Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unconventional but undeniably wonderful romantic comedy
It goes without saying - or maybe it doesn't - that this is not your typical romantic comedy. Most people fall in love and then get married, but Imagine Me & You starts with a wedding and ends with true love. And most married men worry about their wives leaving them for another man - not another woman. Truly, though, this film should not be pigeon-holed as one of...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surpirisingly lovely
First things first, until half way through I thought this film was awful! Then something strange happened...it was like a sneaky spell had been cast. Imagine Me & You isn't exactly ground-breaking but it does something that is very rare in gay themed films and that is not making a big deal about it being gay themed film. It just is what it is and makes no excuses which...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by Ms. Jf Bowers


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good film, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is just lovely its so romantic perfect for a night in I just was completely captivated. Not expensive so treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love You Number Nine, 11 April 2011
By 
J. Johnson ""allthatjaz"" (Hemel Hempstead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Excellent feel good movie. one for the girls. It will have you laughing and crying just like a good film should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A plus, 2 Nov 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
One of the best romantic comedies to come out of Britain for a while. Although it is about a married woman who falls in love with another the script handles the situation well. Enough moments to make you support love in all its splendour but also those to show what it does to the unsuspecting partner.

Beautiful movie with some adorable scenes, quite funny with its witty one liners and all in all one to be enjoyed by everyone.

Oh, the music and settings are gorgeous too!

There really isnt anything wrong with this film at all. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, worth a watch!, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Hadn't heard of this film previously, came across it by chance and thought I'd take a chance on getting it due to the cast and the good reviews - and I'm a sucker for a good romantic comedy! I wasn't disappointed! It's a really good film, showing that the course of true love isn't always what you'd expect. And that's what this film is all about, love. It's not your typical romantic comedy or typical lesbian film; the gender of the characters doesn't matter, all that matters is the course of true love and how love at first sight can be an unexpected, exciting adventure that can change your world. We can't choose who we love or when it happens, but the journey of acceptance is one that makes a great film - one that has been well made and has a great cast. Definitely worth a watch if you like a good love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine Me & You - My opinion, 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!

I usually hate those crappy British romance comedies because they're... just not funny - but this one; was an exception - and a damned good one! Yes, it is mainly because of the plot, but how often do you get it sensitively done and be able to give of the message that 'Love at first sight' is true - I believe in it now!

It is something you should really get, because I was almost crying with laughter in one part.

Aye, a good film - buy it or you will be at a great loss! Ignore the adverts about 'Rach wants Heck and Coop wants Luce etc.' because that isn't the message of the film.

'Love at first sight' is the message they're giving off! :)

That's all for now folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm, feel good movie, 27 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A warm, feel good lesbian movie. No violence, drugs, bad language, just a good old fashioned romance albeit between two women. Lena Headey and Piper Perabo are just gorgeous, a pleasure to watch. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and funny lesbian movie minus the politics., 24 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was surprised just how much I liked this film. It is a warm-hearted lesbian romance with good leads and interesting incidental characters, in particular the parents of the soon-to-be lovers, Rachel and Luce. The script is very witty in parts and is indeed reminiscent of Notting Hill and Four Weddings and a Funeral. Celia Imrie, as Rachel's frustrated mother, is hilarious as is her hectored husband, Anthony Head.

The other male characters are believable and Rachels's husband Heck is almost too nice to be true - you can imagine why you'd want him as a best friend, whatever your sexuality. I found Piper P a little hard to take as a lesbian but Lena Headey as Luce was very credible and dressed and walked like a true member of the club! (If only!) Really, it's just the type of movie to show your parents before you come out - because it normalises the sexuality of gay women in a quiet, non political way. In fact, it even might endear some of those who are naturally less sympathetic to our happy breed.

It is also unusual to see such interesting interaction between a broad sweep of generations, ranging from Rachel's young sister H to Luce's initially depressed mother. As the parents' lives improve, their respective daughters' romance blossoms in a parallel process. Now, that's an subtle idea for a movie about gay characters and what I'd really like to see is a sequel.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and cute, 9 Mar 2014
By 
C.G.C. (RS, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I can't look at lilies anymore without thinking about the meaning and about this movie.
So cute and funny. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As described- what more can I say? Well packaged- exactly what it said on the site. Would recommend as a supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Its soo funny and i love the way the focus is just on 2 people falling in love and not on sexuality. My only gripe is it's a bit too bloody barsteaded British but still, saying that it's brilliant and piper perabo is stunning in that dress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005]
Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] by Ol Parker (DVD - 2006)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews