Customer Reviews


451 Reviews
5 star:
 (362)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Musical Film with Outstanding Extras
This film is a wonderful adaptation of the stage musical. All to often with Lloyd Weber musicals, (Cats, Jeeves, Joseph), all we get is a film of the stage show - but this time we get a truly epic film musical that retains all the magic of the original stage version whilst adding some much depth and detail. The casting is perfect - and it's hard to believe that the...
Published on 4 May 2005 by Chrestomanci

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but beautifully filmed
As the screen adaptation of Andrew Lloyd Webber's magnificent stage masterpiece, this movie is a must-see musical. It is beautifully filmed and certainly does its stage counterpart visual justice. However, this movie has more notable flaws than other recent movie musicals such as Chicago, Mamma Mia or Hairspray. For starts, I find it does a rather poor interpretation of...
Published on 24 Jan. 2010 by Melissa Rose


‹ Previous | 139 40 4146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stands and falls by its faithfulness to the West End original, 15 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. J. C. Clubb "byshee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Although I am a big fan of the horror genre in both film and fiction, I was relatively late coming to the Gaston Laroux classic. There have been good, bad and odd renditions of the classic, but it was Andrew Lloyd Webber's West End musical that made it a verified modern cult interest. In fact, there are many who don't know the story beyond this highly successful ongoing show. I compare this reaction to the way the Batman product is now viewed after the 1960s TV show. Like Batman, Webber's show both dragged the franchise out of obscurity and gave it with a campy stigma. In both cases this stigma is met with a lot of bitterness by the hardcore fans of the original story. Carrying on the Batman link, we find Batman Forever/Batman and Robin director Joel Schumaker taking the helm of the film adaptation of "The Phantom of the Opera" musical.

Schumaker, who must be on most dyed-in-the-wall Batman fans' blacklists, gives the public impression that he is a director who has very little creative control over his projects. In a recent interview, he said of the new "Batman Begins" film, that he was happy to see that someone was being given the chance he never had with his Batman films. Go figure. Schumaker is no stranger to dark films and did a very good job with the disturbing "8mm"; however, "The Phantom of Opera" is quite clearly a case of Andrew Lloyd Webber and his musical's fan club calling the shots. A la JK Rowling, the showbusiness rule of not allowing the writer of the original material sleep with the film's production is very obviously ignored. This probably has to do with Webber actually financing the project.

As a direct rendition of the stage musical, it doesn't appear the film-makers could have done a better job. It is completely faithful and takes full advantage of the movie medium with extra special effects, locations, creative cinematography, fantastic costumes and all the other superficial grandeur you expect of a big budget production. The cast aren't particularly memorable in their roles - although Miranda Richardson is naturally superb as always (and curiously the only person having a go at the French accent).

The strongest scene in the film has to be its introduction sequence, which is a superb build-up (and coincidentally involves no singing!) This sequence is set decades after the climax of the phantom's story in the now rundown and ruined Paris opera house. The atmosphere and black and white filming is brilliant. However, it is this scene's own climax, when the infamous chandelier is raised with "new illumination", that we get to see artistic licence at its best. The whole scene magically changes back into the opera house of our story, dust streaming off the various statues and a wash of brilliant colour explodes across the scene. The whole sequence is accompanied by the instrumental version of the well-known "The Phantom of the Opera" theme song and is enough to raise goose bumps on the back on the coldest cinema-goer.

You get the impression that the mainstream audience is being slowly drawn into liking the musical, but once the individual songs are gone so is the subtlety. In fact, it appears that every dated song from the original - not to mention the new ones - has been stuffed into this lengthy feature. This makes the film feel like it is dragging on and the overall feel is that it is way too long and self-indulgent. I've yet to hear from anyone who has seen the film - whether they liked it or loathed it - who didn't agree with this. My attitude is that if you are going to see a musical, expect loads of songs, but a harsher editor and a less hands-on Andrew Lloyd Webber could have made this a far slicker film that would appeal to a wider audience. As it stands, if you don't enjoy musicals (especially big swashbuckling ones like "Camelot") then this film won't convince you. If you are a fan of "The Phantom of the Opera" in his many reincarnations, then this is certainly worth watching - it's not the best or worst version of the story - and now is as good a time as ever to bury the hatchet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple as, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the phantom of the opera, 29 May 2005
By 
Laura Best (County Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i am the biggest phantom of the opera fan and i feel that the movie is just as good as the show it is amazing and will totally astound you i amy only be 17 but i know this film is just as fab as the show if you havent seen it do so.
ps the people who critasize it have not got good taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the phantom of the opera, 9 Mar. 2005
This is a film for all ages and not just a chick flick this film is a must in everyones dvd collection, everyone plays their parts very well from Gerard Butler (also in tomb raider 2) who plays the phantom very well and every woman who watches this film will definately fall in love with by the end of the film to Emmy Rossum (Christine) and also starring jennifer ellison, patrick wilson and minnie driver as carlotta.
This film is about a chorous girl Emmy Rossum who the phantom falls madly in love with and she believes he to be an angel sent by her father from heaven, but when her childhood sweetheart comes on the seen Raoul which christine falls in love with unfortunately the phantom's chances are unleashed.
I'm glad they decided to change the actors etc in this movie as i'm sure it has attracted a bigger audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd phantom of the opera, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Wood (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Phantom Of The Opera
problem with this dvd is the sound you have to switch on manually. quality of dvd i could not fault as it was as good as the film. sound when switched on was perfect. a good inexpensive buy. cheaper than the shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's there...the phantom of the opera, 29 April 2005
I've seen this movie 3 times in the theater, and am awaiting may the third to purchace it. I have been a PHan of Phantom for seven years now and I've seen it on stage at the majestic in New York. I loved absolutly every moment I was in the movie theater. The actors portray the charictors excellant!!! Emmy was supurb, Minnie Driver made an awesome Carlotta (though she only really sang "learn to be lonely" during the credits) Raoul had more depth in the movie then on stage, as I hated him a little less in this film. "Sigh" As for Mr. Butler, on one hand I feel he put much emotion in the the Phantom, definlently more edgey, BUT, he does not have THE VOICE of Erik(the phantom) The Phantom is to have a voice of an angel! To sing as nobody could ever imagine! To touch your soul. That crucial voice that Gerald could ever dream to master. Also He is entirely too handsome for Erik. (for those wondering who erik is, it is the phantoms name in the original book) Erik was to be like a corpse, have no nose, just skeleton like (hence the reason for the mask) But Gerald is way too good looking even without the mask... But all in all it was a wonderfull movie and I highly recomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as theatre version, 23 Feb. 2007
By 
K. Powell "'-._K_.-'" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film version is very close to the stage musical, with a few changes to the story line (which I feel they should have left). The theatre version for me will always be the best, and there is definitely no comparison between the two. Don't be put of of seeing the theatre show if you weren't too keen on the film.

The main thing I didn't like as much was the fact that The Phantom should not be good that looking, and under his mask should look very deformed, not just look like he has a sunburn!! Gerard Butler is very good in the role, but feel The overall look of The Phantom needed to be a LOT older and not someone that loads of females with fall in love with easily. At the end you are suppose to be left feeling really sorry for The Phantom, like in the theatre, but I was completely emotionless through the entire film!

Michael Crawford (the original Phantom) would have been perfect for the role!

The stage show = brilliant, a must see! You get so much more involved in th story and with the characters, and I feel it is an overall better story!

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 139 40 4146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Phantom of the Opera  [Blu-ray] [2004]
The Phantom of the Opera [Blu-ray] [2004] by Joel Schumacher (Blu-ray - 2007)
£6.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews