Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with the arcade versions now
The Metal Slug arcade machines are notorious for being unbelievably hard. It's not uncommon to find yourself feeding well over $10 into a machine just to finish the game. Multiply that by 7 and you might come close to even $100 if you are playing with a partner.

Instead, invest your dough in the Metal Slug Anthology. The games are perfect arcade emulations and...
Published on 7 Nov. 2007 by Inspector Gadget

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a great classic but nothing really new
i will only give this review based on the fact its metal slug on wii. a great classic but nothing really new, as for an arcade game i was hoping to be able to use my arcade stick, huge disappointment on that note. for metal slug fans i recommend but as for arcade style a sideways wiimote doesnt cut it.
Published 1 month ago by L. Kinslow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with the arcade versions now, 7 Nov. 2007
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
The Metal Slug arcade machines are notorious for being unbelievably hard. It's not uncommon to find yourself feeding well over $10 into a machine just to finish the game. Multiply that by 7 and you might come close to even $100 if you are playing with a partner.

Instead, invest your dough in the Metal Slug Anthology. The games are perfect arcade emulations and you get infinite continues. They are still very, very hard and you'll never finish a single level with all of your stats intact, but it's a fun ride nonetheless. Some of the games can be a bit samey and you'll finish them all in about an hour. But for chaotic, button-bashing mayhem with loads of explosions and firepower, you can't go wrong with Metal Slug.

Graphics A
Sound B
Gameplay B
Lasting Appeal B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acrade shooting, 31 Oct. 2007
By 
Levi Minett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
this game really is great fun. its simple button bashing at its best. you get 7 games all with there own wacky storylines and you get to play them muiltplayer 2! the only problem with this game is that its to short, but the games do have great replay value. another must have for the wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you need!, 6 April 2007
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
This is an excellent game for the Nintendo Wii! There are 7 games in total and non of them disappoint! They are all extremely fun to play and the controls for each game are great, depending on what you choose as your controls as you can use gamecube controller, wiimote with nunchunk, or just the wiimote on its own or the nunchunk on its own and have the choice to have the buttons used to do different functions, but from what I have used they are smooth and easy to get into. The graphics are good and the gameplay is excellent and fun to play! There is blood in the game too which makes it better...haha...but awesome game to play for the Wii and even at [...]its still a bargin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem!, 18 Dec. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
I stumbled upon the Metal Slug series by accident and I have to say im really gutted to have missed out on such a great series of games for so many years. I played Metal Slug 1 as it is part of the SNK Arcade Classics compilation (also available on Wii) and loved it. Within a few weeks I had Anthology in my collection and since then ive had hours and hours of fun out of it. It does take time to advance to a skill level good enough to play reasonably well (when I was new to the game I was dying every 10 seconds!) but it is enjoyable slowly getting better and better at it by familiarising yourself with the level layouts and learning the enemies attack patterns etc.

Also a notable point is that the graphics on this game is unbelievable when you consider it was made on the Neo Geo, a console made in 1990! (a console little know to me until recently and have become a huge fan of) The animation is fluid and each level is packed with little details most of which will make you laugh. The games included in this collection range from 1996-2006 but dont let that put you off as these play as good if not better than most games do today.

The only down side I would say this game has is in the control schemes. I would recommend using a gamecube controller if you have one as this set up is the best by far. The other schemes (such as the Wii remote on the side) does allow you a reasonably fun game but to really get the best from this game for me a gamecube controller is a must. That small point aside, I think this collection is a real gem and im glad im now a fan of these games (even if I am 14 years late!)

I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who's a fan of side scrolling shooters (especially Serious Sam fans as its how I would imagine Serious Sam to be in 2D!) as this will probably be amongst the best you'll play. Im wagering that if you're a fan you probably have these already anyway! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ven Games in One - Side Scrolling Bliss, 13 Feb. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
Metal Slug Anthology provides Metal Slugs 1, 2, X, 3, 4, 5 and 6 all in one package. There are a few extras as well, including artwork and text interviews.

This includes every Metal Slug game made, and includes the brand new, never seen Metal Slug 6. In Metal Slug 6, the enemies of the old games join forces with you against a new, nasty enemy. You also get new characters - the Ikari Warriors Clark and Ralf from the Kingdom Fighter game.

There are varying levels of difficulty, and also a variety of controller setups to choose from. For example, in one mode you hold the Wii controller sideways, use the buttons to move and fire, but have to actually make a throwing motion with your hand to launch a grenade. Be sure to experiment with all of the different controller styles for a little while to figure out which one best suits your style. It's going to be an adjustment no matter which one you go with, compared with the old style standard controller with lots of button pressing. Yes, it'll be annoying at first. Just tough it out through that period and soon it'll start to seem second nature to do the movements.

The graphics are typical Metal Slug, which means they're not incredibly detailed close-ups of human style faces - they are just flying bullets, scrolling landscapes and lots of explosions. Really, you don't play Metal Slug to ogle at finely detailed castles and flowing capes. You play it to blast away thousands of bullets at a never ending stream of enemies, alone or with a friend. These are the types of games where you have a buddy over for the afternoon, sit down for a few hours with a bowl of popcorn and rip through an entire game for fun. It's mindless, it's relaxing, and it's satisfying to win the game.

If you're a fan of the previous games, it's of course great fun to play Metal Slug 6, with its all new enemies, storyline, and levels. If you've memorized all the previous games and levels, this gives you a new challenge to take on. If you've not played the others before, you can catch up on the entire franchise all on one game disc. It's pretty amazing that you can get seven full different games on one disc, for one price.

There's still no speech, but they do provide cut scenes to give you a sense of the story that is unfolding. Easy mode gives unlimited machine gun fire but not as many reward tokens - graduate up to harder mode to get the standard pistol fire as your default and to unlock secrets more quickly.

It's a little frustrating when you take on the enemies, because they do not flash to show you if you're hitting an area that can actually take damage. Still, that's a minor complaint in a game this fun. Highly recommended for old school side scrolling fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good fun- plus you can use a gamecube controller!, 18 Jun. 2007
By 
B. Morgan (UK, Worcester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
Well, i was unsure about this game when i got it, but it is really, really, good fun. The basic formula is a 2D action game, which has excellent controls plus over 6 control types! It's really good fun playing all 7 games, especially with a friend, and should be a welcome addition to any wii owners collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for Fans of the Arcade version!, 3 Aug. 2009
By 
nicci "nic" (ayrshire, scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
This is a great game if you are a fan of the arcade version, graphic's are the same quality as the original arcade version at the time so some might think they are poor but i prefer 'retro'. Quite easy to complete but as its an anthology there are still other games on the disc to keep you going. Very good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a great classic but nothing really new, 30 Mar. 2015
By 
L. Kinslow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
i will only give this review based on the fact its metal slug on wii. a great classic but nothing really new, as for an arcade game i was hoping to be able to use my arcade stick, huge disappointment on that note. for metal slug fans i recommend but as for arcade style a sideways wiimote doesnt cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
Metal Slug is probably one of the greatest arcade games ever and this collection is perfect for a fan or someone who wants to try the games out. Be warned though, These games are notoriously difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mean machines!, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) (Video Game)
can anyone guess the original, officially licenced Nintendo release date of this superb disc?

prob not......https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51QZIVDI96L._SS300_.jpg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Slug Anthology (Wii)
Metal Slug Anthology (Wii) by Namco Bandai (Nintendo Wii)
Used & New from: £21.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews