Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Strikers Charged Football
This is absolutely fantastic! I personally don't even like football but this game was an instant hit with me. The gameplay is fun and easy to pick up and the controls are creative and yet not too complex.

The characters include all of the old favourites from previous mario games and various spin-offs. Each with their own unique abilities and statistics. There...
Published on 31 May 2007 by Groovy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Football with a difference
Mario Strikers Charged Football is something that is extreme i mean it is hard the game starts easy and before you know your opponent is scoring 13 goals in less then 1 minute. If you remember Sega Soccer Slam this is kind of like that but with Mario characters.
This game looks ok and at times looks a little cheap but it can be fun the online mode is pretty good...
Published on 21 Dec. 2007 by John Evans


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Strikers Charged Football, 31 May 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
This is absolutely fantastic! I personally don't even like football but this game was an instant hit with me. The gameplay is fun and easy to pick up and the controls are creative and yet not too complex.

The characters include all of the old favourites from previous mario games and various spin-offs. Each with their own unique abilities and statistics. There is also a wide variety of pitches with different hazards to conquer, as well as pick ups such as speed enhancers, bombs, banana skins and ofcourse a range of coloured shells to batter your opponents with.

However, the multiplayer mode is where this game really gets fun. You and a buddy can go head to head in a single match or team up together in a tournament. This game is also the first to incorporate the Wii's WiFi Internet connection meaning that you can take on a friend or a random. You can also do this with a friend on your console meaning that you can play a 2 v 2 with anyone in the world. All you need is a WiFi connection.

I give this game a 5 star rating because not only is it highly addictive, it also puts a fantasy spin on a genre of game that I feel is played out(excuse the pun). Ontop of that they have taken the initiative to use the Wii's internet capabilities and hopefully opened the internet gaming floodgates for more popular franchises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game yet on the Wii, 30 July 2007
By 
G. Buller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
Usually when you see a review title stating that this is the 'best game so far'on a console then you can usually be assured that it is some fanboy writing up with posters of the game surrounding the walls around him. However, I think in this case there is an exception to the rule.

Mario Strikers Charged is a game that I have owned since the day before official EU release and have not stopped playing since and this is mainly down to the excellent, if not slightly limited on-line matches. I have bought the excellent and critically acclaimed Resident Evil 4 Wii Edition and Mortal Kombat Armageddon and played both only once because I cannot motivate myself to put this game down when I have a spare hour or two.

The game itself is an arcadey 'no rules' version of soccer on a 5 a side pitch. In truth the game is more like Ice Hockey than football but this is what makes it fast paced and fun. Each character has their own individual attributes and abilities and also a special shot. The single player experience is excellent, starting off fairly easy and moving on to incrediby hard.

But it is online that where the game is at. You have an avitar based on the Mii you select to use to represent you and you can play against friends for fun or (even better) against random opponents in the 'Ranked' matches. In these games you get 10 points for a win, plus a point for each goal you score (up to 10 points making a maximum of 20 per game.) Based on this you get ranked on how well you do and compared against other people in your region. The whole system is based on 'seasons' that are a week long, and at the end of each week the season is re-set and you start again from scratch.

If you haven't got a whole week to compete you can aim for 'striker of the day' which is basically the person with the most points during that day. In the 'ranked games' you can either play 1 V 1 or 2 v 2.

This is such a brilliant and addictive game. You don't have to like Mario to play this and it is in no way cutesy or fluffy. As long as you like sports games, have the internet and maybe a buddy to compete alongside you'll love this game. It's simply genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wii's first online game A BLAST!, 21 July 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is a must for those who love multiplayer, i recommend that you paly this WITH A FRIEND for maximum enjoyment.

basically imagine a run-of-the-mill football game , then add the wackiness of mario and add super destructive power-ups, and consider this...the game is played at a blistering speed, throughout, often matches will leave you breathless arguing at the tv screen and kicking yourself when a goal is scored against you.

*singleplayer is not where this game shines, its ok but its a watered down version of its multiplayer equivalent. its good, but not as frantic as online.

*you will either love or hate the way your matches are selected online.
basically the matches are selected at random by the computer, you have no control over whoever you battle against.

so you could end up playing against the best players on your first day and getting a complete hiding or play against an utter n00b!

i think that its a GOOD IDEA, because the way i look at it i you lose constantly you will eventually be paired against someone easy and you regain your confidence.

playing online is better than any tutorial in this game and you will pick up tactics quite quick

remember online multipalyer WITH A FRIEND NEXT TO YOU! is a blast i HIGHLY recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super wii game!!!, 16 Dec. 2007
By 
G. Stride - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
This is basically a game of 5-a-side football with powerups and is fairly well executed. You pick your team with a captain from a choise of 9 original characters (3 more can be unlocked). 3 sidekicks from a choise of 8 but you can pick the same sidekick more than once. And Vector the crocodile is the goalie. Each character has different levels of ability in 4 areas: speed, passing, shooting, defending.

The game includes a basic pick up and play mode where u can play vs the AI or against up to 3 other people on one console. There is a tournament mode where you pick a captain and your 3 sidekicks and use them to wins 3 cups with the AI getting more difficult as you proceed through the mode. By compleating each cup you unlock an extra captain which you can use in the game. There is a chalange mode where you are set various tasks to complete mainly scoring a set number of goals or comming back from behind with a pre chosen team. Finally there is an online mode with 1v1 and 2v2 play against people from across europe where you can chose from all captains even if you havn't unlocked them.

Gameplay is fairly simple but well executed. The ball has a coloured light in it and when you pass it about or power up a shot it charges up the ball. The closer the colour is to white the more chance the shot has of going in. If a captain fully charges up a shot he does a megastrike where your opponent has to try and save multiple shots and upto 6 goals can be scored. If a sidekick charges up a shot it causes a special shot where the ball travells towards goal in a fire ball or in a huge egg aswell as many other powers.

The only motion controlls are shaking it to tackle your opponent however if this is mistimed your opponant gets a powerup from tortoise shells to captain specials like super mario or bowser breathing fire.

This is a well executed game with over 40 matches in tournament mode 10 chalanges and online mode the lifespan is fairly long. Not for traditional footall game fans but for anyone who likes mario games like double dash this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Football on the Wii, 21 Oct. 2007
By 
M. Bilsland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
I'm not a football fan, but with Mario Strikers Charged Football I've made an exception. It doens't play like regular football; no throw-ins, free kick, corners of penalties. There is only one objective, hit the ball in your opponents net.
You choose a captain, all with their own strengths and weaknesses, and then choose 3 others to be your teammates and then your on your way. Each match lasts 3 minutes so you got that long to score more goals than your opponent. As the game plays on, you'll get items to help you out and hinder your opponent. This can range from Red Shells which home in on nearby opponents, all the way to the super star which makes you invincible.
The Captains even have their own abilities to help you out, and they have the ability of doing a mega strike, which could score you up to 6 goals in one go. But even the captain on the opposing side can do this so be warned.
The game does come into it's own with the Wi-Fi option. You can face of against anyone else who has the game and battle it out in a best of 3 match, and your wins and losses are recorded as well, so if you have a lot of wins, you can show it to the world and have some bragging rights at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Addictive!, 4 Jun. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought this game about a week ago but didn't get a chance to play it properly till this weekend where I played it all weekend! The on-line play is superb - no lag and it generally only takes a few seconds to get paired up with someone to play. You can also play with a guest so its two on two, and its much better playing against people than the computer.

Overall: the wifi play greatly increases the playability and makes this one of the best games for the wii so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real smash for hard-core Mario fans!, 14 July 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought this game cause my fiend had it and wouln't stop going on about it and now I have it i don't bame him, this game is nothing you have ever played before first of all it really only has te basics of football, get the ball into the goal and that is really it! there are powerups like banana skins shells plus special power ups for your captain who depending on who you use will be different like mario grows to supersize and bowser starts breathing fire! your sidekicks ca make or breake a game, they each have something called skillshots which are if you hold the shoot button long enough your sidekick will perform something amazing like shy guy will turn the ball into a bulet bill and toad will set the ball on fire!

then there is the megastrike which seperate fifa and pro evo apart from this, using your captian if you hold the shoot button long enough then a meter will show up and you can srore up to 6 goals, or course if you are on the recieving side of this then you become the goales hand and have to stop the balls which means pinpointing them on screen, this is a great use of the wiimote

the wiimote also is used by shoaking the wiimote to tackle someone and the nunchuck to switch powerups.

this is all good but there are a few problems, when doing the road to the strikers cup, your oppents get increasenly difficult which is really annoying as when you lose the cup you will have to start the same cup all over again! this acually is a little dissapointing seeing that this football game was all advertised as mega strikers and skillshots, really at the crystal cup before you can make a skill shot or a mega strike someone will have tackled you and already be halfway to the goal. Also you cannot change your sidekicks WHATSOEVER! this means that if you have got to the third and final cup and want to change your sidekicks you, have to start not for the beginning of the cup but start the whole mode again meaning hat you have to do the fire cup (1st cup) the crystal cup (second cup) and then you are back where you used to be. one small final flaw, when you are playing you have to change from player to player manually as that can be really frustreatinfg where you might forget and think you are controlling a player when... your not

Overall this is a good one for your selection but if you really aren't into fifa and pro evo then you would rather get mario party 8 which is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Strikers Charged Football [Wii], 2 Oct. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
I went into a club to play this game and it was great! If anyone feels a bit not to sure to get this game I would tell you now to buy it! When I first played it I lost 4-0 but it didn't help that I didn't know how to tackle (which is a simple shake of the wiimote). The first few games you play you will probably lose. I would consider going into the basics first. Moving aroung with the analog on the nunchuck is really comfortable. When the only sensing of the wiimote is the wiggle for the tackle it lets you down when you find out but when you start to play you just lose yourself and you are continuesly wiggle the wiimote. (The opponments keep getting the ball in your first few games). Pressing C on the nunchuck will show you your special power thing like turning big, mushroom and so on. To charge a ball to score you hold down B and the more you pass the more charged the shot on goal will be. Every player (member of team) has a special ability like Bowsers Son can throw these like hammers at people and when he does it to the goal it stuns the keeper then you can score. The goalie gets stunned by everyones charged shot if he saves them. To do a mega strike you have to hold B (if you have charged enough) and press it at the maximum you think you can do before someone tackles you (so if I were you I would get into a reasonably big space in their half to do your Mega Strike). Thanks for reading!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mamma Mia, this is a good game!, 30 May 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
When I bought this game I had no idea whether I'd like it or not, sure the reviews were great but some games just aren't my kind of game, know what I mean? Anyway this is my kind of game, and although I've only had it for a day I've already played (and lost!) online!

They're loads of different characters to choose from and wide range of different abilities depending on the people you choose.

My only possible complaint about the game is the frequency with which the captians of each side can perform megastrikes, but that's not worth taking a star off!

Buy it and enjoy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very good game, 24 July 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) (Video Game)
this was a very good game. One of the best i have played on the wii. I prefer this to any ordinary football game as the trademark moves makes this game what it is. The classic and memorable characters e.g donkeykong included in the game also makes this a brillliant game. This is an excellent party game which lasts for ages. The game will appeal to many people and their preferences. However if you think you are going to play single player mostly the game may not last too long. However is a good buy for multiplayer or wi-fi matches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii)
Mario Strikers Charged Football (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
£16.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews