Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting
Anyone who's seen this movie must surely know that it's an instant classic, something which is carried over to this fantastic soundtrack. I'm not good with words, but this must surely be one of the most beautiful OST's I've ever owned, and will remain on my CD player for quite some time to come.
Published on 16 Mar. 2007 by MR S WILLS

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen the film..
If you've enjoyed the film you would have no doubt been affected by the soundtrack which is simply lovely. Philip Glass fans will love it, Arvo- Part fans will cringe. Just make sure you're ready for bed before you put it on!
Published on 2 May 2008 by D. E. Potts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 16 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
Anyone who's seen this movie must surely know that it's an instant classic, something which is carried over to this fantastic soundtrack. I'm not good with words, but this must surely be one of the most beautiful OST's I've ever owned, and will remain on my CD player for quite some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Jewel of a Soundtrack (Muy bien!), 29 Aug. 2008
By 
Calvin Scholtz (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
I first saw "El Laberinto del Fauno" ("Pan's Labyrinth", if you insist, although director Guillermo Del Toro has pointed out that the Faun in the film is NOT Pan!), in Spanish class at University, and the thing that haunted me most about the film was the music: in particular, the main theme.

Even so, buying the soundtrack to a non-Hollywood film was still unusual for me, but where I live, good film scores are hard to come by and this one just happened to appear in a local CD store, so I bought it, and boy was I glad that I did.

As is explained in the liner notes and in the DVD's special features, Del Toro wanted the main theme to be a simple lullaby melody, reflecting the fairy tale nature of the story. Javier Navarette succeeded not only in this, but also in crafting a beautiful score that seems to emanate from the main theme.

It is both enchanting when it accompanies the curiosity and mystery of the fairy tale, and harsh and disturbing when it conveys the evils present in both the fantasy and the reality. The main theme, the lullaby, permeates all of the music, but there are also other themes, like one that represents Mercedes' courage and another to reflect the tragic deaths in the story.

I find it difficult to describe the music as it is unlike anything I have heard before, but in a good way. Also, the CD does not suffer from the fluctuating recording levels that I always encounter in `Hollywood soundtracks': what I mean is, the sound is balanced and you don't have to keep adjusting it for loud and soft parts.

An added bonus, as del Toro points out in the liner notes, is that this CD is in effect a `complete recording', as it includes all of the music composed for the film, even those pieces not used in the film: this mainly comprises music to accompany the fighting sequences, but there is also music for Ofelia and the Faun's first meeting together.

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by this soundtrack, and it is now one of my firm favourites. For fans of the Hollywood composers, Zimmer, Elfman, Williams, et al., give Javier Navarette a try and prepare to be transported into a fairy tale where light and dark wage a bloody, but ultimately redeeming, battle for the soul of a princess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful score, 4 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
Javier Navarrete's wonderful and haunting score for 'Pan's Labyrinth' will certainly please fans of the film. The disc itself is well presented with an illustrated booklet with a forward by both del Toro and Navarrete. I would definately reccomend this item. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fairytale of old., 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
Javier's work on this soundtrack mixes fantasy and the harsh reality of conflict incredibly well. Using a child’s lullaby as the central theme weaves the story into a tale of fantastic beauty, touched with horror, like a true fairytale.
The music brings the final horrific and fantastical scene to life in the film, and brings a tear to your eye as you listen on the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, haunting score which should have received the Oscar., 10 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic score. It's rich and deeply moving, and perfectly suited to the visual styles of the film it was written for. It's a shame the CD, which does have a lot of tracks on it, isn't quite the complete score, but it's not lacking in the way many do. I really think Javier Navarrete should have got the Academy Award in 2007, it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magnifico!, 30 July 2009
By 
R. Goolaup - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
I knew it was going to be awesome. I am a huge fan of the movie and this bewitching soundtrack complements the movie perfectly. Highly recommended!!! Product-wise, reached on time, in perfect condition, excellent service overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pan's Labyrinth, 27 Sept. 2008
By 
Am Sanders (Cambridge,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
A magical soundtrack to a truly magical film.Like all the best scores,the main theme will be buzzing around your head long after you've switched off the cd player.Stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen the film.., 2 May 2008
By 
D. E. Potts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth (Audio CD)
If you've enjoyed the film you would have no doubt been affected by the soundtrack which is simply lovely. Philip Glass fans will love it, Arvo- Part fans will cringe. Just make sure you're ready for bed before you put it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pan's Labyrinth
Pan's Labyrinth by Javier Navarrete (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews