Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Absolute Classics!
I recently bought this game for my PSP, as I already have a working Mega Drive for my TV this seems the obvious choice! There is a huge selection of 27 (gasp) games included in this packeage, making it by far the best retro compendium around. These games can be divided into 3 catagories:

CLASSICS: you'll play these again and again

Columns - A worthy...
Published on 8 Feb. 2007 by K. Dunstan

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Streets of Rage
No Streets of Rage. No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets...
Published on 4 Jan. 2011 by Razzmatazz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Absolute Classics!, 8 Feb. 2007
By 
K. Dunstan "triantha" (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
I recently bought this game for my PSP, as I already have a working Mega Drive for my TV this seems the obvious choice! There is a huge selection of 27 (gasp) games included in this packeage, making it by far the best retro compendium around. These games can be divided into 3 catagories:

CLASSICS: you'll play these again and again

Columns - A worthy and difficult alternative to tetris

Comix Zone - Great side scrolling beat em' up, even looks like a comic!

Ecco the Dolphin I and II - Still as devilishly hard as ever, but still looking great

Phantasy Star III and IV - IV is an especially good RPG

Ristar - Lovely forgotten gem of a platformer

Sonic the Hedgehog I and II - Still as brillant as ever

Vectorman I and II - Great graphics, nice platforming

GAMES THAT AREN'T AS GOOD AS YOU REMEMBER (but are still pretty fun for 1/2 an hour)

Altered Beast - Great at the time, but very short nowadays

Decap Attack - Still good, just a bit awkward to play

Golden Axe I, II, III - Not quite as good as you remember, but still fun

Gain Ground - pretty hard and unrewarding

Kid Chameleon - Good platformer, but looks like it came with your phone

Phantasy Star II - Battles hurt your head! too much strobe flashing

Shinobi III - Still good, just feels a little flat (no pun intended)

Virtua Fighter 2 - By beat em' up standards this is pretty average. If you own dark ressurection you won't touch it.

Super Thunder Blade - Fairly fun helecopter game

GAMES THAT HAVE AGED BADLY

Alex Kidd - I thought this was pretty bad on my actual Mega Drive

Bonanza Bros - Permanent split screen in single player? Why thanks!

Ecco Jr - So boring you'll fall asleep

Flicky - It is what is always was, fun until you ask yourself why you're still playing, and it looks awful

Sword of Vermillion - Very slow walking speed and having to select "Speak" form a menu date this RPG terribly

As you can see, there's a good ratio of fun games in this package, compared with a pretty low tally of poor ones. The classics of this package are timeless, and are well worth the relatively budget price of the compilation, and most of the games in the second category are still sound, if a little "arcadey" and short. I hope this helps you decide on wether to get this game, but i'm certainly glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sega Mega Drive Collection - Mega Good!, 16 Mar. 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
As I can remember these titles from their original releases (well most of them anyway) I have really enjoyed this game. The original Sonic game is awesome. You also get the sequels, I just enjoy the original too much. There is a lot of variety of games and genres represented and I throughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed selection, 20 Jan. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
Now that this is available in the UK, it turns out that the European version is lacking Shadow Dancer (a Shinobi game). This is featured on the US equivalent - Sega Genesis Collection - so if you're a Shinobi fan then get that version on import.

There are some quirkier titles that haven't stood the test of time so well, like Alex Kidd. Golden Axe isn't as much fun as it seemed at the time.

What's a real shame is that it looks, from the inclusion of just two Sonic games and one Shinobi game, like they might be splitting these over multiple releases. I'd rather have a complete series of games on one disc and less filler. Still, here's hoping the rest of Sonic and Revenge of Shinobi get a PSP release soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you SEGA, I take it all back!, 2 Feb. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
I was so pleased to hear about this coming out, especially after owning SEGA Classics on PS2 and writing a rather harsh but true review for it on Amazon! This is an absolute blinder of a SEGA comp and they have truely redeemed themselves by putting 27 titles, which include a large percentage of great well known games (Sonic 1 & 2, Ecco The Dolphin, Golden Axe 1,2,3) and not so well known classics (Vectorman 1 & 2 and Ristar) on one UMD with spot on emulation that pretty much mirrors the original quality of the games and audio soundtracks, unlike the EA Replay comp, in which they emitted the original Road Rash music (WHAT!?). Yes its a shame Streets Of Rage isn't on here but they're probably gonna release another one with that on, Can't wait for that! Also it has improved since my initial assesment as the new psp has a much better d pad for retro similarity, for those who prefer not to use the joystick. But overall I cant fault it, and you can pick it up for less than a tenner in some places. Bargain, and one of the best retro compilations around! BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The gems shine despite the odd dud, 3 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
Whilst I never owned a Megadrive (tho I got plenty of playtime on a friends)I could tell this collection was going to be something special. With titles such as the early Sonic, Golden Axe and Phantasy Star included its obvious that this was made to invoke the very best of a beloved retro system. Whilst it succeeds with some absolute blinders, the package as a whole has some letdowns.

First off the presentation is great, slick menus, oodles of extras and a carefully crafted control set up for each game shows that Sega was respecting its heritage (much like the superb Activision Hits). There are almost no complaints apparent from a bizarrely long load time when each game boots up. Don't let it put you off, it barely registers by most games standards, but for booting up such tiny games its a surprising delay.

The aforementioned games and most of the others do continue to shine, and all look superb on the PSP's gorgeous screen (oddly their default set to a small display rather than the full screen, despite looking perfect in either). Their responsive and classics like Shinobi 3, Sonic 2 and Ristar play just as good as any modern title. If your just interested in playing these games on the go don't hesitate to pick this up. The handy save state feature means you can save a game anywhere and pick up where you left off whenever you like, boosting its portability considerably

So far, so borderline perfection. Unfortunately the whole thing is rather severely letdown when you've had enough of blue hedgehogs and misplaced ninjas by some very odd choices for games. The appalling Alex the Kidd sequel that killed off its potential as a franchise, awful attempts to make the Afterburner formula work with a helicopter and feeling the Golden Axe franchise rot from its shinny begins to mediocre third outing hurt it more than it should. Check them out for curiousness , but they won't hold your attention.

If your after a quick blast of retro nostalgia or just want to see what all the fuss was about then grab this. Just be careful to enjoy the great games for what they could achieve at the time rather than wince at what the awful ones could not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now That's What I Call Mega Drive!, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
If you're an older gamer who grew up playing SEGA Mega Drive games in the early 90's, then this collection is for you. There is an updated version (SEGA Mega Drive Ultimate Collection) on the PS3 with more games and extras. But if you only have a PSP then you'll have to make do with this.

SEGA Mega Drive Collection consists of 27 Mega Drive games released between 1988 and 1996. There's no doubt about the stand out game, which is Sonic The Hedgehog. You can relive Sonic's better days by speeding through the zones, collecting rings and chaos emeralds, and defeating the evil Dr.Robotnik. Not far behind is Sonic The Hedgehog 2. This time Sonic is joined by Tails the two-tailed fox. The sequel provides more zones to race through and far more challenging bonus sections to find in order to get the chaos emeralds.

Away from the Sonic games there are other note worthy performances. Alex Kidd In The Enchanted Castle is a light-hearted platform game that allows you to play as SEGA's old mascot, Alex Kidd, in his one and only Mega Drive outing. Comix Zone is a tough game that sees you beating up enemies whilst jumping between the panels of a comic book! Kid Chameleon is another platformer with a Super Mario Bros.-esque feeling to it; whilst the Phantasy Star games (II, III and IV) are long RPGs that will keep you occupied for quite some time.

The collection does have some duds. Ecco The Dolphin and its sequels are confusing and most of the time leave you wondering what you're suppose to be doing, especially if you've never played them before. Meanwhile Virtua Fighter 2 only offers you 2D pixalated fighters and not the arcade 3D polygon versions due to the Mega Drive's limited graphical powers.

The extras involve a museum, which provides you with a synopsis for each game, a couple of Did-You-Know facts, and a few tips on how to play the games. There are also interviews with some of the developers on the Mega Drive games, albeit the interviews are in Japanese with English subtitles; and there are some old 80's arcade games to play. These extras need to be unlocked by playing the Mega Drive games. The arcade games are not really that much fun to play. You might get ten minutes worth of fun out of them but that's it.

Some of the games offer 2-player modes, so you can hook up with other PSP owners and pit your wits against each other in these classic Mega Drive games. All in all this is a neat package. This is a must for older gamers, and even the younger ones should give it a try. Think of it as a history lesson in school, but a cool one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Streets of Rage, 4 Jan. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
No Streets of Rage. No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.No Streets of Rage.

I mean come on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like stepping into a time warp..., 11 April 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
If you've every played the original games on the megadrive then this collection of games is for you!!

The games port really well across to the PSP, they load quickly and are very stable. The collection of games may not keep you hooked for a long period of time but you'll keep going back to them over and over. Well worth the money!

If you don't know what a megadrive is and have never played on a games system earlier than a PS2 then this might not be for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for less than a tenner, 19 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. C. Southern (newcastle upon tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
amazing for under a tenner theirs loads of games here that work really well with the psp controls a ton of unlockable content i was very surprised at the amount of stuff on this disc it was well worth my eight quid!!!!!! its even got alex kid, would have paid eight quid for that alone to play on the metro to uni!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VINTAGE IS BEST, 14 Dec. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP) (Video Game)
All the best oldies from the mega drive collection are here, well some of them anyway. This is an awesome collection I cannot explain the feeling of playing Sonic again after ten years...just cool. You would be a fool to not buy this even if you are anti 2D games these are still great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SEGA Mega Drive Collection (PSP)
£11.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews