Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unconventional but undeniably wonderful romantic comedy
It goes without saying - or maybe it doesn't - that this is not your typical romantic comedy. Most people fall in love and then get married, but Imagine Me & You starts with a wedding and ends with true love. And most married men worry about their wives leaving them for another man - not another woman. Truly, though, this film should not be pigeon-holed as one of...
Published on 19 Nov. 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surpirisingly lovely
First things first, until half way through I thought this film was awful! Then something strange happened...it was like a sneaky spell had been cast. Imagine Me & You isn't exactly ground-breaking but it does something that is very rare in gay themed films and that is not making a big deal about it being gay themed film. It just is what it is and makes no excuses which...
Published on 4 Nov. 2011 by Ms. Jf Bowers


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
came on time and was well delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 April 2015
By 
P. J. Venema (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Veru funny and sweet romcom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Great seller highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love at first sight I do believe but as for this film I do not, 3 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This movie was okay but felt that it could have been so much better. The basic concept of the film; Rachel (Piper Perabo) married Heck (Matthew Goode) and on her wedding day falls in love with Lucy (Lena Headey), was a new and exciting concept that should have been used to show the audience that love is good, in any form and between any two people. Instead, it said that love should be gone after at any cost; whether you hurt those you care about or not. To me that sent a not so good message. I never felt the chemistry between Rachel and Lucy, or any sympathy towards them and their love. Instead, I spent the entire movie thinking of Rachel as selfish and irresponsible, not good feelings to have towards your main character.

The only character in the movie with any morals was Heck, the poor husband. I expected a beautiful story of how love can be, whether with someone of the same sex or a different sex, and instead was shown how irresponsible, and careless, people can be when they believe they are in love. Rachel's character never seemed to really care about Heck, or even Lucy, for that matter. She wanted what she wanted when she wanted it. When she wanted Heck, she was with him, and when she wanted Lucy, she was with her, caring nothing for the damage she was causing to either. And honestly, I never bought Lucy and Rachel's love for one another. I could buy the friendship, but the "being in love" thing never worked. It seemed like Rachel never even considered being in love with Lucy, or having feelings for her that weren't simple friendship, until she found out about Lucy's sexual orientation. Then all of a sudden we are expected to believe that it's love.

I could see where the director wanted me to go in this movie, and yet he never gave me the avenues to get there. His choice of actors was not the problem. Matthew Goode was superb, so much so that you relate more to his character than the others. His character was the only one who seemed to have any depth, like he was the character they meant to center the movie around, and the others were afterthoughts. Lena Headey was also fantastic, though certainly underused. Her character seemed to care more about what she was doing to Heck and Rachel's marriage than Rachel's did. And you could tell she was guilty about it. I found Piper Perabo to be wooden, as seems to be the case often. No depth, no real feeling, I felt absolutely nothing towards her character and couldn't have cared less about her wants or desires or what happened to her in the end.

The director must have known that it would be hard to feel anything towards the main character (Rachel) but disgust, and so at the end put something in there to show us that Heck would be alright. The portrayal of Heck is the only thing that has me giving it a 3 star rating other then that it's decent love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Disney for lesbians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Arrived as stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sweet love, 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well, this story, except for a tiny bit of the ending is a great description of how love can change the way you see your future, regardless of where you are at in life.
The chemistry between the two leads is very believable and the whole triangle that unfolds is as well.
I really liked this film and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys the feeling of hope in regards to the existence of brave love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not so typical, 26 July 2009
By 
Alice Valentine (north awles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i like this film it is pradictable as in they always get the girl but it is still good and what i like most is that they dont once say "but your a woman" its only at the end that that is a problem when the mother has a slight problem with it its the fact that she is mrried to someone already the characters are believeable and i recomend it to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully funny and soppy film!, 10 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This was a lovely film. I bought two others along with this, and it was by far the best of the three.
The acting was wonderful and there were some seriously laugh out loud moments! All in all, an excellent film. I just wish they had promoted it better. It is a little Britsh film gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005]
Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] by Ol Parker (DVD - 2006)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews