Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little sparrow
This beautiful collection of 3 cds contains all Edith's greatest and most beloved songs, and aside from the music, the packaging is top notch. The sleevenotes are lovingly written and carefully guide both new listeners and old fans through her tragic but prolific career. Highly recommended.
Published on 9 Aug. 2006 by S. F.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
for third party
Published 7 months ago by Peter Nice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little sparrow, 9 Aug. 2006
This review is from: The Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
This beautiful collection of 3 cds contains all Edith's greatest and most beloved songs, and aside from the music, the packaging is top notch. The sleevenotes are lovingly written and carefully guide both new listeners and old fans through her tragic but prolific career. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passion, 6 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
An obstacle for many people may be the inability to grasp the vocabulary of french. Wise perhaps to hunt down the lyrics to the songs on the web, and on these 3 discs there are 72 tracks, so it might be a tall order.

However, the utter passion, the sheer quality of Edith Piafs volume can in most cases bypass any problems. The emotional voice holds such immense power & sincerity, a clarity that is also warm, that any auditory resistance is futile.

Covering a broad spectrum of her life, there would be little to fault in this arrangement of tracks, which all deliver the sorrowing, beautiful goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb ! Magnifique ! Encore !, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
T. Eastwood (Guildford,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
The fragile little bird off the streets of Paris, who lived a life so rough and ready it would break a sparrow's heart in mid flight and then mend it again in song. She sang to the German army in the war, but claimed to have been in the Resistance, and certainly was no Jew hater. Many brushes with death, many tragedies, a miracle cure of her blindness by intervention of St Therese of the little Flowers. Used by friends who came and went along with the rise and fall in her fortunes, and finally a slow death from liver disease, and yet, right to the end she could sing "Non, je ne regrette rien" (I have no regrets ) as convincingly as Sinatra singing "My Way".

Loved by millions around the world, of all ages, sexes and creeds, she should really be listened to by everyone, as she embodies something in us all, and it comes out in her artistry of song.
3 CDs, over 3 and a half hours of music. Magnifique !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SELECTION OF SONGS AND SOME IN STEREO, 7 Nov. 2011
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This triple CD box set covers all of Piaf's well known songs and much more.Some of the songs are very old (1940's) are probably from 78's,are obviously mono and do not sound that good,you will find this problem on all of Piaf's CDs and any other singer from this period.
However on CD3 you get many tracks recorded towards the end of her life (1962) and these are in quite good quality stereo.
Her most popular songs are also sung in English as well as in the original French,it will help you to understand better if you cannot speak French,however I always feel the emotions and passion come across so much more sung in her native language.
It was bought for my wife,well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful voice, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
After I watched "La vie en rose", I fell in love with Edith's singing and bought this CD. I listen to it at home, in car, etc. Enjoy her voice every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most enjoyable, 5 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This was a treat for me, spend a lot of time in France and hear Edith Piaf being played in the markets. Not disapointed, very enjoyable cd. backed up by Amazons great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Bird sings, 4 April 2011
By 
SA Brain (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Brilliant collection at a brilliant price bought for my eldest daughter and received very gratefully by her. If you like like Piaf buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 4 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Three discs are required to demonstrate `The Best of Edith Piaf' and they display the best of her songs - at a very reasonable price, too. My favourite, `Les Trois Cloches' reveals her sonorous voice at its best, complimenting the mournful sound of the tolling church bells.

An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it all here, 16 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
There are a LOT of songs on this album, not all of them as famous as each other but the popular ones are here. The recoding is of good quality over all excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very atmospheric, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edith Piaf - The Best Of (Audio CD)
My schoolboy French is not good enough to follow the lyrics in many cases but even without understanding the words the mood the music generates is great. I must admit I think it is better (at least for me) as a personal experience using headphones but I suppose others might think of shared occasions when the music would be right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edith Piaf - The Best Of
Edith Piaf - The Best Of by Edith Piaf (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews