Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film
To be honest any comparison of this film to the exorcist is unfair and a bit pointless. It's not out to be the exorcist at all and in reality is a lot more realistic and a lot scarier. The mixture of Emily's exorcism and the courtroom drama is very effective in creating a realistic and tense atmosphere. The posession scenes are incredibly well done and, if your...
Published on 7 Feb 2006 by Mr. Rhys Tomos Gilbert

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Demons exist whether you believe in them or not; even in the court room.
The Exorcism of Emily Rose is directed by Scott Derrickson. It's loosely based on the story of Anneliese Michel and follows the trial of a priest who is charged with negligent homicide when Emily Rose dies after he performs an exorcism believing her to be possessed with demons. It stars Laura Linney, Tom Wilkinson, Campbell Scott, Colm Feore & Jennifer Carpenter...
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars About as scary as a white fluffy rabbit, 3 Dec 2007
By 
D. Agar "Shagginator" (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
when i saw the word excorsism in the title of this film i thought it must be good but little did i know i was seriously mistaken.Very poor and obviously not based on true events if you love horror films dont waste your money on something so sinister and not scary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Advertise the right region?, 19 Feb 2011
i ordered this DVD, and found i could not watch it as the region code was not as described, the disc was slightly scratched but i returned the item and promptly got my refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars recent film, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ive given this rating simply because ive not yet watched it so i cant give an opinion if i havent watched it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a very good movie..., 9 April 2006
By 
Marc Philippens (Bruxelles, Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"The Exorcism of Emily Rose" is a bad movie, because the only thing you get to know of the "possession" of "Emily Rose" is that she was possessed by six demons: Kain, Nero, Legion, Lucifer, Judas and one I forgot the name of. Everyone knows the movie was based on the story of a german girl. There is so much material of what the six demons she was possessed by - Nero, Kain, Hitler, Lucifer, Fleischman and Judas - had to say, but none of that material can be found back in the movie. This is an exorcism without any contence. Just the packaging. What a pity for this german girl, who wanted to suffer to avoid people going to hell and help them to get into Heaven, that she has been - 30 years after her death, possessed by Hollywood Demons, who's only purpose was to make big money on the back of this sweet girl's sufferance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Exorcism of Emily Rose, 8 Jan 2006
By 
Here we have a watered down film, which (for me) never completely delivers in either the courtroom or the exorcism sequences.

The film plods, heavy footed through each scene.

Despite competant performances from Brit' Tom Wilkinson as the Priest on trial and Jennifer Carpenter as the Film's title subject in question, it still falls sort of the stellar performances of the 1973 Classic, The Exorcist.

Inevetably this, as with all exorcism films now and always, will be compared to The Exorcist.
The main problem with The Exorcism of Emily Rose is honesty.

The Exorcist was made with great integrity, honesty and absolute commitment to the story; Whereas this isnt!
The film is just like painting by numbers, with no surprises. You can see what's coming, but are just waiting for it to be coloured in for you.

Unlike The Exorcist though, The Exorcism of Emily Rose tries overtly to give us a message, about choice & redemption. Which to me comes across about as sincere as an episode of 'Buffy'. This may not be a bad thing... If you fall within the demograph of the target audience (12 certificate).
Me, I like things more grown-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mind numbingly dull and boring, 31 July 2008
This movie has to be the stupidest movie ever made. What was the point? the whole movie is in a court room and you only actually get to see emily rose a handful of times. i hate this movie so much that i might kill somebody. dont bother buying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Exorcism Of Emily Rose [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
Used & New from: 6.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews