Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unconventional but undeniably wonderful romantic comedy
It goes without saying - or maybe it doesn't - that this is not your typical romantic comedy. Most people fall in love and then get married, but Imagine Me & You starts with a wedding and ends with true love. And most married men worry about their wives leaving them for another man - not another woman. Truly, though, this film should not be pigeon-holed as one of...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surpirisingly lovely
First things first, until half way through I thought this film was awful! Then something strange happened...it was like a sneaky spell had been cast. Imagine Me & You isn't exactly ground-breaking but it does something that is very rare in gay themed films and that is not making a big deal about it being gay themed film. It just is what it is and makes no excuses which...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by Ms. Jf Bowers


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unconventional but undeniably wonderful romantic comedy, 19 Nov 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It goes without saying - or maybe it doesn't - that this is not your typical romantic comedy. Most people fall in love and then get married, but Imagine Me & You starts with a wedding and ends with true love. And most married men worry about their wives leaving them for another man - not another woman. Truly, though, this film should not be pigeon-holed as one of "those" films, for it's a really sweet story that says more about true love than most of today's raunchy romances. Love and sex are not the same thing, and it's always nice to find a film that reflects that. Don't go into this film expecting to see two lovely ladies rolling around naked in the hay, as there's no nudity whatsoever. This is a sweet film, not a prurient one.

I love Piper Perabo, especially now that's she proven she's just as talented as she is gorgeous. She's an unusual choice for the leading role in this film, an American actress surrounded by an impressive British cast, but her accent feels natural and makes for a most comfortable fit. Her character, Rachel, seems the picture of happiness as she marries Heck (Matthew Goode), a true good guy who has long been her best friend. Walking down the aisle, however, she happens to exchange a life-changing glance with Luce (Lena Headey), the florist who supplied the flowers for the wedding. She soon strikes up a friendship with Luce, initially trying to set her up with one of Heck's friends. Even before she learns that Luce is gay, though, she finds herself thinking about her more and more. Never having believed in love at first sight, she doesn't know how to react to these strange but powerful new feelings she is experiencing for the first time. Naturally, a distance seems to develop between her and Heck, eventually forcing her to choose between happiness and stability with Heck or true love with Luce. Luce, for her part, is also torn; as much as she loves Rachel, she certainly has no desire to break up a marriage.

As the movie progressed, I really wasn't sure how this story would end, knowing that one side of this lovers' triangle was destined for unhappiness. The filmmakers delivered a better and more meaningful conclusion than I ever expected, however - even though it does go a little too far in trying to make everyone happy.

The entire cast is excellent, contributing a couple of meaningful subplots, but special mention must be made of two individuals. Boo Jackson is utterly charming as Rachel's young sister H (there's a great explanation for her name), while Anthony Head (Giles of Buffy fame) turns in a memorable performance as Rachel's long-suffering father, whose tendency to mumble and dodder around seems directly related to his less than perfect marriage to Rachel's demanding mother. Both Jackson and Head really step up to make the film's sentimental conclusion particularly effective.

Imagine You & Me is a disarmingly sweet and entertaining romantic comedy. The nature of the romance between Rachel and Luce does much to explain the film's R rating, but this same-sex romance is in no way "mature" in terms of its content. When you come right down to it, the fact that Rachel and Luce are both women is almost incidental. This is, purely and simply, a wonderful love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wished to be true.., 28 July 2006
A charming heart-warming story of a just newly married woman falling in love with the florist who has just prepared the flower arragments for her wedding. However the florist happens to be another woman.

The confusion, the pain and the joy this unstoppable love causes to her are described in a light and sharp way providing the audience with several laughs throughout all the film.

Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, well mannered and happy., 19 Feb 2008
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a very cute film, it is basically a "Love, Actually" type of story where girl meets girl, girl fall for girl, girl tries to forget girl and finally, girl gets girl.

It is refreshing to see the subject treated so sympathetically in a rom-com setting. It could have been done so much worse. OK it isn't deep and it doesn't tax the brain but it engages the emotions quite nicely and it is perfect for a snuggle on the sofa with your best girl, a bottle of wine and a pizza.

Maybe we have seen bits and piecs of it before and the ending sort of reminds me of the end of the first Crocodile Dundee (except with better looking protagonists) but it is sweet.

Oh, and Lena Headey and Piper Perabo are just gorgeous. Shame most of us don't ever get to meet girls like them in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave your preconceptions at the door and enjoy this heart-warming movie, 16 Nov 2006
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
You might be forgiven for initially thinking that the splendid "Imagine Me and You" is very much in the mold of the usual Romantic comedy - a genre that British writers do so well at - but this one has a distinct twist in the form of departing from the usual girl-falls-for boy & vice versa formula. Writer & Director Ol Parker has produced a lovely movie centering around love at first sight between new bride Rachel and her wedding florist, Luce.
OK, the fellas reading this have probably now sat up a little straighter and are rubbing their hands together in anticipation of a bit of titilating Sapphic action between the two gorgeous leading ladies...However, beautiful as Rachel (Piper Perabo) and Luce (Lena Headey) undoubtedly are this is primarily a story about love. It's a credit to both actresses and the writer/director that the subject matter (and kissing) is dealt with in a sweet & loving way rather than a sleazy fashion.
By turns very funny (I particularly liked the teaching a girl how to shout properly at a football match scene and a brilliant comedic performance by Anthony Head as Rachel's dotty father) and at others touchingly romantic this is a film that anyone who enjoyed 'Notting Hill' or 'Four Weddings will find themselves in familiar territory with and enjoying immensely.
Music (always an important ingedient of the Brit Rom Com) is first rate, with the toe-tapping Nolan's 'Feels like I'm in love' and upbeat 'Imagine me and you' by The Turtles as the title song.
With this being a romantic comedy a happy ending for everyone is assurred and I am unashamed to admit that (despite being a red-blooded, 30 something, married, hetro guy) the final scenes in the London Traffic Jam had me blubbing like a little girl.
Girls: Try it on your boyfriend/husband/partner and see if it doesn't have the same effect on them...!
Just don't stop the movie as soon as the titles roll or you'll miss the extended happy 'epilogue' scenes.

A brilliant feel good movie that proves, as it says on the box, that the path to true love isn't always straight... Sure to earn a permanent place in your DVD collection - whatever happens to float your boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The film is absolutely wonderful (how could it not be with Lena Headey and Piper Perabo!) and a film which regularly cheers me up (especially Tony Head's one-liners) but a quick warning that, even though it was made by Ealing Studios and the BBC, there are NO SUBTITLES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine You Meet That Special Someone..., 12 Dec 2010
By 
Ford Ka (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Imagine you meet that special someone at your own wedding. Imagine it is not the man you're marrying but... the florist. A girl, actually. If you can imagine this much, the rest follows naturally. It is not easy to throw away all you have even if your husband's greatest quality is that he has always been your best friend but if it's really THIS special someone that you found minutes too late nothing will be able to stop you.
Yes, it's a chick flick (for a particular type of chicks, I'd say), yes, it's a romantic comedy, yes, it's a feelgood movie. But in these three categories it gets five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!! ..........., 23 Aug 2007
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is by the THE BEST feel good movie I have ever seen where two women fall in love, oh so beautiful!
The acting is amamzing and the story line is very sweet and feel good!
I was smiling from ear to ear at the end of this movie, finally, two women, in love and happy together, to me (being a lesbian) nothing is as beautiful as the love shared by two women.
Highly recommened to eveyone!
ENJOY
=)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent movie, 9 Aug 2007
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well this one certainly seems to have divided opinion! I loved it - having watched just about every awful lesbian movie there is it was a real treat to see something that didnt look like it was filmed with a handheld camcorder positioned most of the time between someones legs! It is just a romantic comedy and yes the guy does get dumped but actually - thats life. A good film I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I love this film, it is different to some of the other lesbian films out there, It doesn't shout "Oh my god, I'm in love with a woman!!" from the roof tops, instead it says "I am in love."
This is one of my favourite films and I loved every second of it, the product arrived quickly and in perfect condition. Also It has bonus features that made my day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surpirisingly lovely, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Ms. Jf Bowers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
First things first, until half way through I thought this film was awful! Then something strange happened...it was like a sneaky spell had been cast. Imagine Me & You isn't exactly ground-breaking but it does something that is very rare in gay themed films and that is not making a big deal about it being gay themed film. It just is what it is and makes no excuses which is, for me, how it wins it's audience.
The plot is undeniably far fetched.(Unless it is common practice to invite your florist who just did the flowers for your wedding to dinner because you feel like 'you just click'.) and I dare say if it was an American film it would be too much to handle. Rachel (Piper Perabo) has just married the lovely Heck (Matthew Goode) but feels an overwhelming connection to her (gorgeous) florist, Luce (Lena Headey) and they become friends. But as Rachel slowly realises she has more than just rosy feelings of friendship for Luce, she has to confront her own identity and marriage.

The major flaw of the film in my opinion is the dialogue. For the majority of the film it is hugely unimaginative and predictable but yet every now and again just when I was reaching for the 'stop button' there are moments of hilarity and vulnerability in characters that keeps you watching. Rachel's parents (played by Antony Head and Celia Imrie) are brilliant and give it the true feeling of a classic British Richard Curtis Rom-Com of Love Actually or Notting Hill stock.

Finally, the ending, and the part which completely won me over. After so many Hollywood attempts at gay themed films I was certain that poor old Luce the florist who was so up front and open about her sexuality was going to be victim to the Hollywood punishment for deviant women. I saw her walking off into the distance destined to life of loneliness. Wrong! I won't give it all away but let's just say that in true great British Rom-Com tradition the dis-functional family rally together and give a good old fashioned chase for a happy ending. And a happy ending it is! I did give it all away, sorry. But how refreshing to have a film with two women in love who confront their feelings and are not punished for them. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005]
Imagine Me and You [DVD] [2005] by Ol Parker (DVD - 2006)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews