Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Chilling After All These Years
In my youth the BBC ran a strand of films on Saturday evening entitled The Saturday Thriller. First off was Psycho, which was the first time I'd seen that movie, then came The Innocents which had a much greater effect on me. I have seen the former many times since and it is obviously a classic but I have only just seen The Innocents again and I was stunned at how creepy...
Published on 24 Nov 2008 by Numinous Ugo

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Defective Release From BFI
I have the same issue as with BFI's The Leopard: every 10 to 20 seconds the image is distorted, the image disintegrates into what looks like mosaic or jigsaw puzzle pieces; in some instances an actor's face is distorted in a truly horrific way. The technical defect starts at the menu, goes on throughout the whole movie and the extras. I apprised Amazon of this unfortunate...
Published on 13 Sep 2010 by Abdias


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Violence, 15 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The Innocents (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
The Turning of the Screw has been adapted countless times for the stage, screen and TV; none of which I have seen. Therefore, unlike my partner, the storyline of `The Innocents' came as a nice surprise to me. Miss Giddens is a closeted woman who leaves her oppressive family to become the governess for a duo of precocious children. Miles and Flora live in a huge country estate owned by their uncle who rarely visits. All is well until Miss Giddens starts to hear and see things, what happened to the former staff of the house and why do the children act so familiar?

I am asked a surprising amount of times by people what the point of BluRay is, especially when it comes to reissued classics like `The Innocents'. How can something that was never shot in HD be improved by the format? Firstly, a film like `The Innocents' was not shot in HD per say, but it was still a good looking film that has had its prints wonderfully restored by the BFI. Secondly, another area that older films gain from in terms of BluRay is sound - it is in this area that `The Innocents' really stands out. The eerie silence and brash noises are the highlight of the film and make it a far darker experience than if they were missing.

The film would still not have worked had the story and actors failed. Deborah Kerr is a good foil for the ghostly goings on, but is perhaps a little too old for the role. She makes up for the strange casting by being a better actress than many of her peers. It is the children who are more chilling; Martin Stephens as Miles in particular is a little creepy chap. It seems that the film also sticks very closely to the original Henry James' novel so remains coherent throughout. The story is enhanced by the clever use of sound and interesting camera work, that makes you wonder if anything supernatural is occurring, or whether we are witnessing a person having a mental breakdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Innocents [1961] [DVD], 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
Got as a present where it is raved about as being far more edge of the seat than the normal and ranked as one to see alongside the Woman in Black
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Innocents, 5 Mar 2013
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD, not for The Innocents but for The Bespoke Overcoat which is also on the DVD. Whilst The Innocents is an excellent film with a particularly strong performance by a young Deborah Kerr, Wolf Makewitze's 'The Bespoke Overcoat' is a masterpiece of writing and acting by just two actors - David Kossoff and Alfie Bass. It is worth buying this DVD for The Bespoke Overcoat alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bespoke Overcoat, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. H. P. Durnall "Harry Durnall" (Aberystwyth, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this dvd because I needed an 'extra' on it, the Oscar Winning short, 'The Bespoke Overcoat'....which is quite excellent, but was not available by itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Praise, 27 July 2010
By 
Steven Martin Cox "Heathen God" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Innocents (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This is the film that Martin Scorsese has called one of the most effective ghost stories of all time - high praise indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spooky, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
A twist on the novel the Turn of the screw. Still very entertaining considering the movie is now quite dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Gift, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
Item arrived promptly and in good order. Subsequently it was forwarded as a gift and received an encouraging welcome. It is assumed that it is being enjoyed. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Innocents, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
I didnt really like the movie, I bought it for the short film attached "The Bespoke Overcoat" which I loved, well worth the purchase for me. The item was delivered quickly as was exactly as they said, would do business again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars contrived phoney, over rated film, 19 Dec 2013
By 
J. P. Metcalf "jmetrodorus" (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
A governess arrives at the nearly empty house with no visible luggage to look after two immaculately groomed and dressed children. The whole house is looked after by one servant but it shows no sign of neglect. The children are beautifully groomed with amazingly tidy hair as is the new governess who seems only to have the one dress in whole film. The studio garden is lifeless with no wind ever to mess things up. So from early on I was a non-believer and remained as static and uninvolved as the studio settings.
Really this film is quaint and over praised, lifeless and non threatening in fact there is nothing in the film to mess anyone up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
Don't bother wasting your money. I bought it for the good reviews that it as,but what a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9df9378)

This product

The Innocents [1961] [DVD]
The Innocents [1961] [DVD] by Jack Clayton (DVD - 2006)
9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews