Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted and compelling.
Bruce Willis is one of those actors from whom you expect great things without there being any particular logic behind the inclination, after all, he makes some decidedly average films. I had heard that Tears of the Sun was a less than excellent exposition of the action man's talents and so I started to watch this film ready fortified for the expected ensuing...
Published on 9 Mar. 2004 by J. Neal

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie...but
This movie is good, no question about that, but the problem I have with it is that it used a country that's relatively peaceful, Nigeria is striving country and really doing well. The reason why they choose Nigeria is beyond me, even though they never actually filmed in Nigeria, they could have choosed a country that's really going through hell (like Zimbabwe) to show the...
Published on 6 July 2008 by O. Oyelami


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted and compelling., 9 Mar. 2004
By 
J. Neal "jneal" (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Bruce Willis is one of those actors from whom you expect great things without there being any particular logic behind the inclination, after all, he makes some decidedly average films. I had heard that Tears of the Sun was a less than excellent exposition of the action man's talents and so I started to watch this film ready fortified for the expected ensuing disappointment.
As it turned out, I shouldn't have bothered, because as the film progressed, I became increasingly optimistic. Quite apart from the fact that the story was well crafted, I was completely unprepared for the stunning cinematrography, the beautiful cut-away shots of jungle flora and fauna and the excellent soundtrack. In many ways, this is a movie that didn't require Bruce Willis, and perhaps it's the big name lead that caused all the fuss and disappointment, since it's no star vehicle, but even so, Willis doesn't in any way disappoint. The tale is gripping and tense, there's plenty of action and the subject matter is compelling if at times, upsetting.
So, I was pleasantly surprised by this movie, although I'm still not sure if my overall impression would be much changed by having greater hopes for it before it began, I guess a second viewing is in order to make sure, but I cannot in any way see how anyone would find this movie dull or hateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Film, 14 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears of the Sun [DVD] (DVD)
Best film i've seen in a long time. Didn't think it was going to be all that but thought I'd watch it anyway and was completely blown away. Watched it with my 14 year old son, even he said it was amazing. Good, fast delivery from supplier too. Excellent purchase, very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, moving and gripping, 9 May 2010
This review is from: Tears of the Sun [DVD] (DVD)
I tend to find most people who give rave reviews for films that otherwise get cynical receptions are simply two dimensional, lazy viewers. I would not consider myself one of these, so please hear me out. Yes, I do enjoy action films, and yes, sometimes I like to zone out. But this film stands apart from the pack for the effort, realisim and sheer powerful, fearful drama that goes into it. The film literally tips, from being a generic, not too great action film to being one of the most suspenseful climaxes I have ever seen. I've referenced this film in some of my other reviews for the 'edge of the seat' feeling as it ends. Arguably one of my favourite films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ehh ... why the missing scenes?, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
MarmiteMan (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears Of The Sun [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Already had the DVD of this film and thoroughly enjoyed it, as have most fellow reviewers here, and happily give this action-packed but still poignant drama five stars.

No, this review concerns the Blu-ray edition I purloined a few days ago. Audio is a bit better, whilst stubble and beads of sweat are very clearly depicted, showing the efficacy of high-definition ... but WHY have several scenes been DELETED? Such as the closing scene of Arthur, now acknowledged as legal successor, addressing his fellow refugees at the Camerounian border; as Bruce & Co. take off in the helicopter, only Arthur’s fist and “Freedom!” are shown. These missing scenes are available in the Special Features, Deleted Scenes option ... but one is missing entirely: the scene where the victorious rebel leaders discuss which political bloc to turn to, The West, Russia or China. The other language option is Dutch, so am wondering if this is a ‘peculiarity of import.’

Am keeping my DVD; it is the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, 3 May 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly underrated and poorly advertised masterpiece. Exposing the true horrors of war, exposes a unfamiliar side of Bruce Willis, a caring loving side.
Although at times deeply disturbing and horrific, some of the scenes are incredibly moving.
The balance obtained in this film is superb, between action drama and tagedy..
A superb piece of work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Rambo but more believable, 22 May 2009
By 
Mr. Matthew Sheen "MattSheen" (Chester, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When i bought this film i didn't know what to expect. Was it going to be another Rambo, single man army takes on a whole entire country's forces or was it going to be more like Mel Gibson's We Were Soldiers, a group of guys fighting for what they believe is right, as true to life as is possible in Hollywood.

What you get infact is something directly in the middle. Very similar in storyline to the latest Rambo film but far more believable than the one man army. You can buy into the characters, you can understand why they are there and why they make the choices they make. Bruce Willis is far less wooden than Stallone which adds to the film as a whole.

I'd say to anybody who likes action films that they should give this a look. Maybe not for the war movie purists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best War Movie Made for years..., 19 Sept. 2010
I thought this film was filmed amazingly, had a serious and good plot and was generally a fantastic and powerful film. It doesn't have the usual Hollywood crap (well, maybe at the end), and i think it is just generally better made than most other war films out there at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Willis action on Blu Ray !, 17 Nov. 2009
By 
Ronnie Rosbotham (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tears Of The Sun [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Treat this movie as an example of a Bruce Willis "action vehicle" and you'll enjoy the experience. In truth there is a bit more character development and story than in many action movies, but it's appeal will be mainly for the many well done action set pieces.

Picture and sound quality are superb on Blu Ray and are well ahead of the standard definition DVD. If you like this movie and have a Blu Ray player then this is definitely one disc you should upgrade to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-valued, 19 Mar. 2005
A surprising blend of drama, action and storytelling. For some reason this film was dismissed by critics as being standard action fare. Perhaps this is one reason why I enjoyed it so much. Having expectations of a dull, hero worship, sub-Die Hard movie, this couldn't have been more involving. Bruce Willis is desperately mis-judged by so many critics, as his performance here (as in Sixth Sense and Pulp Fiction) is controlled and wonderfully paced. He never goes for the easy action-man persona, instead he inflicts his character with pathos, regret and conflict towards his own life, career and actions.
With the military aspects so well demonstrated and a fine supporting cast, it is impossible not to be caught up in the ever-changing storyline.
A deep, disturbing menace from the enemy runs through the movie, instilling the desired amount of support for Willis and his squad. This means that by the time you reach the huge finale, you never really know where the movie will end. You know what you want, but this movie has had enough shocks already to unsettle the viewer.
Messages from the makers are obvious but never forced. The horrors of genocide are clear to see, but the reaction from the US Forces is controlled, ordered and official. Well, until a gut-wrenching dilemma forces Willis to re-assess his orders and his response.
A mammoth success. All the better for being disregarded by pompous critics. You don't need huge box office when a film is this good. It simply stands the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Bruce's best, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Robert Potter "mojowire" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears Of The Sun [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have always loved this film, which has new resonance against the current (2014) tribal warfare going on in the Central African Republic.. It's sort of about the Biafra war, yet not, since the time frame is wrong; but there is a civil war in Nigeria, in which the dastardly Fulani have staged a coup, killing the Igbo president and all his family, and slaughtering Christian Igbos everywhere. Bruce and his team of Navy Seals are sent in, as part of an internation rescue effort, to get westeners out. Specifically, they have to rescue a (female) doctor, who refuses to go unless she can take the people from her mission with her. Naturally, this is a non-runner: but Bruce has a change of heart, and they all set off, on foot, for the Cameroon border. The Seals, at first a bit quizzical about all this, eventually come to see their charges as people, and buy into the deal.

They hit various problems on the way, including some particularly nasty ethnic cleansing, and are vigorously pursued by the bad guys (there is a reason for this, but I won't spoil the suspense). Obviously, Bruce gets through - he is Bruce, after all - but not everybody does, and the action bits are jolly good.

An excellent action film which, at the margins, usefully exposes the nastiness of civil war.
A rattling good yarn, IMHO, which, in the margins, explores the evils of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tears Of The Sun [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
Tears Of The Sun [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] by Antoine Fuqua (Blu-ray - 2007)
£6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews