Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (317)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Musical Film with Outstanding Extras
This film is a wonderful adaptation of the stage musical. All to often with Lloyd Weber musicals, (Cats, Jeeves, Joseph), all we get is a film of the stage show - but this time we get a truly epic film musical that retains all the magic of the original stage version whilst adding some much depth and detail. The casting is perfect - and it's hard to believe that the...
Published on 4 May 2005 by Chrestomanci

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but beautifully filmed
As the screen adaptation of Andrew Lloyd Webber's magnificent stage masterpiece, this movie is a must-see musical. It is beautifully filmed and certainly does its stage counterpart visual justice. However, this movie has more notable flaws than other recent movie musicals such as Chicago, Mamma Mia or Hairspray. For starts, I find it does a rather poor interpretation of...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Melissa Rose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music To Make You Tingle, 29 April 2005
By A Customer
I loved this film. As a fan of the stage show who saw the original London cast with Crawford and Brightman, I went to see this film with quite low expectations, based on snobby, biased and unfair reviews. The music in this film, digitally enhanced and with a full symphony orchestra, is even more breathtaking than the stage show. It just blows you away. The sets are superb and the supporting cast give good performances. My only gripe would be Butler as the Phantom. Too good-looking to be the Phantom and the make-up was pathetic. One of the big twists of the stage show was how you felt so sorry for Crawford's Phantom. But not Butler unfortunately. His voice was not up to much and there was no chemistry with Christine. But aside from this, a very enjoyable film, which I can recommended to all ages. Buy it. And turn up the volume!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Phantom, 21 July 2011
By 
Mike Appelbe (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Phantom of the Opera [Blu-ray] [2004] (Blu-ray)
The Blu-ray disc arrived in good time and perfect condition. A lovely film when shown on a massive screen. The film starts in black and white with material from the original and then after a few minutes switches to full colour. The only criticism is that the sound level on the disc is much louder as soon as it switches to colour with the danger of deafening the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 26 Oct 2005
By A Customer
this movie is ok but you have to see the real thing nothing beats it. the movie version is good if you cant get to see the actual production but no subsutitue for the wonderful tingling feeling you get when the music booms out at you and vibrates off your skin. the phantom of the opera is a must see theatre production not really a must see movie. there really is nothing like then production and the in house feeling you get which just cant be replicated by a movie. sorry:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Phantom of the opera, 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality dvd. Unfortunately this really was a very disappointing film. Could not really recommend to any "Phantom" fans. Stage show of course was great but the film fails completely to capture the essence of the story and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and bland adaptation of a thrilling show, 12 Aug 2012
I would have given the film 2 stars but the filmed Royal Albert Hall 25th Anniversary adaptation makes this one irrelevant.

Phantom of The Opera is the longest running musical on Broadway and second longest on the West End. The reason for its success is obvious: this is a full-blown love letter from the musical's composer Andrew Lloyd Webber to its original leading lady and his then-wife Sarah Brightman. Phantom of The Opera is very much a musical that needs to be seen in the theatre- a live orchestra makes even the well-known songs sound thrilling and atmospheric. Admittedly the "comic bits" with the opera owners and opera diva are always a dull distraction but one can endure them for the thrilling romanticism that follows.

When this film came out, it was the only filmed version of the musical available. Merely singing the songs competently would be enough to convince some to see this film, and in the end, that is all the film really does. Emmy Rossum is too young to play the role of Christine, who is a young woman rather than a young girl. She just looks like a schoolgirl, making her romance with Raoul seem only mildly less creepy than that with the Phantom. Her voice is fine but her inexperience with acting shows. Admittedly she has to battle against her blatant schoolgirl look but she never really convinces as someone that the Phantom would become obsessed with, not having the presence of a leading lady.

Patrick Wilson is fine as Raoul, Christine's childhood sweetheart (don't even think of how old she must have been when they met). His presence is inoffensive, which is about as much as most can manage with Raoul, who gets some nice songs but not a lot of personality.

Now, what the whole thing really rests on is the casting of the Phantom. Joel Schumacher makes the ill-advised decision to cast Gerard Butler as the Phantom. Butler is too handsome and young, robbing the musical of its dark seductive side. The Phantom's deformity is no more than a bad sunburn, which one could easily look past with a cute man like Butler, thus making Christine's reaction of horror pretty shallow. The Phantom is meant to be horribly disfigured from birth, though I believe in another film he receives the injury from an acid attack by a jealous rival. Choosing the latter option would have neatly explained the problem of Butler's good looks and would have made a nice teen-friendly option. However, Schumacher keeps the reason the same as the musical, even showing some gratuitous flashbacks.

The whole point of the Phantom is that he is meant to look horrific- the Beast to Christine's Beauty. Christine is meant to be seduced by the Phantom's genius, against her will. If the Phantom is not that old or disfigured, it makes her romance with Raoul seem shallow. Who wouldn't choose Butler's Phantom over Wilson's Raoul?

Miscasting is the film's main downfall, as well as failing to overcome the boring elements of the musical and failing to elevate the thrilling ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Phantom of the Opera, 5 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Grenville Biddulph (WEST SUSSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whilst the voices of the three leads do not match those of Sarah Brightman, Michael Crawford and Michael Ball (and it did detract from the entertainment in my opinion), the film is otherwise excellent and definately worth owning, for I do find it enjoyable to watch every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing psychotherapy and plastic surgery can't fix, 27 Dec 2005
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Several years ago, I saw the stage production of THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA at Her Majesty's Theatre in London. I only remember that the wooden seats were uncomfortably hard, and that I came away thinking "chick story". The cinema seat for this Big Screen version was much friendlier to my couch potato tushy, but it's still a "chick flick" in the same way that FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS was a "guy flick". Of course, I dragged my wife to the latter.
The convenient thing about musicals is that the plots are usually simple, often simplistic. OK, so here we have this guy with a facial deformity, The Phantom (Gerard Butler), who, as a child, escaped from a freak show and took refuge in a palatial Parisian opera house; he's managed to live there his entire life. His living space is in the structure's bowels, replete with guttering candles, slimy hanging stuff, and lots of murky, green water. Nevertheless, he manages an elegant wardrobe, topped off by an anachronistically cheesy mask that covers the half of his face that needs plastic surgery. Psychologically, he has issues. In any case, he's somewhat of a musical genius that composes operas for house presentation. He becomes enthralled with a pretty, young actress, Christine (Emy Rossum), who's managed, on the strength of an absolutely fab singing voice, to supplant the resident diva, Carlotta (Minnie Driver). The Phantom competes for Christine's affections with the establishment's patron, Vicompte Raoul (Patrick Wilson).
Emy Rossum is radiant as Christine, but unconvincing in her romantic attentions to either Raoul or The Phantom, perhaps because she ricochets back and forth between the two for most of the movie. I'd have dumped her for somebody more committed. Minnie Driver is wonderful as the annoying and conceited Carlotta, but then I find all of Driver's film personae annoying; it was inspired casting. Butler was a poor choice for The Phantom; he seemed an inadequate clone of, say, a young Antonio Banderas. Raoul might just as well have been a cardboard cut-out. And at well over two hours, the run time of the film approaches mind-numbing.
But, I'm still awarding FOUR stars and recommending a look-see because the costuming and sets are eye-popping. Why, the candle expense alone would bankrupt a small country. The fact that THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA wasn't nominated for an Oscar for Best Achievement in Costuming is appalling; they wuz robbed. And the music, of course, inspires swooning - especially if you're a chick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well at least this got me into the musical..., 22 Feb 2014
I first watched this film when i was about 8-10, and i was amazed and stunned of how beautiful it was. I thought it was one of my favourite films.
But then i turned 15 and i saw the 25th anniversary and that completely blew me away. The singing was a hell of a lot better, the acting and effects!
Bad parts of movie
Emmy rossum cannot act for s***. She just gives that same dazed expression which after a while really angers you why she got the role! Don't get me wrong, she has the perfect look of Christine, but she just cant act! Her singing was good, but i heard her voice was digitally enhanced which misses the whole of a musical...i mean its not a pop song!
Gerard Butler is a great actor, but his voice had no comparison to Ramins, JOJ and many others. And the phantoms deformity is terrible, it looks like hes had a mild sunburn or something. Really bad. It just makes the idea of a 'haunted face' being 'distorted deformed it was hardly a face' seem stupid.
There was also a lot of costume changes made too, which annoyed me more. Why did they change the Think of Me dress to a white wedding gown? The Point of no return dress to some slinky tart dress? Or the phantoms red death costume which was really pussied out. It just winds me up!

However if it weren't for this film it would have got me into the actual musical so thats why i gave it 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great musical, bad movie., 7 Jan 2014
By 
Obbe79 (Napoli, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie has nothing to do with the elegance and mystery and magic of the theatrical version. Gerard Butler is only a pale shadow of the great Michael Crawford. If you want to buy The Phantom of the Opera, buy the 25th Anniversary performance at the Royal Albert Hall. That is really worth it. Not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Phantom of the Opera  [Blu-ray] [2004]
The Phantom of the Opera [Blu-ray] [2004] by Joel Schumacher (Blu-ray - 2007)
£6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews