Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2010
If you have never heard about fado, this is an extremely good introduction. It is mainly about the career of Amália Rodrigues, who was the Queen of Fado in the twentieth century, as Mariza may become the Queeen of Fado in the twenty first. Amália's gifted voice is breathtaking. She was a masterful singer. And you can listen to other great fado performers too.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
Got this for my mum as she adores fado, it was perfect, all the greatest fado of all time are on there.

Perfect gift for a fado lover.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
never mind the bargain price...this is a superb collection of a much undervalued genre performed by the queen of Fado. Cannot recommended too highly
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
I'm portuguese and I can say that is the best music collection of FADO that I ever see. Great classics mix with great contemporary singers. And the best of all, AMÁLIA RODRIGUES (best FADO singuer ever) all hits. If you like FADO don't miss this collection.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
Super recordings. Even if you can't understand all the words, well-sung fado comes across as the beautiful laments that they are. In Amalia Rodrigues' voice they are stunning; if you like fado, they'll raise the hairs on the back of your neck!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
This two disc version combines a complete disc-full of Amalia Rodriques - the greatest performer of Fado - as well as being crucial to Fado's development and it's place in the worldwide history of music.
The second disc is full of an amazing selection of some of the other great Fado performers.
The recordings are good too - not the depth or detail of those made on modern equipment, but I'm sure that the oldest recordings have been remastered so that they're clean and musical.
Listening pleasure - that only grows.
Now to save up for a Coimbra Guitarra...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
This selection highlights the range of one of the most famous fado singers ever. If you love fado, you will like this. The songs were evidently recorded some considerable time ago, so perhaps do not sound so fresh as newer recordings by modern artists, but that is not a drawback for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
A fabulous CD, wonderful music & singing, takes us right back to a atmospheric restaurant in Madeira where we listened to a family group.
Brilliant value, we are only recent converts to the gorgeous sound of Fado, but this CD is just wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Its a pity mine kept jumping on CD number 5, I got a complete refund from the seller and a friend bought me another set. The songs are filled with passion,heart break,loss.love and laughter She sang from the heart ,amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Hoooo amalia Rodrigues the big voice of Portuguese fado I love amalia Rodrigues very old music I recommend for people who love fado
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.94
£21.91
£6.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)