Customer Reviews


10 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have I Got The Same Edition?, 20 Dec. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
The films included in this edition are, Work In Progress (1951), Wash & Brush Up (1953), A Place in the Team (1953), Service to Southend (1957), Diesel Train Ride (1959), Let's Go To Birmingham (1962), Reshaping British railways (1963), Forward to First Priciples (1966), Freight and a City (1966), Second Nature (1967), The New Tradition (1968), Plumb-Loco (1971), This Year by rail (1972) & Overture: One Two Five (1978)

Wash & Brush Up is a fascinating look at the maintenance required by a steam engine after 16 days of use, Service to Southend is a film on the electrification of the route, Reshaping BR is Beeching explaining his hatchet job on BR.

Personally I prefer the older films where you can see roads devoid of traffic and a more gentle pace of life. The colour films of the 60's & early 70's take me back to my childhood before the the BR diesels turned corporate blue.

Why do the drivers of the Blue Pullmans looks like ice cream van drivers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful nostalgic series continues., 6 Dec. 2006
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
The wonderful nostalgic series continues. This isn't just for railway enthusiasts but for anyone interested in nostalgic British life. Picture quality is wonderful as usual and it's all been put together lovingly. The collection of films here is a more interesting mix than previous volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old gits film, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
If you are very very old like me and remember the old days of black and white films and TV then this is for you with steam train that had 14 carrages on speeding to sunny Devon or Scotland busses that went from A to B makes me think of what an old chap said to me years ago "All change and no improvment" as to where we are now? So these old British films are or must be collectors films well filmed and put together so if like me you want to go back to those days of Britian at work then buy it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did they possible manage?, 15 May 2015
By 
Woody 16 "Dave" (Merseyside UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
If you are interested in the railways and their historic ways of working, this is for you. It is not a video to watch for entertainment but requires an interest in the old methods of working and can be tedious for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just love these old films., 21 May 2013
By 
Malcolm R. Toms (Stafford, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
I'm accumilating quite a few of these sets now and, i love 'em. If you have an interest in 50's 60' or 70's transport, with a pretty heavy bias toward railway (i do) then they are a must, wonderful capsules of memorabillia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
all delivered to order and content all very interesting .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Sean Cranny "Rampton" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
Top viewing, a real nostalgia trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On the right tracks, 1 April 2011
By 
K. A. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very nostalgic, 8 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The British Transport Films Collection Volume 4 - Reshaping British Railways [DVD] (DVD)
for people to remember and for those who would like to see what life was like then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews