Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


250 of 261 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice accessory - not needed for all games
The Wii Nunchuk (this is the official spelling!) is used in a few games. Most often, it's used in first-person perspective games as a joystick to control your movement, while the Wii Remote is controlling your view.

As well as the joystick and 2 buttons, it also has motion-sensing capabilities, so you can use it (for example) in Wii boxing to represent your...
Published on 11 Jan 2007 by martinmarv

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Genuine nintendo item??????
Received the nunchuk today as replacement for one that was stolen. The advert for this item implies by both the wording and the photos that this is a genuine nintendo nunchuk. However when I opened the jiffy bag the nunchuk cable was 'screwed up' in a clear plastic bag with the actual nunchuk in a blue plastic bag. No box, as shown in the photo's, no other packaging and...
Published on 28 Aug 2010 by G. Cabble


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

250 of 261 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice accessory - not needed for all games, 11 Jan 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
The Wii Nunchuk (this is the official spelling!) is used in a few games. Most often, it's used in first-person perspective games as a joystick to control your movement, while the Wii Remote is controlling your view.

As well as the joystick and 2 buttons, it also has motion-sensing capabilities, so you can use it (for example) in Wii boxing to represent your right hand (or left hand if you are left-handed) . In Red Steel, and Zelda, you use both the joystick and motion.

However, since you get one Nunchuk with the Wii, it's really only worth purchasing this if you want to use it for multiplayer games that require it (Wii Boxing in Wii Sports, Red Steel, Rayman Ravin' Rabbids, etc).

The Nunchuk won't work without a Remote, and is attached to it via a wire, which mostly stays out of the way.

It's worth buying, but only if you know you have a game that requires it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you dont need one, Dont buy one, 9 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
To the people moaning about Nintendo not selling the Wiimote and the Nunchuck together, You dont need them both to play every game. If you just want to play golf or tennis with someone you dont need a nunchuck! I have bought one as I am planning on fighting the Mrs in boxing and for that it is essential! I dont even know of another game i would need it for, I've bought it purley and simply for the boxing.

If like me you just want to play boxing with your mates then buy it. If not, dont worry about it and spend your 15 on something else!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase, 6 Jan 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
I was lucky enough to get hold of a Nunchuck a couple of weeks ago when Amazon had some stock.

Personally I think it's an essential purchase, if only so you can play 2 player boxing. There's nothing better than having a good fight with your mates, especially when you knock them out in the first round.

Only time will tell how many multiplayer games will take advantage of the Nunchuck, but I'm pretty sure a large number will. It offers a couple of extra buttons, the analogue stick and the motion sensitivity.

My only complaint is that you have to plug it into the remote and the wire can get in the way. But having the wire does mean it doesn't require any batteries so there is an advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Genuine nintendo item??????, 28 Aug 2010
By 
G. Cabble "Cab" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
Received the nunchuk today as replacement for one that was stolen. The advert for this item implies by both the wording and the photos that this is a genuine nintendo nunchuk. However when I opened the jiffy bag the nunchuk cable was 'screwed up' in a clear plastic bag with the actual nunchuk in a blue plastic bag. No box, as shown in the photo's, no other packaging and no instruction/warranty sheets. Have yet to test it as I am still awaiting a replacement wii for the one that was stolen, hopefully it will be a bit better packaged?!
Wait out for further installments!

UPDATE: Have now had the chance to use this item and as suspected this is not up to scratch, very unresponsive and frustrating to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very suspect, 7 Aug 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
We bought a motion sensor and nunchuk bundle from MEA sports which were supposedly brand new. Arrived not in box (to supposedly cut down on postage - we weren't warned about this) and seriously doubted the 'new' status. Like other reviews on this site within using the nunchuk for a handful of times it has completely stopped working. I wouldn't buy again from this retailer. Be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product - Only needed for some games, 4 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
I am confused by some of the other reviewers saying this is not an original wii controller?!? I purchased one from Argos in March of last year and 2 on Amazon in April of last year. The one from Argos came in original wii packaging and in no way appeared to be an unofficial wii nunchuk. The ones I bought from Amazon came in the same original packaging as the one I bought from Argos and also in no way appeared to be unofficial wii nunchuks. The packaging and nunchuk from Argos was identical to the ones I bought from Amazon. The only difference was I paid more at Argos. In the box was all the official wii paperwork, etc. I don't know about these other people, but my nunchuks were official wii controllers in the proper box. If I thought for one second these were not official I would have returned them straight away due to my own personal taste. To purchase unofficial wii controllers is not illegal. They sell them in lots of well known shops along with the unofficial wii wheels, etc. There are lots of things you can buy non-branded that are not illegal. Buying non branded squash isn't illegal. Buying non brand batteries is not illegal. Bottom-line is sometimes you get what you pay for if you buy off brand so that is why you should think twice before buying certain things that are non brand. It may be cheap, but it can also be false economy.

This nunchuk however is not a fake, unless Argos is selling the same fake, which is not likely. We have a few games that require the nunchuk and one in particular is a regularly played favourite game, thus these controllers are used regularly and we have not had one issue with any of them. They do what they are supposed to do and they work perfectly every time. All 3 of them. I would not hesitate to purchase this item again from Amazon and I would highly recommend it. It works perfectly and is well worth the money if you have games that require the nunchuk and my nunchuks were official.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Accessory, 1 Jan 2007
By 
Dr. S. Jabbal "Sunny" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
The Wii Nunchuck is a must have accessory for any wii gamer. Although the nintendo wii comes with one wiimote and nunchuck, if you want to play any game in multiplayer, it will be necessary to purchase another wiimote as well as a nunchuck to enjoy the game fully. In fact, most games require the nunchuck to play and it is not optional to play with just the wiimote.

I can find no reason to give this device such a poor review, nintendo tries to include games from all backgrounds and with the wii, all age groups. Seeing older relatives get involved in games is great fun, without such revolutionary controls they would not be so interested.

The nunchuck is simple to move, it consists a basic 4 way motion sensor and analogue control stick alongside a trigger button and a c button, both easily operable by ones thumb and forefinger. In my opinion it is easier to use than a standard controller especially if you have joint problems such as arthritis.

In summary Nintendo has tried very hard to build an inclusive controller, and even though for some it may not be ideal, i think it strikes the best balance, between inclusion and functionality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 154 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over priced and under whelming - a missed opportunity, 9 Oct 2007
By 
i wrote this "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
The nun-chuck does the job you want it for: controlling Wii games that need it like Wii Sports Boxing, FPS games like Metroid, Call of Duty, Medal of Honor etc, and a few others. You know this because you got one bundled with your Wii and you only want to buy another one so you can play these games against a friend. So go ahead and buy one.

But never being one to miss the opportunity to have a moan I thought I'd climb on my soap box and point out it's faults. Go on, read my rant before you click the `unhelpful button'.

The nun-chuck is over priced at 15. Infact Wii owners shouldn't have to pay for it at all. The Wii Remote is half a controller without this. It's a rip that you have to pay out 45 for 2 bits of kit just to get an extra player. This gives Wii the most expensive console controllers ever, which is just silly.
Price aside, the nun-chuck ain't that great. It feels to light for one thing, and what's with the wire and the lack of rumbles? A wireless rumbling Wii nun-chuck might be worth 15, but not this bland piece of plastic.

The nun-chuck is a reliable controller but it could be a lot better, and cheaper. Do buy one, but don't forget to do so begrudgingly ;-)

Oh and parents, make sure your kid actually wants to play games that require an extra nun-chuck before you buy. If all they want is multi player Tennis this won't be necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars needed for some games.Some notes about nunchuks, 25 Oct 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
A nunckuk is a simple atachment to the Wii remote that gives you extra control over a game.So far 4 out of 6 of my games need it.If it has a nunchuk icon in the top-right corner of the box it needs it for all or part of the game.You get one free with the console,but you can get another for multiplayer. Here are some notes:
1.The control stick has a special feature:you can move it a little bit and it does the action a little bit,like a steering wheel!
2.The upper button is called "c" and the lower button is called "z" so if you see c and z mentioned in reviews you`ll know what they`re talking about. Don`t get them the wrong way round!
3.It fits in your hand perfectly-no need to worry about it being uncomfortable.
4.Don`t put the control stick in your mouth (if you do it goes all yellow).
5.The cord length is fine(almost the armspan of a quite tall 9-year-old).

So overall the nunchuk wins 5 stars for its special control stick feature; fitting into your hand nicely; and its cord length, and only has 1 bad point which is being just plain white and even this is hardly a "bad" point because you never look at the nunchuk when you`re playing and even this can be fixed by buying a skincase for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading knock-off, 18 Mar 2011
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) (Video Game)
Despite being listed as "Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii)" this is not Nintendo equipment. Nor was it boxed as pictured. The item received is a knock-off & came in a polyurethane bag.

While I wouldn't necessarily recommend only buying official equipment. I would recommend only buying from sellers who appropriately name and advertise their products.

DON'T BUY ANYTHING FROM "PERFECT ONLINE SELLER".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo  Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii)
Nintendo Nunchuk Controller Add-On (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
18.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews