Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play, Orkestar!
To be honest, when I think of psychedelic bands I don't usually think of Balkan folk music. But with the release of Beirut's "Gulag Orkestar," I may have to revise my thinking.

This new band consists of teenage musician Zach Condon, along with people from Neutral Milk Hotel and A Hawk and a Hacksaw, making bittersweet folkpop and danceable marches. Imagine a...
Published on 10 Feb. 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars .
Perhaps the biggest victory for the indie community last year was realising that inputting "Beirut" into Google would bring up the city second, with Zach Condon's one man band coming first. This is not only a testament to the size of the internet's music community but to the sheer power of word of mouth and hype; enabling a bedroom-based music project to overpower the...
Published on 4 Oct. 2007 by 77


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ., 4 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Gulag Orkestar (Audio CD)
Perhaps the biggest victory for the indie community last year was realising that inputting "Beirut" into Google would bring up the city second, with Zach Condon's one man band coming first. This is not only a testament to the size of the internet's music community but to the sheer power of word of mouth and hype; enabling a bedroom-based music project to overpower the capital city of Lebanon. Impressive indeed, and perhaps that goes someway to explaining why I've always imagined Gulag Orkestar to be a celebration of some sort. I still don't believe Beirut to be the second coming of the much famed NMH (my mum's description of "mafia wedding music" seems more fitting) but listening to the album a year after its release suggests that it requires more than a passing glance in the history of indie rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music from the Balcans by Zac Condon, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
A. Fiori "Miss Flowers" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gulag Orkestar / Lon Gisland EP (Audio CD)
From balcanic sounds as a starting point, there are many possibilities, surely more than even Goran Bregovic can imagine. Beirut proof us so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only one track we liked., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gulag Orkestar / Lon Gisland EP (Audio CD)
Not as expected. Only one track we liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stumbled across by chance, 30 Jun. 2007
By 
J. Hutt "Indie Kid" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gulag Orkestar / Lon Gisland EP (Audio CD)
I have to admit, this time last week I hadn't even heard of Beirut (unless you're talking about the capital of Lebanon). Whilst at Glastonbury Festival this year, I was drawn to this music emanating from the Jazzworld Stage.

It caught my attention because it was different, the sound of various brass instruments, the odd mandolin and accordion fused together to create to what appears (in mind) to sound like something you'd expect in Eastern Europe (I believe they originate from the USA).

A fantastic album all-round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gulag Orkestar / Lon Gisland EP (Audio CD)
One of their best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gulag Orkestar [VINYL] (Vinyl)
it is so nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gulag Orkestar / Lon Gisland EP (Audio CD)
great love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the most disappointing album I ever knew, 3 Oct. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gulag Orkestar (Audio CD)
I am and was VERY sorry to waste my time, money and hope bying this piece of "music". Please, please, if you REALLY WANT to listen to some unique music in an Eastern European style, DO NOT BOTHER wasting your money for that sort of weak immitation. Really, really a waste of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gulag Orkestar / Lon Gisland EP
Gulag Orkestar / Lon Gisland EP by Beirut (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews