Customer Reviews


493 Reviews
5 star:
 (400)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Musical Film with Outstanding Extras
This film is a wonderful adaptation of the stage musical. All to often with Lloyd Weber musicals, (Cats, Jeeves, Joseph), all we get is a film of the stage show - but this time we get a truly epic film musical that retains all the magic of the original stage version whilst adding some much depth and detail. The casting is perfect - and it's hard to believe that the...
Published on 4 May 2005 by Chrestomanci

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but beautifully filmed
As the screen adaptation of Andrew Lloyd Webber's magnificent stage masterpiece, this movie is a must-see musical. It is beautifully filmed and certainly does its stage counterpart visual justice. However, this movie has more notable flaws than other recent movie musicals such as Chicago, Mamma Mia or Hairspray. For starts, I find it does a rather poor interpretation of...
Published on 24 Jan. 2010 by Melissa Rose


‹ Previous | 137 38 3950 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So glad I now have a copy for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great musical what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time, enjoyable music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i could watch this over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars S'alright, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just want to begin by saying that I did not like Emmy Rossum in this film. She has the right look for Christine Daae, and her singing, while not without it's problems, was bearable, but I did not like her acting. Christine is meant to be a lot more lively and vivacious, but in this film she's in a permanent state of 'I just woke up and I don't know what feels I'm feeling'. She really dumbed down the character and made her seem as though she had no mind of her own. Gerard Butler, in my opinion, cannot sing, but his acting totally made up for it, I thought he was brilliant. I thought Minnie Driver as Carlotta was brilliant, my favourite performance.
OTHER than that, It was beautifully made. The only thing that irked me was the fact that (possibly to cover up Rossum's voice) the final scales of the song 'The Phantom of the Opera' were a lot quieter, making it a lot less dramatic, not to mention they missed out a chunk of it!
Again, OTHER than that I definitely recommend this as a way to experience Phantom as the spectacle it is without having to spend a ton of money, it still manages to evoke enthusiasm for the musical so it must be doing something right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a night at the opera!, 28 Dec. 2007
By 
Hamstead (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a copy for someone who had booked to see the stage show in London but had to cancel due to ill health and will probably not now ever be able to go. This, while not having the tingling immediacy of the stage show, still manages to bridge that gap and with the exception of a few twiddles is a faithful rendition. It certainly captures its essence. The stage show version of Masquerade is superior to the film in terms of colour and spectacle, but without having seen the former, I wouldn't have a quibble. The singing is glorious, the direction sure, and the film is the next best thing to a night at the opera.
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received and meets requirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product fast postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product and delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic service and product,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 137 38 3950 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Phantom of the Opera  [Blu-ray] [2004]
The Phantom of the Opera [Blu-ray] [2004] by Joel Schumacher (Blu-ray - 2007)
£5.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews