are used to block and change fighting type.
Swinging the Wii-remote in specific ways, combined with holding down the B button pull off special moves. A is to grab, whilst the direction buttons are various kicks and punches.

Although MKA on the Wii is good fun and has lots of content and so many characters to keep you busy, but for it's first outing on the "next-gen" consoles, I think it would have been a bigger seller if it had of been released on the Xbox 360 or Playstation 3, mainly due to some people may be put off by the unusual control method. Still a fantastic addition to the series if you are willing to give it a few goes before you can actually begin to enjoy it. Then again, there is the option to play using the classic or Gamecube controller if you don't want to play with the Wii's innovative controls.

If you can't wait any longer for Nintendo's best fighter, Super Smash Bros Brawl, Mortal Kombat: Armageddon is a great game to fill the time until it's release and is definitely the best fighter on the Wii and the best Mortal Kombat game for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 4 Oct. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
I needed a good fighting game for my Wii as I remembered having a lot of fun with Tekken on PS2 and with the original Mortal Kombat in the arcade. Although I read some good reviews I was still not certain how it would turn out. I have to say the result was great. I really really enjoy the game, in fact it is too addictive and I have to force myself not to play for a while otherwise this is the only game I feel like playing all the time. The moves are great, there are tons of characters to choose from and lots of fighting styles.

I have to add though, the special moves that can be executed through the Wii mote / nunchuk combination do not always work all the time but the rest of the controls are pretty straight forward. What I also like is that it includes a racing game and an RPG game as well, so you are getting 3 games in one! You can also alter the amount of blood/gore on screen because frankly the default setting is at Max and that can be quite a lot, you can also set the death traps on or off.

In short its a brilliant game which is endlessly entertaining. If you have to get one game for the Wii, get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a good game...really...but you gotta have patience!!, 17 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. S. D. Harvey "stonecold_sh" (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
I was very excited about the arrival of Mortal Kombat Armageddon (MKA) on the Wii, when i saw pre-release videos showing the innovative use of the Wiimote in control the special moves of the characters. I got the game on the day of realease and the intro video had me drooling waiting to go, its sets the scence with a brilliant cut-scene. Right...into practice mode, gotta learn how to use the wiimote and nuckuck controls! ARGHHH!!!! for the first hour nearly i was getting very frustrated, yes there are 64 characters, from the classics to the new which is very very cool, but performing the special moves is not an easy task. i reckon about 50% of the time it works, the other 50% you dont know why!!! when they work its good, but linking them is even harder! the style of the game is good, graphicly its nice and clear, good battle arenas etc, but the difficulty is crazyly high, considering the difficulty in doing speical moves on a regular basis. also the d-pad on the wiimote is the a/b/x/y buttons and i dont like that personally, and there is no run function. (a bit of a gripe, only 4 specials per character it seems, bit low for MK!) Now i think MKA is a good game, and the multiplayer is the best bit, but i cant help thinking this game wil be better with the controller, which is a bit of a shame as it looked a great idea with the wiimote! My advice, rent it, try it, see if you can work with the controls 1st! its the best of the MK series, but only if you have the patience to unleash it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fun knockabout, 17 Jun. 2007
By 
Mark Bawn "music mad" (BRISTOL, AVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
i bought this game as i love beat em ups,overall this is a very enjoyable wii version of the game,the graphics are wonderfully textured and gameplay smooth.i find it sometimes difficult to execute some of the special moves, hmmm, more practice maybe.I was a bit dismayed that you can,t wave the controllers around or thrust them to make punches,roundhouses etc.Not a bad game by any means,shame about the control system,my only gripe.try before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Challenging, 19 Feb. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
Has a fan since genesis mk1 Thís is a must have for the Wii.. Fun to Play with the Wii remote.. Easy to performe tricks. the kreate fatality mode its cool, preforming diferent combinations to finish the opponent. But I think most of the people will miss the other mechanism. The konquest mode is like An rpg wich is fun to play. The downside is that You cant choose the Character To play. Overall its a fun game to have and play Alone or with friends :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Defective copy sold to me, 20 Aug. 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
I can play one-player game, but no two-player "Kombat -> Versus" is available for me.
Also "Kombat -> Arcade" and pushing "+" on other wiimote does nothing. So basically you have sold me a defective one-player version of an ultimate two-player kick-ass game!
What gives?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Oh no, 26 July 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
I wanted so much more from my Wii. It felt a bit samey to the last few editions to this once mighty franchise. It is listed as the last on current game consoles, worrying, I would hate to see it leave the frame entirely. It just lacked a little va va voom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to control, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) (Video Game)
Great Game, lots of content, but hard to control.
Also, I just bought it because it's cheap, so fans of the Mortal Kombat franchise might give it more praise, or give it a lower score if it's not up to par with other MK games. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii)
Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) by Midway Games Ltd (Nintendo Wii)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews