Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHRISTIAN, THE LION, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Dr S. S. Nagi "Nyrobe" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
The DVD (2006 - 87 minutes) is a true story about a lion cub who lived with 2 australians in London. They had bought the lion cub from the pet department in Harrods. Bill Travers and Virginnia Mckenna are introduced to them and they decide to help the lion be free in Kenya. First the lion cub is taken to Surrey Hills, home of V Mckenna and W Travers.
George Adamson takes the lion cub on and the lion is moved to Kenya and lives with other lions in the compound.
It is a very moving and lovely story and brings you to sadness and tears. It is like Born Free again. The characters are real and the interaction with other humans and wildlife is real. Even more tragidy follows when George Adamson has to shoot one of his beloved lions.
A fantastic DVD and real time story. Highly recommended with beautiful Kenyan photography. Just watch how much effort is put into preserving these lions.
Other DVD's with Similar theme are:-
(1) To Walk with Lions, Richard Harris 1999
(2) Where no Vultures Fly, Anthony Steel 1951
(3) Lions Are Free, V Mckenna/Bill Travers 2006
(4) Big Cat Special, Jonathan Scott 2009
(5) Born Free, V Mckenna/Bill Travers 1965
(6) Cheetah, Keith Coogan 1989
(7) Lord of The Lions, George Adamson VHS 1991
(8) Lions - 4 DVD SET, George Adamson 2008
Having born in Kenya, I enjoyed watching this DVD.
Watch and ENJOY.
Books with similar theme are:-
(1) Bwana Game, George Adamson 1968
(2) My Pride and Joy, George Adamson, 1986
(3) The Great Safari, Adrian House 1993
(4) Born Free/Living Free/Forever Free, Joy Adamson 1960/61/62
(5) Last of the Free, Gareth Patterson 1994
(6) On Playing with Lions, Virginnia Mckenna 1966
(7) Return to The Wild, Norman Carr 1963
(8) A Lion Called Christian, Bourke and Randall 1971 (2009)
(9) Born Wild, Tony Fitzjohn 2010
(10)Lord of the Lions, Sandy Gall 1991
Read and ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and fascinating, 14 Feb 2009
By 
N. Westland (Dorking, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
A beautiful, moving, touching story. For anyone that marvels and enjoys the interaction of these huge cats with humans. Powerful, emotional and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, 5 Mar 2009
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
I loved this DVD - it bought back lots of memories of Africa - it is very well documented and incredibly emotional. Worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christian-the lion at world's end, 6 Feb 2009
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
Many years ago I read all four of Joy Adamson's "Elsa" series and "The Spotted Sphynx". Saw the two movies on the big screen and read the Elsa triology again. Since marrying my wife some 20 years ago, we have been fans of "The Big CAT Diary" etc., etc. I found the "Christian" quite by accident and, since it is part of the Elsa Story, we of course, enjoyed it as well. BIG CATS ROCK !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and captivating!, 20 April 2009
By 
M. Barrett "Mai" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this DVD recently and found it to be a tug on the heart strings! It is a true story of a lion called Christian that was brought up in London in the 1070s and subsequently got moved to Africa where he spent his life. The story is very touching and shows both the attachment and emotion that any animal, no matter how wild, can become close and have memories of people. It is a wonderfully documented life story of Christian and shows the courage and utmost respect that George Adamson has for animals - the man is a genius!
Well worth a watch and keep a tissue handy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Heartwarming Story, 4 May 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Day "Annette" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
I had never heard of Christian the lion until the documentary was on TV. I immediately bought the DVD and the book. I was totally enthralled by this wonderful story, and the DVD is an excellent account of the amazing bond between these two young men and their beautiful lion. I will never get tired of watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best animal stories I have ever seen, 21 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. Valerie E. Coker (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
I first heard about Christian when I was sent a You Tube link. I absolutely had to buy the DVD.

The story is about 2 Australian young men who came to London in the swinging 60's. Back in those days you could buy anything from Harrods - including a lion cub. It seems impossible but these young men raised Christian in the middle of London until he bacame too big.

With the help of George Adams they eventually managed to rehome him in Africa. A year later, they went to visit him and the pictures of their reunion must surely be one of the most emotional scenes I have ever seen.
I have just looked at it again and it still brings tears to me eyes.

To see for yourself, go to You Tube and search for "Christian Lion". I would be very surprised if you can resist buying the DVD as I did!

A truly heartwarming story which must surely be unique and could never happen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian The Lion at world's end, 29 April 2009
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
A fantastic account of a beautiful relationship made between animal and human together with the almost impossible challenge of taking Christian back to the wild which when viewing this film completely captures your attention. My husband had seen the edited version on TV a few weeks back which I had unfortunately missed, hence the reason why I had purchased the DVD. Would highly recommend viewing of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian - the lion cub, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Judy CROUCHER "cat lover" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is such a beautful story. I first learned about this by watching it on TV earlier in the year. I never realised Harrods sold exotic pets in the 1960s. Two students bought Christian in the 1960s from Harrods to give it a home and it was when Christian started to grow bigger they realised they would have to find him a home and contacted Virginia McKenna. With her help they met George Adamson and with their help they were able to let him roam freely. A year later the two students returned to meet up with George Adamson and as soon as Christian saw them he recognised them. What a wonderful welcome. So beautiful.

At the same time I bought this I bought The Lionman dvds. He is another incredible man with a cat sanctuary in New Zealand. Excellent partners with Christian dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEATURE LENGTH FILM ABOUT THE REHABILITATION OF A LONDON LION TO THE WILD, 26 Dec 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC] (DVD)
Christian the lion has been made famous by a YouTube clip which has attracted over 50,000,000 hits.

This film is the original release from the early Seventies from where the clip was lifted, telling the story in detail of how Aussies Ace and John bought a lion from Harrods, raised him together and then travelled with him to Africa to place him in the care of George Adamson.

The film is heartwarming and the story is unique - Christian was a 'one off' when it came to his personality and his love for his owners.

Forty years on, the film itself is a little quaint, the narrative 'of its time' as indeed is the gentle music, provided by Pentangle, a lovely folk band of the era. However, it is also a wonderful snap shot of London at this time when it was still 'swinging'.

Once you have seen this, try the DVD of 'A Lion Called Christian' and the book of the same name which brings the story up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christian - the Lion at World's End [DVD] [1971] [NTSC]
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews