Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Lead guitar - Eric 'Slowhand' Clapton!"
There are different expanded versions of Five Live Yardbirds; this review is of the one with the red cover - which features Eric Clapton.

It makes for a superb short retrospective of E.C.'s earliest official releases - and his introduction to the music world as "Slowhand".

What you get is the wonderful Five Live Yardbirds album (recorded at the...
Published 17 months ago by Derek Clacton

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice enough document...
This is a live recording of The Yardbirds in 1964 and what you get with this cd is an enthusiast show that explodes with energy from the very beginning! In addition this cd augments the 10 original tracks recorded at the concert with 8 more live sessions from other Yardbirds incarnations featuring, of course, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page, who you will hear doing his early...
Published on 12 Jun 2001 by Top Cat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice enough document..., 12 Jun 2001
By 
Top Cat (Up, Down, All Around) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Five Live Yardbirds (Audio CD)
This is a live recording of The Yardbirds in 1964 and what you get with this cd is an enthusiast show that explodes with energy from the very beginning! In addition this cd augments the 10 original tracks recorded at the concert with 8 more live sessions from other Yardbirds incarnations featuring, of course, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page, who you will hear doing his early Zeppelin routines (violin bow and such) as early as on these recordings. On the down side though, the poor sound which is muddy at times, even though you get to hear all the instruments, and singer Keith Relf's small range and poor vocal technique. But what saves this record for me, is the absolute energy the boys put in their performance and a young boy introduced by the MC as Eric 'Slowhand' Clapton. This record is worth if only for his solos...he even gets to sing on "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" and delivers some pretty good solos on "Five Long Years", an absolute classic which the man is still playing live to this very day. This is a must for Yardbirds fans and also recommended for the Clapton collector. I love you, Esther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Lead guitar - Eric 'Slowhand' Clapton!", 6 April 2013
This review is from: Five Live Yardbirds (Audio CD)
There are different expanded versions of Five Live Yardbirds; this review is of the one with the red cover - which features Eric Clapton.

It makes for a superb short retrospective of E.C.'s earliest official releases - and his introduction to the music world as "Slowhand".

What you get is the wonderful Five Live Yardbirds album (recorded at the Marquee Club) + the A & B sides from Eric's three singles with the band. A two page essay details the short history of this undeniably significant group.

The CD is nicely presented to reflect the original lp's two sides - the atmosphere of a small club jam-packed with punters eager to witness a Yardbird rave-up comes across superbly. The band's performance is full of energy and has a raw intensity. Eric's playing is clearly formative but there are more than a few hints at what was to come only a short time later (with John Mayall's Bluesbreakers).

The first of many crossroads Eric would reach in his career was with the last of the singles, "For Your Love". Presented with pop, the aspiring blues purist wasn't happy with the change in direction. In an attempt to keep him on side, he was given the B side - "Got To Hurry" - which would prove to be his swansong with the band. Ironically, he would go on to achieve the commercial success he had so deliberately shunned. But more importantly, the journeyman's quest for musical credibility and fulfilment was well and truly underway ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings - Here Tis' Respectable- Good Morning Little Schoolgirl., 3 Jun 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Live Yardbirds (Audio CD)
The 2003 re release of this LP contains 16 tracks.

BUT Amazon have not listed them so I have.

Some American recordings claim that there are 9 bonus tracks when in fact it is 6 and the American listings have the tracks in the incorrect order.
This is because there are several versions of this title.

I really recommend you look at all the permutations on get the best selection at the best price.

This is not a bad edition.
Five Live Yardbirds
Five Live Yardbirds
Five Live Yardbirds

Strangely
The bonus tracks which are the first 3 singles A and B sides appear as the first 6 tracks.
The actual Live part the album Five Live Yardbirds appears as tracks 7 through to 16.

The big selling point being Eric Clapton.
My edition has The Eric Clapton Years emblazoned across inside edge of the clear plastic inner.

The line for the first 6 tracks is
The Yardbirds: Keith Relf (vocals, harmonica); Eric Clapton, Chris Dreja (guitar); Paul "Sam" Samwell-Smith (bass); Jim McCarty (drums)

The second and the actual album was recorded live at Craw Daddy, Richmond, England and at the Marquee Club, London, England in 1963-64
The Yardbirds line up there were
: Keith Relf (vocals, harmonica); Eric Clapton, Chris Dreja (guitar); Paul "Sam" Samwell-Smith (bass); Jim McCarty (drums)

The CD has liner notes by Greg Russo which although brief are informative and interesting.

Here is the track listing.

Track Listing
Original 7 inch singles with Eric Clapton
1. I Wish You Would
2. Certain Girl
3. Goodmorniing Little School Girl
4. I Ain't Got You
5. For Your Love
6. Got to Hurry
7. Too Much Monkey Business
8. I Got Love If You Want It
9. Smokestack Lightnin'
10. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
11. Respectable
12. Five Long Years
13. Pretty Girl
14. Louise
15. I'm a Man
16. Here 'Tis
17.Hullabaloo Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paint stripper, 13 May 2010
This review is from: Five Live Yardbirds (Audio CD)
The original Five Live Yardbirds from as far back as 1964 is a classic live album, up there with J Geils Live Full House and Dr Feelgood's Stupidity and Wilco Johnson's live tracks on the Solid Senders album. It's a bit short on length but high on energy, and is a cornerstone of a 60's rock collection, a time when lps were few and far between from just a handful of groups like the Yardbirds. Live they were full of punk energy and fun. I was one of those fortunates to see them at the 5th Jazz and Blues Festival at Richmond in 1965 when Jeff Beck had just joined the band, and they were every bit as good as the earlier Clapton line up. I have the original cd release without the bonus tracks from the Crawdaddy Club which I can't vouch for - anyone out there who can? If they're as good as the first set then no question, this is the cd to get. Paint stripper indeed. Beware of others which have different listings; listen first if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album by the best british blues/rock n roll band yeah, 17 Jan 2002
By 
Freidun Taravosh (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Live Yardbirds (Audio CD)
...preformed live this is a record filled with lots of energy tasty harmonica palying and some wild instrumental breaks that was going to be the yardbirds trade mark. this recordings featuers an young eric clapton rocking with a nice blues feeling before he left the band to join the bluesbrakers and john mayall.
the album opens with a cover of Chuck Berrys too much monkey buisness a strong openener with KeIth relfs trustfull singing this dude keps on going strong the whole album exept for good morning little school girl where eric clapton and Paul samuell smith handels the vocals and keith playing harmonica. this dudes really knew what they where doing and never stoped a minute playing that nice blues and rock n roll a little hard edged at times, so rocking.
they really must be the best rock n roll band(and of cource blues band) of all british 60's rock n roll/ blues bands allright i must say that gerry and the peace makers made some good rock n roll songs at there timess and of cource hermas hermits and beatles too and alll other british bands. beatles started out as a good rocking band early sixties but in 1964 yardbirs came with this! it really rocking.
maybe it didint go on so well on the top ten list but it beats much of both gerry and the peace makers and surley the beatles and i must say yardbitds one of the best rock nroll/blues bands i've heard just listen to there energy! rocking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typically classic 60's Blues with RAW ENERGY!!!, 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Five Live Yardbirds (Audio CD)
I had a bit of spare cash, and bought this album, knowing that the Yardbirds were one of the greatest blues bands of the 60's, however, I did not realise that this album was so good until I popped it in my CD player, and it totally BLEW ME AWAY!!! I recommend this album to all blues fans!!! THIS ALBUM ROCKS DUDES!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raw R&B, 30 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. J. Gould (Newbury, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Live Yardbirds (Audio CD)
Before Eric Clapton was a household name, and before he had been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame a record 3 times, he was in a small mid-sixties British R&B group known as the Yardbirds. Now although they did not push sonic boundries or change how we see the world, they did do one viatally important thing - bring R&B to the young British audience of the 60's. The playing on this record is firey and untamed. A quintet of angry young musicians are playing their hearts out for a cramped, sweaty, teenage audience, and they're loving every second of it. Captured here is an intensity of music that could not have been reproduced in a studio, and that's what makes this record so important. This record is the essence of rock and roll - raw, untamed emotions brought out through music. It's also nice to hear a young superstar taking his first steps along the road to fame and fortune. Listen out for the solo on "Five Long Years" - it's a sign of things to come.

This should be a part of any true music fan's collection, especially blues and R&B fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Live Yardbirds
Five Live Yardbirds by Yardbirds (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews