Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A change for The Haunted
The Jack Glass reviewer doesn't know much about the band. The "new vocalist" is Peter Dolving, the ORIGINAL vocalist, and he returned on the last album "rEVOLVEr", not this one.

Still, this is a different approach for the band. Not so much all-out fury on this one. More song-based, more melody and different vocal approaches are what sets it apart. Initally, the...
Published on 13 Oct 2006 by D. Pain

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step towards mediocrity
The first reviewer wasn't right about the vocalist being new that's true, however this album lacks punch, drifts towards american metalcore often and the thrash element is pushed to the background, which I am sure will annoy the original fanbase. As for the "depth" and "darkness" they are not pulling it off at all and only manage to sound like a mediocre metalcore band...
Published on 24 Jan 2007 by mrt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A change for The Haunted, 13 Oct 2006
By 
The Jack Glass reviewer doesn't know much about the band. The "new vocalist" is Peter Dolving, the ORIGINAL vocalist, and he returned on the last album "rEVOLVEr", not this one.

Still, this is a different approach for the band. Not so much all-out fury on this one. More song-based, more melody and different vocal approaches are what sets it apart. Initally, the changes sound unimpressive - transforming The Haunted into something more throwaway and commercial, but after a few listens the tracks reveal their true nature. Deep, complex and dark, mainly. The old Haunted thrash motifs are still here but are less up-front, blended with songs that remind me a little of Devin Townsend, Tool, Corrosion Of Conformity, old Metallica, Anthrax and others.

Great album. Don't be put off by shouts of "sell-out" ,"emo" or "metalcore" - this is none of those. This is good solid metal. Straight down the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Haunted Made Me Buy It!, 13 Aug 2007
By 
Donny "invisible" (England, South-West) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dead Eye (Audio CD)
I love the Haunted. Whilst the Haunted haven't blown the metal world apart they have been slowly and methodically racking up one solid album after another almost entirely unnoticed (when you compare them to their European or state side `metal' counterparts such as Arch Enemy, InFlames, Lamb of God etc etc) and divergent from older style thrash bands from a similar stable who are either still thrashing away doing the same old thing or who have `progressed' on to being more hardcore. I am not taken to `fan boy' musings so you can trust me when I say they have yet to make a bad album.

This one is no different, true its slightly more methodical than previous albums, the foot has been raised off the metal pedal slightly and the bludgeoning overkill guitar melody older fans (including older `At the Gates' fans) are used too is lessened slightly, the lyrics too (which are always inventive) have taken a slight change in direction (less about trauma to the soul and society and more about trauma to the planet) don't let this put you off, its still `The Haunted' through and through, with riff after riff, beat after beat. At moments I swear I can hear guitar moments a kin to `Mastodon', melodic progressive builds similar to `Tool' and aggressive thrashing on a par with latter day `Inflames'...but not in the way of some lame facsimile but made their own and genuinely enjoyable.

This isn't my favourite album but it is a dam fine one, if you like anything they have done you should get it. If you have never heard any I would say this is as good a place to start as any but would probably recommend `the haunted' or `they made me do it' instead.

A great album, from what I would say is a greatly unappreciated band, buy a copy for yourself and a friend today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boys have done good, 12 Nov 2006
first things first this does not feel like a thrash album in the conventional sense of the sound, if you want that go and buy the haunted`s first two albums as they are quite possibly the two of the best thrash albums released. this on the other hand is a very different beast of an album, for a start it is alot slower,alot more groove based and most importantly this album is ALL ABOUT DOLVING. with the highest of respect to former vocalist marco(the new facedown album is amazing) he could not have done this album. i read in terrorizer that the reveiwer discribed this as mary beats jane for 2006 and that person was spot on. big riffs,frenzied screams,desperate crys and frantic drumming and enough atmosphere and moodiness to make a horror film with this album is a sheer work of genius. cant wait to see it pulled off live should make for quite a show. go buy this right now you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Plain Immense, 13 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Dead Eye (Audio CD)
I bought this album after seeing the band a few times and hearing a few snippets of the songs. I am in no way disappointed with my purchase a strong solid metal thrash album. The music whilst being strong and heavily distorted actually turns out a melody quite regularly (yes thats right melody in the metal album!). The singing, whilst a little bit throaty, suits the music perfectly there's very little flaws to be found!

A recommended buy for people who like their metal. And this is proper metal not these punky metal hybrids coming out at the moment, definately listen to a few snippets before you buy so you know you like the genre.

Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb CD of surprising diversity & quality., 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Dead Eye (Audio CD)
If there was a very encompassing album inside The Haunted's career, then this album would likely be it. Opener "The Flood" sets the scene for a seemingly lighthearted and accessible album; but the variety of song textures and song writing changes, thankfully take the predence away from a simple streamlined effort. There is still quite a moderate, (albeit scaled back) abundance of the trademark thrashing elements, such as "The medication. This gives away to the crushing "The drowning", but the semi-ballad of "The reflection" is in my opinion the 'star of the show' with an amazingly witty and catchy chorus.

Thrash is then back on the menu with the fairly prompt "The prosecution"; "The fallout and The Medusa" progress the sound into two more memorable enterprises. Thrash is quickly dispensed again in "The Shifter", which is my favourite song of the CD. The moody ballad of "The Cynic" another welcome addition. "The failure" returns some of the former heaviness and rhythm. One final thrash attack of "The strain" ensures this work as a simply sublime one. Leaving only the final fest of "The guilt trip", to close the preceedings despite it's excessively long track length.

Production and soundwise, I have few criticisms. With a roster standard about where an album from 2005 should be, a musically ept band:- sound truly on-form, with a well defined balance of metal, mood and complimentary melody. This is certainly a vibrant and colourful album of theirs that I still consider one of they're best. Most recently, the band have progressed into the stoner /hard rock scene with they're most recent album, "Unseen"; which my opinion has left behind the gothenburg shine of 'The dead eye' at some expense.

This CD's simply an aural pleasure to listen to, and I will eagerly await to see the direction/ latest album:- "Exit Wounds" will take upon it's release in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, but good, 18 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. N. Mason "Satsujinsha" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead Eye (Audio CD)
I don't normally write any reviews but just wanted to completely and utterly agree with Donny 'invisible'. I'm a huge Haunted fan and initially I wasn't too keen on this album as it is quite different but once I gave it really is quite an amazing album. If you're having doubts about buying it I recommend having a look on youtube or myspace for some of the tracks and it will give you a good taste of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of all metal albums, this is the great one, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Eye (Audio CD)
This album is possibly the best album I have ever owned. It is hard to sum up just how good this is.
I have seen the band several times live and this is the stuff which brought the house down. Unfortunately the band have now gone their separate ways, but luckily they left us this little gem to remember them by!
Definitely a recommended album, every single track is incredible. What are you waiting for? Get it bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step towards mediocrity, 24 Jan 2007
By 
The first reviewer wasn't right about the vocalist being new that's true, however this album lacks punch, drifts towards american metalcore often and the thrash element is pushed to the background, which I am sure will annoy the original fanbase. As for the "depth" and "darkness" they are not pulling it off at all and only manage to sound like a mediocre metalcore band. Let's remember this is a thrash band meant to be making music with balls and right out in your face aggression for which many love them, well not anymore...

P.S.: check out Municipal Waste if you want to hear a new band with balls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Album, 28 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. M. I. Gow "MG" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead Eye (Audio CD)
In my opinion, At the Gates' 'Slaughter of the Soul' album is the best example of thrash metal ever created. Others argue that Slayer's 'Reign in Blood' or Sepultura's 'Arise' deserve that tag. MAybe Metallica's 'Master of Puppets' too. However, these are mostly old albums and, personally, I feel thrash metal moved onwards and upwards with the likes of Pantera and MAchine Head in the 1990's, particularly 'Vulgar Display of Power' and 'Burn my Eyes'.

Having been out of the metal scene for a while, I recently heard some stuff from 'The Haunted Made Me Do It', The Haunted's 3rd(??) album, and was very impressed. After searching out more of The Haunted, I can honestly say that they are the best exponents of thrash metal currently around and maintain an unrivalled level of songwriting across all of their previous studio albums.

This brings us to The Haunted's latest release, 'The Dead Eye'. While there is a distinct difference in style and approach from the previous four albums, I believe that this album still offers 'purist' thrash metal fans enough of what they expect. However, this album achieves much more in musical terms than being simply a superb thrash album.

Bands such as Avenged Seven Fold and Bullet for my Valentine have brought thrash metal to the MTV generation (no bad thing, in my view). However, I still think the consistency of their songwriting is questionable and perhaps they are a bit more style over substance.

This is where The Haunted's latest release really sets itself apart. As stated earlier, good songwriting is par for the course with The Haunted, but they have ditched the slightly cliched lyrical style of previous albums, which owed much to At the Gates and more traditional thrash metal bands such as Slayer, Kreator, eraly Metallica, Entombed, Death and pre Chaos AD Sepultura.

What 'The Dead Eye' does is drags superb metal songwriting kicking, screaming and berzerking into the 21st Century. Bands such as Machine Head and Pantera created their own style in the early-mid 90's, but this was a departure from traditional speed and thrash metal. 'The Dead Eye' is a long overdue modernization of a technically difficult musical style - one which is rarely accomplished.

'The Dead Eye' is the best thrash metal album I have heard since 'Slaughter of the Soul', owing to the incredible drumming, modern cutting edge riffs, thundering bass and rhythm (tight!!) and the incredible performance of Pete Dolving, the frontman. Truly a triumph, a wake up call to all these other bands, still clinging to their cliched Napalm Death and Boltthrower style images which should have died long ago.

Congratulations to The Haunted. They will undoubtedley upset many purist fans wanting rehashed old material, 'The Dead Eye' is simply a devastating, frenzied monster of an album. The freshest, most angry album since Pantera's 'Vulgar...' and an instant, absolute classic.

Best songs: All of them, but if I had to choose.

The Flood

The Medication

The Crowing

The Prosecution

The Shifter (unbelievable song).

MikeG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal like it should be!, 15 Oct 2006
This album is a lesson to others in how to write a great Metal track that can bore straight into your brain and lodge itself there for about a week!.

Alot of this album works through atmospherics with massive slab like riffage being the driving force but just when you thought they had lost their thrash edge The Medication hits you like a runaway truck just to prove they can still riff with the best of 'em!.

This is a far more varied offering than both revolver and one kill wonder with a very different approach to each track from Peter Dolving i.e using spoken word, semi sung choruses and full throated roars to created a richer vocal tapastery. Don't get me wrong its far from killswitch like harmonies in this respect but it sounds somehow fresher and more interesting in comparison to the full throttle or nothing approach of previous releases, and all in all far more listenable.

Some may see this as a bit of a dissapointing record but trust me it is very rewarding and by the 4th-5th listen you will be hooked each song is very different from the last and full of hooky lines without ever becoming sappy or whiney.

If you liked this album also try Slayer South of Heaven, the Haunted Made Me Do It and Lamb Of God Sacrament
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dead Eye
The Dead Eye by The Haunted (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews