Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and uplifting experience
The best portrayal of Autism on screen I have ever seen. This is a tour de force from Sigourney Weaver as Linda, in her finest role, a role that is both funny and tragic in equal measure. She has perfectly captured the abrupt but innocent and logic driven mentality of someone with ASD. Alan Rickman is also excellent as the laconic ex-con who is forced upon Linda's world...
Published on 2 Feb. 2007 by Satchmo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Got it and lent it to a friend and never ...
Got it and lent it to a friend and never got back to be able to read but heard it is good
Published 2 months ago by Sharon Jones


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and uplifting experience, 2 Feb. 2007
By 
Satchmo "Satchmo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
The best portrayal of Autism on screen I have ever seen. This is a tour de force from Sigourney Weaver as Linda, in her finest role, a role that is both funny and tragic in equal measure. She has perfectly captured the abrupt but innocent and logic driven mentality of someone with ASD. Alan Rickman is also excellent as the laconic ex-con who is forced upon Linda's world through a tragedy.

The film is beautifully and gently paced and as the father of a daughter with ASD I found it refreshing to find such an uplifting and accurate portrayal of the condition.

Just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please buy this beautiful film, 17 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
This was the best film in 2006 I saw. The performances are amazing, the story beautiful. It is basically about being comfortable in your own skin by overcoming your inner demons. Snow Cake was not recognised at all at the Golden Globes, BAFTAs and probably not the Oscars - it is their loss - they are all stupid for not recognising this amazing and powerful film!!! Be apart of this experience and sit back and enjoy and get lost in Snow Cake - how "dazlious"!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent drama, 3 Mar. 2007
By 
M. Pothecary (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
This film gives excellent portrayal of the idiosyncratic personality of a person who is autistic, how they relate to the world around them, and interact with the people who come into their lives.

I though that Sigourney Weaver was completely believable in her depiction of Linda. Alan Richman was wonderful as the tortured Alex, who gained spiritually from his brief relationship with Linda.

I thought is was a powerful, and moving story that anyone who is interested in autism should watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real treat!, 10 Feb. 2007
By 
F. Proctor "Wildfrank" (Plymouth. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Yet another film with world class performances from all the actors that hasn't recieved the accolades it should.

Alan Rickman delivers a subtle, sad performance with a vein of humour and pathos that is a treat to watch.

Sigourney Weaver kicks Rain Man into touch with a truly mesmerising screen presence that I feel privilaged to have seen.

Carrie-Ann Moss is superb and all the other actors are marvelous, especially Emily Hampshire who delivers a full and wonderful performance. This is a quality film and my hat goes off to the writer Angela Pell for a moving story.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars autistic spectrum??, 3 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Fantastic film SW portraying an independant austic adult. We all know there are different levels of austism. Absolutely fantastic and well researched by this professional actress. Knowing many people with this level of autism it brought a happy smile to our faces relating to these mannerism shown by SW. Well Done!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever, 3 Feb. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
This is the best film I have seen in such a long, long time. It is beautifully done and with a little humour. The actors are brilliant and I congratulate Weaver for her studying and befriending an autistic woman in the UK for her inspiration - it certainly paid off in the film.

I can't enthuse about this production enough - it should have won awards - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sensitive, understated - see it!, 4 Sept. 2007
By 
Joanne Sheppard (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
This film is a real gem - funny, understated, touching and sensitively written, played and directed.

Sigourney Weaver is outstanding as Linda, an autistic woman whose daughter has been killed in a car accident while Alex (Alan Rickman) was giving her a lift across Canada. I found her performance extremely convincing and disagree entirely with the reviewer here who suggested that it was unrealistic and failed to show how debilitating austism can be - Linda is supposed to a relatively 'high functioning' autistic person, with a degree of understanding of her own condition and why she is different from other people that she meets, rather than the monosyllabic stereotype portrayed in 'Rain Man'. However, the fact that she is unable to express her grief for her own daughter, and the degree to which the film shows every day life is affected by her condition, is certainly (while subtly) indicative of the problems Linda faces every day.

Excellent though Sigourney Weaver is in the role of Linda, the best performance in this film comes from Alan Rickman as Alex, who finds himself grieving, for the second time, for a young person barely known to him. Alex is by nature reserved, a man who keeps himself to himself, and in the hands of a lesser actor the role might have become lost in contrast to Weaver's eccentric Linda. However, this really is a stand-out performance from Alan Rickman as the sarcastic, awkward, self-deprecating, occasionally morose but never self-pitying Alex, who finds himself marooned in a small town in Canada when Linda demands that he stay to take on her dead daughter's role of taking out the rubbish on a Tuesday. It would be easy for the character to become an implausibly saintly figure, but Rickman manages to balance kindness and irritability, tolerance and impatience in his touching and plausible portrayal of the troubled Alex. Despite the fact that Linda was clearly the character in the worst predicament, I found that it was Alex's future I cared about most in the closing frames, which is high praise for Alan Rickman's portrayal.

Carrie-Anne Moss is perhaps slightly less likeable as Linda's next door neighbour, but is convincing nevertheless and the on-screen chemistry with Rickman is excellent. Emily Hampshire as Linda's daughter Vivienne has a small role but plays it exceptionally well - we care about her character and feel that we know her despite her short time on screen, and it is easy to believe that she could be Sigourney Weaver's daughter.

When I finished watching this film, I found myself already looking forward to watching it again. It's a low-budget British-Canadian co-production, and its exploration of its subject is worlds apart from the schmaltzy treatment this screenplay would have got in Hollywood. Please see it!

PS... the DVD extras include a short 'Making Of' film and deleted scenes. The deleted scenes are well worth watching as they do increase our understanding of the characters relationships, and the 'Making Of' film includes intelligent analysis from the director and cast. Watch out for Rickman's dry remark about the 'lack of distraction' in small town Canada, too - it reveals how much of Alan Rickman there is in Alex!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film. New found respect for the actors involved!, 19 Jan. 2007
By 
EJB (wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
This was a beautifuly constructed and orcastrated film, delivering the story in a gentle yet forceful manner. Weaver is truely believable in her role and has given me a new found respect for her as an actor!!

The film moves gently, often lulling you into a restful security before giving you something to laugh about or be shocked by. I thought about this film for some time afterwards.

A quiet, gentle film, full of emotion and joy. Well worth a watch.

Don't expect a huge story with plot twists or excitement though. I'm sure many will call this Weaver's 'Rain Man'. She deserves the recognition!!

Alan Rickman is also perfect in his role. Himself, a lost sole who finds a new quality in life through his time with Weaver's character.

Beautiful!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could watch it over and over again!, 8 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
As someone with high functioning autism myself I think Linda was great. This film tells it like it is; we are not really nutty, we CAN cope by ourselves, we just have some amusing little 'quirks' that make us different. I hope everyone who sees this film gets a better understanding of the people that we are, we just like honesty and straightforwardness. Linda shows this when a townsperson gives condolences on the 'loss' of her daughter. As Linda rightly points out she's not lost, she's dead. Alan Rickman is great in this too and often comes across with the same sort of bemused exasperation when dealing with Linda and her ways that I see on my husbands face when I have done something 'peculiar' yet again. This film will make you laugh, cry, and totally endear you to both Linda and Alex. I also can't go past mentioning the daughter, Vivienne. What a cool chick! Shame she died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beats rain man hands down, 20 Mar. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
I have an autistic daughter also high functioning and was impressed with the accuracy of a lot of the character's behaviour, however, just with Rain Man, it is easy to fall into the trap of thinking that this character typifies an autistic person. All autistic people are just as much individuals as the rest of us and their behaviour will reflect that. Autism is a spectrum, some people function well on their own, others need help.

I think it is brilliant that at last someone as tackled the topic of autism on the big screen. Only one disappointing thing, the soundtrack is unavailable to buy, the music is fantastic!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow Cake [DVD] (2006)
Snow Cake [DVD] (2006) by Marc Evans (DVD - 2007)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews