Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Chilling After All These Years
In my youth the BBC ran a strand of films on Saturday evening entitled The Saturday Thriller. First off was Psycho, which was the first time I'd seen that movie, then came The Innocents which had a much greater effect on me. I have seen the former many times since and it is obviously a classic but I have only just seen The Innocents again and I was stunned at how creepy...
Published on 24 Nov 2008 by Numinous Ugo

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Defective Release From BFI
I have the same issue as with BFI's The Leopard: every 10 to 20 seconds the image is distorted, the image disintegrates into what looks like mosaic or jigsaw puzzle pieces; in some instances an actor's face is distorted in a truly horrific way. The technical defect starts at the menu, goes on throughout the whole movie and the extras. I apprised Amazon of this unfortunate...
Published on 13 Sep 2010 by Abdias


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie, great hi-def transfer., 13 Nov 2010
By 
K. J. Ward "angelchaos" (Worthing UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Innocents (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Purchased this little gem for Halloween having heard good things. This really is a classic, slow-building and subtle. Films of this era and type very often suffer over time, over-acting and poor special effects (the usual suspects). It has a superb atmosphere, and memorable performances from the two children that get under your skin. It is an exercise in measured restraint, the old horror adage that less is more, fully realised and executed perfectly.

The obvious comparison is with the film "The Haunting". Both films are cast very well, and set in similar locations. The grand haunted mansion, magnetising and confusing it's guests with twisting corridors and hidden secrets. The main difference between the two would be this. The haunting revels in the supernatural elements of the story, and inflicts a psychic assault upon it's unfortunate guests. it is superb, and a fine example of the classic ghost story. The innocents however, is a far more difficult mystery to unravel. It does not offer up it's secrets so readily and because if this leaves a lasting impression. The horrors within this house lurk within the darkness of the mind, and the legacies of the past.

I would suggest watching both if these films as they are both fine examples of the genre. This particular blu-Ray transfer from the BFI is beautifully restored and is a real joy to watch. The black and white definition is fantastic, and the sound is crisp and well balanced. It is unfortunate that some customers have had problems with their discs, but I had no such issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly disturbing and frightening, 25 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the few movies to scare the living pants off me at repeat viewings, The Innocents is fantastic. Possibly the best adaptation of Henry James' novella The Turn of the Screw, it is about a slightly eccentric governess looking after two orphans at Blythe House deep in the English countryside and all sorts of weirdness unfolds, not helped by the fact that the children's only relative refuses any contact between the house and his own socialite lifestyle. From scenes of intense black and white beauty to dramatic lighting to Deborah Kerr's slightly off-handle performance to the most terrifying and malevolent prescence ever captured on film, The Innocents is a masterpiece. Do NOT be fooled by the low rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of classics, 12 Jun 2008
By 
Frank Messely (Kortrijk, BELGIUM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
Just marvelous. A splendid picture. What an atmosphere, what a cast, what a cinematography! Pure art, subtly seasoned with mystery and ambiguity. How can it be that I didn't know of that movie's existence until recently? And when will Hollywood dare taking the risk of producing masterpieces like this again? `More with less' is the motto here. 'The Blair Witch Project' was a hopeful sign. As were 'The Others' and 'The Mothman Prophecies'. Movies that leave questions and stimulate the audience's imagination. Is the ability to visualize everything with computer-generated imagery killing the inventiveness and story-telling skills of today's filmmakers? This DVD, beautifully presented with booklet, together with 'The Haunting' (Robert Wise's, I mean, not that Jan de Bont CGI circus - dear Ms. Jackson must be turning in her grave) are `must haves' for all quality horror movie buffs. And as with Robert Wise's masterpiece this one definitely doesn't need a remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love a spooky film...., 20 Jan 2014
By 
Gillian Furness "G Furness" (Poole Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films made. Watch it in the dark, I dare you and let your imagination go. Yes, it's black & white, some of the best are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good "ghost story" in Blu-ray, 18 Oct 2013
By 
M. Kenny (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
There are several reviews giving plot information so I won't repeat it. The Blu-ray disc has excellent picture and sound. B&W photography is beautiful and the acting is good. If you enjoy a good "Ghost Story" you will like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gothic treasure box of fleeting phantoms and repression, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
This B.F.I presentation is superb with both an enthralling introduction and very informative commentary by Professor Christopher Frayling .
The direction of Jack Clayton is superb and the mesmerising black and white photography of the legendary Freddie Francis is teeming with gothic symbology and exquisite inventive expression .
Deborah Kerr gives possibly the finest performance of her career as the well meaning but bedeviled governess who has two charming children with dark secrets in her charge .The distinguished actress Megs Jenkins also gives a career best as the simple but kind hearted motherly housekeeper .
This gothic treasure box of fleeting phantoms and repression is well treated by the B.F.I .
Also on the disc as an extra is an earlier Jack Clayton effort 'The Bespoke Overcoat' a remarkable film in itself made in 1956 and based on a 1953 play of the same name by Wolf Mankowitz. The story is an adaptation of Gogol's short story The Overcoat with the action relocated from Russia to the East End of London. In this version the protagonists are poor Jews working in the clothing trade. It won an Academy Award at the 29th Academy Awards in 1957 for Best Short Subject (Two-Reel).[2] The performances by the late Alfie Bass and David Kossoff are both superb .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great performances in this creepy 1960's movie., 24 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
A long time fan of Kate Bush, I had not heard of this film until I discovered quite recently that one of Kate's songs, Infant Kiss from her Never for Ever Album was actualy inspired by it. Intrigued, I decided to rent it with a view to finding out what it was that captured Kate's imagination and inspired her to write her excellent song.

Based upon the novel The Turn of the Screw by Henry James, it is directed by Jack Clayton and stars Deborah Kerr. It tells the story of inexperienced governor who is employed by a rich but selfish individual to look after his niece and nephew on his all but abandoned country estate. The task seems simple enough but as time goes on things don't seem quite right and the governess begins to see apparitions of a deceased man and woman who used to live and work there and died in odd circumstances.

As well as the movie extras include a short film called "The Bespoke Overcoat" which is a 30 minute oscar winning short story and is worth buying the DVD for alone. This coupled with the excellent main feature makes this DVD a must have in any movie lovers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the tops, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
This film still "cuts the mustard" after 53 years!, it is such a pity that we don't get to see these old films on the big screen, because so much atmosphere is lost on TV screens.
The Innocents is soooooooooooo creepy!
Great story, great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unnerving, 17 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Innocents [1961] [DVD] (DVD)
A very good movie,which had my hairs standing on end a few times!I bought this dvd on the strength of the reviews on amazon and elsewhere I was not disapointed.The sinister atmosphere that film has from beginning is quite remarkable as it is sustained throughout.Is this a ghost story or the story of young woman slowly mentally unraveling ? The film is abiguous on this point and leaves the final decision up to the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peerless Chill Enhancer, 27 July 2010
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Innocents (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
The "Horror" film of today is a shadow of it's former self, it really is. Gone are the days when the scares were sourced from that which is suggested rather than thrown into your face; hidden from view due to the lack of grating and gaudy CGI; when dialogue was written by types such as Truman Capote rather than gormless hacks. THE INNOCENTS falls into this much-vaunted category, and quite possibly it's the best example of it's genre, at least in my mind I can't think of one film that can even come close to touching it.

The story was later stolen wholesale by Alexandre Aja for THE OTHERS in 2002, but even so if you've seen that film don't think you've seen this one by any means, not least because of the genius that was at work behind it. Miss Giddens (Deborah Kerr in quite possibly her finest performance) arrives to work as a governess for two children at an isolated English manor where things seem unsettling and stifling - Giddens comes to the conclusion that the previous governess and her lover (Peter Wyngaarde, natch) are now haunting the manor and attempting to possess the children's souls. As she herself states many a time, she "Loves children" and will do whatever she can to thwart what she sees as the ultimate violation. To give more away would be to do the film a great disservice, as watching events unfold can cause even strongest-willed of us to become gibbering wrecks. How Jack Clayton manages it is beyond me... A contemporary director would have a bogeyman of some description leap out from the shadows and slit her throat no doubt, thank God in 1961 this wasn't an option. Even if it was it would have made this film just another Hammer Horror, and Clayton took great pains to distance himself from such spills-and-chills. Instead he took Henry James's THE TURN OF THE SCREW and messed with our heads for all time, by simply stating what COULD be happening.

The film deserves to be seen with the best technology possible, and thanks to the BFI we have this new Hi-Def transfer which will no doubt be supported by many first-class extra features (They released a DVD version a few years back now, and even that was worth it's weight in Gold). Forget the latest reboot of FRIDAY THE 13TH or whatever generic slasher Hollywood sees fit to dump at our doorsteps, we as a country showed we could outsmart them in every way almost 50 years ago. The greatest tragedy is that we don't seem to be able to do it anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Innocents [1961] [DVD]
The Innocents [1961] [DVD] by Jack Clayton (DVD - 2006)
9.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews