Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A huge improvement on any previous version I've seen.
Finally, I can watch the Crow in all its widescreen glory.

OK, it isn't the sharpest HD picture I've ever seen, but it's the best I've ever seen this movie and it really made it better for the wait. The picture could still benefit from a complete re-master, but that could take years, if ever and if you want to enjoy this movie in widescreen, with 5.1 DTS and a...
Published on 27 Sep 2009 by Norrin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Collector's Edition about this....
I have been replacing my favourite dvd's with the blu ray versions and as I have this film on dvd remastered, this was next on my list..

The Crow is a timeless classic in my opinion so when it arrived I was excited to sit and watch it again but this time in Blu Ray.

Well how disappointed am I?! The picture quality is at best not much better than the...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Merlin


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Collector's Edition about this...., 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crow [Collector's Edition] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have been replacing my favourite dvd's with the blu ray versions and as I have this film on dvd remastered, this was next on my list..

The Crow is a timeless classic in my opinion so when it arrived I was excited to sit and watch it again but this time in Blu Ray.

Well how disappointed am I?! The picture quality is at best not much better than the dvd and the sound quality is just DTS and not DTS Master Audio!

To me this is a lazy release and should not have been fed to us Crow fans until they could be bothered to do the job properly. Hopefully a proper "Collector's Edition" will be produced where it will make much better use of the blu ray format.

I am not saying don't buy it but I am saying if like me you have the dvd then don't set your expectations too high as you will most likely be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A huge improvement on any previous version I've seen., 27 Sep 2009
By 
Norrin (Brisbane, QLD Aust.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crow [Collector's Edition] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Finally, I can watch the Crow in all its widescreen glory.

OK, it isn't the sharpest HD picture I've ever seen, but it's the best I've ever seen this movie and it really made it better for the wait. The picture could still benefit from a complete re-master, but that could take years, if ever and if you want to enjoy this movie in widescreen, with 5.1 DTS and a handful of various extras, this is well worth the upgrade from the DVD.

The interview with Brandon Lee (his last recorded interview) has a few ominous moments and there are some interesting behind the scenes looks.

The movie has dated a little, but it's still a nice Gothic revenge flick which Tim Burton would be proud of. I'm one of the few who likes everything Alex Proyas has made and this is a good solid start for his body of work.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benchmark, hypnotic, stunning, A MUST, 14 May 2004
By A Customer
I must have seen the original countless times. Although I haven't got any 'goth' tendencies, I must say that the dark and hypnotic aspect of this film had made enormous impression on me.
Even though the film is incomplete due to Brandon's early demise, the upgraded version gives some hints of what could have been! Elements such as the character of 'Skeleton Cowboy' were omited as was an extensive storyline about Eric(Brandon) and Shelly(Sofia Shinas). However still a unique masterpiece!
A must see for everyone who hasnt seen it! The enhanced version does not have subtitles which is rather odd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing. The finest epitath possible!, 20 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Crow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Having heard so much about the Crow online I was eager to sample this slice of movie-making genius. Initially apprehensive as the intro sequence progressed I was soon engrossed in the tragic tale of Eric Draven, Shellley Webster and the former's revenge on the thugs who murdered he and his girlfriend on Devil's Night - the day before their wedding. Directed with panache by Alex Proyas, the first half hour is a tour de force of rage and emotional destruction as Eric is ressurected and re-lives the horror of realising his beloved girlfriend was raped and murdered. The fantastic sequence where he falls about his derelict apartment while flashbacks of the slaying punctuate his agonised actions sent a shiver down my spine, aided in no small amount by the classic soundtrack.The next hour progresses from Eric's crazed power-trip as he realises his awesome powers, to his renewed sadness at glimpsing Officer Albrecht ( Ernie Hudson's )memories of Sheeley's slow death in hospital to his cold, clinical execution of T-Bird and Skank and the final adrenaline fuelled, desperate battle with Top Dollar on the church roof as the storm rages behind them. Superb. The emotional range is heart-breaking, the action stylish and spectaculer and the character of Eric, played with confidence by the late Brandon Lee, is a piece of great art in itself for his portrayal of the vengeful spectre. And even after the initial wow factor of this amazing action flick its deeper emotional residue will remain far later.Its message an ironic epitath to Lee and his fiance Eliza's own tragedy. "Buildings burn, people die. But true love is forever..." The best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crow: Special Edition, 3 Feb 2003
By now everybody probably knows the story of The Crow, but to recap, its about a rock musician and his girlfriend who are murdered on halloween. One year later, Eric Draven (Brandon Lee) returns from the grave to seek revenge.
The film on this special edition looks terrific, with much better picture and sound than on the previous DVD release.
It's a 2 disc set with quite an array of extra feature. On the first disc is the film in widescreen (the original DVD was full screen)with exceptional picture clarity and colour, and gorgeous sound (the soundtrack is good too!!) There's a featurette which is longer and more informative than the usual five minute back slap you normally get. A selection of deleted scenes, and some extended scenes, which do add quite a different tone to some of the sequences. A commentary is also on this disc.
Disc 2 is split into two section - 'video' and 'art'. Under video, you get the full screen version of the film; a commparison between widescreen and full screen; and, most poignant of all, the last interview with Brandon Lee, who talks about not knowing if your goint to see another full moon, or the sun rise the following day! Spooky!
The art section, has a documentary with John O'Barr, the artist and creator of The Crow, boy has he had a hard life! Poster artwork and production design and storyboards.
Overall this is a great package at a good price, which I cannot recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Cinema, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Crow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I know many people will think that films like this can't be great with all it's action and violence, and comic book descent, but it truly is an amazing movie. Undoubtedly one of the best films of the 90s, it shows Brandon Lee for what he was, a brilliant actor. Unfortunately he couldn't go on to prove himself further due to the tragic circumstance. All you have to do to understand the feeling and thought of this film is watch the interview with Brandon. He explains how he has never seen such violence that is so justified as in The Crow; and he's spot on. The murderers of Lee's character and his fiancée are subject to such brutal punishment, yet you'll never feel sorry for them or argue Eric's case. All I can say is that if you haven't seen this film, you are missing out on a true CLASSIC and a great piece of Cinema History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 13 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This was definately one of the best movies of the 90's. The story revolves around Eric Draven an underground rock musician who, along with what was his very soon to be wife, was murdered on Halloween. His fiance was brutally raped and beaten, and later died in hospital, while Eric was stabbed, shot twice and thrown out of a three story window.
Exactly one year later, Eric is ressurected by a mysterious crow so that he can take out the revenge his death prevented him from having. He is given the strenth of ten men, the power of invulneribility and sight of the crow. Throughout the movie the crow guides him to the wereabouts of the four wrong doers so that he can put "the wrong things right."
Everything about this movie just oozes quality (even thought the plot is just the reworking of the basic revenge story, but with a supernatural twist). Brandon Lee is just superb as Eric Draven, throughout the film you can see his anguish and rage towards his murderers because of the beautiful life they denied him with his true love. You can also see him going slightly insane due the powers given to him. Ernie Hudson, David Patrick Kelly and Michael Wincott are all also excellent as their respective characters, but it is Lee who steals the show, this young actor would have become a major star after the release of this movie were it not for his tragic death. He is charismatic likable and overall very convincing.
This DVD package is much improved over the last one, with the sound and picture quality given a very good and welcome re-hash. Other extra's include a featurette, commentary from writer and producer, profile of James O'Barr, who created the comic on which the movie was based as well as a comparison of the movie in its old and new format.
The Crow is an excellent, excellent movie, and still is today one of the best comic book adaptations out there, i recommend this movie to everyone as i think it should be seen by as many people as possible, as it is one of the most touching movie's out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 15 Sep 2007
By 
*** This comment may contain spoilers ***

Pulp Fiction? Forrest Gump? Nah, this is what should have won the Best Film Oscar in 94. The best comic book film ever made, surpassing even Batman and Superman, The Crow is one film that will remain eternal, and never age over the years. Its story may be simple, but it is executed with such style and heart that it will never become unfashionable, and although the sequels have so far been poor, this is unmissable. Action, humour, love, and a visual flare that only Burton can match, The Crow as Brandon Lee's last film has a massive cult following and was hailed by many critics.

Eric Draven, a rock musician and his girlfriend Shelley are brutally killed on Halloween by the members of a local gang. The case is never solved, but cop Albrecht stayed with Shelley in the hospital for the many hours before she died. He has gone on with his job in the stinking city, occasionally meeting with Sarah, a young girl who was friends with Eric and Shelley, whose mother is a waster and addict. One year later, Draven returns from the grave, terrified and tortured until he remembers what has happened. A Crow seems to look after him and he is invincible. He soon sets out for revenge, picking off the gang members one by one, on his way to Top Dollar, the leader. Although he tries to hide in the shadows, he eventually shows himself to Sarah and Albrecht, and they work together.

Rarely is such a beautiful film been made. Only Edward Scissorhands can equal this in modern times, but even it has a different style. The sweeping views of the city, a terrible place to be, are stunning, with camera angles the Matrix would emulate. The soundtrack adds immensely, both the rock songs and the instrumental tracks, making the film all the more powerful. The acting is all immense, though understated and quiet for the most part. Lee gives his best performance and it is a remarkable one, going through the emotions of the character, as well as doing the stunts. Of course, this would cost him his life, tragically echoing the story. In fact, the story seems to have been cursed from the start, with creator O'Barr basing the story and character on the real events of his life-his girlfriend being killed and the emotions he went through. Davis as Sarah gives a strong performance too, and could have had the world at her feet, but vowed never to return to the set and has not acted since Lee's death. Hudson gives a career best, and Wincott gives his usual snarling effort, here it is superb and has not been bettered. All the other cast members are great too, the gang members each well drawn and acted to perfection.

The story is told with such skill that you can't help to feel such sympathy for the characters, and Sarah's monologues are very emphatic. Draven is a strong character, getting a second chance to do things right, and saying that yes- scumbags who kill do deserve to die also. These bad guys have no redeeming qualities, and their deaths are satisfying. The script is also awesome, and there are many one-liners ranging from funny, poignant, and insightful. If their were only a handful of films from this decade which survived a war, or which could be used to show humanity- this would be one of them. Easily one of the best movies of the decade which should continue to be seen by all.

This 2 disc special edition has some good features, including the already famous final interview of Brandon Lee and a touching and interesting interview with creator James O'Barr. The deleted and extended scenes are good, and the commentary is insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modern classic, 26 July 2006
The crow is one of the greatest films ever made the brooding atmosphere makes the city on hells night seem even more ominous. The ingenious way that Eric Draven disposes of his and his fiance's Shelly's kilers a year after their deaths and also the way that he helps out sarah get reunited with her addict mother is just amazing the fire trick in daredevil where joe pantoliano throws he cigarette on to the ground and the dd sign appeared was done first in the crow and it is much better. The rooftop fight at the end is just amazing and with a cast that includes Tony Todd the film on the whole blew me away. I would recommend this to every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Crow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
When i first saw The Crow, i had no idea who Brandon was, and that the film itself was based on a comic. The movie captured me, the story was dark and beautiful and Brandon's performance as Eric was amazing. As soon as i saw it again on DVD, it blew me away even more, things i had'nt noticed the first 10 times i watched it. This is a great movie and comes highly recommended. Brandon would have been proud of his last piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crow [Collector's Edition] [Blu-ray]
Crow [Collector's Edition] [Blu-ray] by Alex Proyas (Blu-ray - 2007)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews