Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
54
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2014
thankyou A********
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Boring show. I was anticipating all the great goals and moves by ZZ, but ended up ZZZZzzzzz ( sleeping )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2007
I must admit to being disappointed by this film. Other reviewers have mentioned the Sky Sports Interactive Player Cam with reference to this film and I can see why. The whole film is just like watching a football match using this feature and a two year old end of season La Liga match at that.All we see are close up and body shots of Zidane in action as an over the hill Real side take on Villareal at the Bernabeu. I didnt see anything particularly arty about this film and I discovered little new about Zidane from it.Even the muzak from Mogwai and the subtitled quotes from ZZ added little to the film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
Don't expect to see much football in this movie because 90% of the time all you see are head-shots and waist-up shots of Zidane chasing the ball. On the few occasions when he gets possession you have wider shots where the cameras track his action, but this is seldom. What the movie illustrates is how lonely and ofter frustrated he is during the game. The movie could be called 'The Loneliness of the Long Distance Footballer' because as the cameras isolate him from the rest of the players you see how little emotional interaction or actual dialogue he exchanges with his own players; how he often calls for the ball and doesn't receive it; how little he actually shouts for the ball; mostly he just raises his arm, asking for the favour of a pass. I first saw this movie at the local cinema, and a large contingent from a local youth team had come to see the master in action. About half of them left before the movie was over, and not one person I talked to afterwards had a kind word to say for the people behind the movie. Zizou was most definitely a footballing genius. This movie is most definitely NOT a football movie.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
Let me start by saying I love ZZ although his reputation is overblown in my view. But for sure, he is up there with Berkhamp and Cantona, as one of the best attacking midfielders of all time. Nevertheless, he is still a human being, not a god or a saint, as this pretentious hagiography tries to portray him. This film is well, absolutely awful. Wow, look at the way ZZ runs, stubs his boots into the grass, clicks his heels together, and cor, look at the way he flobs his spit. Yes, let's watch him spit again...and again. In a largely uneventful and tedious game, ZZ doesn't even play particularly well apart from one run and cross which leads to a tap in headed goal - a run where no one challenges him as if it was pre planned for him to create a goal (in the EPL he would never get away with an unchallenged long dribble like that). To top it off he is red carded at the end for losing his rag over nothing as far as I can make out! It's an anti-climax that is entirely appropriate, and in keeping with the whole film.

ZZ comes across as completely flat and has the on field presence and charisma of a blade of grass. He never speaks to his team mates (apart from the occasional 'hey, hey',) is moody and sullen throughout and all in all looks like he is having as much fun as watching paint dry - which is about as exciting as this so called 'portrait' is. Some may call this his mystical aura or zen like concentration on display - well, fair enough but to to he just looks fed up and as if he is thinking about his dinner after the game. Which is what I should have been doing instead of watching this truly dreadful arthouse pretentious dull as ditchwater nonsense. The best part of the film are the brief and occasional glimpses of Becks who at least looks like he is trying and from what I can tell plays pretty well - certainly he seems to have more influence on the game than ZZ, and tries to calm him down at the end before ZZ goes and gets himself pointlessly sent off by the ref. This is so far up the backside of ZZ they may as well had the 17 cameras right up there, where the sun don't shine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2007
I am a true football fan and love Zidane and any real skillful player.

This documentary is just rubbish. It tries too hard to be stylish and clever but missed the whole point about Zidane.

Save you money and get a real football dvd/video on maradona, pele or the world cup

Zidane is not the problem, this MTV styles showreel is !!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2007
The director of this movie must have been high or retarded for making the most boring and incomprehensible piece of "football documentary" ever. The mere idea of filming solely Zidane is laughable as there was almost no commentary, save very few subtitled passages which apparently were those of Zidane's, and there is no way of getting any sense of the game that was played. It offered no insight to Zidane's world or to any pro athlete, and I seriously regret byuing this DVD despite being a big Zidane fan.

Do not buy this trash, you can have my copy for free.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2008
Undoubtedly one of the true greats of football a player who could turn a match, light up the stadium with a touch of magic or a trick. Why then make a film which follows the player in close up when he is definitely past his best imminently retiring from football showing his bald pate, expressionless sunken eyes, sweaty face, grunting managing only a few tricks in his own half unable to run past defenders in a meaningful position playing in probably the slowest league drawing fouls, diving. I would rather watch this if the dvd was renamed Christiano Ronaldo a player who recently scored a hatrick and a fantatastic freekick and I am not even a Man U fan but he is a player who all fans like to watch someone whom you know you can't take your eyes off because you don't know what he will do next capable of scoring goals most strikers would only dream of.......Could only manage 16 mins then fast forward through the rest to the last few mins......

I think this shows what a nightmare being the manager must have been with so many untouchables Beckham, Raul, Roberto Carlos, Ronaldo, all great players but long past their prime thankfully most have been swept out; it ain't good to overstay your welcome at a party.

I only gave 1 star for the music by Mogwai at the beginning of the film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2007
I was expecting an insight into the life of Zidane, a biography. I don't read reviews or a synopsis as I find it sometimes spoils the film. After the first 10 minutes I thought no surely not so started fast-forwarding. Yep, the whole film follows Zidane around a football pitch. Some of the subtitled comments by Zidane were intriguing and you can admire the quality and originality of the cinematography but not for a whole 90 mins!! I'm sure many critics find this film 'spellbinding' or whatever but I've really got better things to do with my time. Not great Art. Poor.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)