Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars play before making a decision ..........
This game is nowhere near as bad as some of you are saying.
1) Your character starts of slow and speeds up through the game - be patient and you will be rewarded
2) The AI enemies are so much more inteligent ( they use grenades well and dive for cover ) than those in Resistance FOM
3) Play this in the dark with 5.1 sounds turned up and you will be afraid of...
Published on 18 July 2007 by Slayer

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!
Having never owned a playstation before, I am quite a novice therefore apologies to all you experienced players! Resistance Fall of Man was OK but it was really easy and too quick to finish compared to FEAR. FEAR actually made me scream (I am a girl!) at times because the baddies jump out of everywhere. Some bits are a bit monotonous, especially when the baddies...
Published on 5 July 2007 by E. Forster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars play before making a decision .........., 18 July 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is nowhere near as bad as some of you are saying.
1) Your character starts of slow and speeds up through the game - be patient and you will be rewarded
2) The AI enemies are so much more inteligent ( they use grenades well and dive for cover ) than those in Resistance FOM
3) Play this in the dark with 5.1 sounds turned up and you will be afraid of the dark
4) The bullet time feature is so very very cool - use it wisely
5) The gore and blood sets the story well

Resistance FOM is great to play for 15 / 30 min bursts - FEAR takes some time to get into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars your in 4 a scare..., 26 Jan. 2008
By 
S. Woodall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
If you want a game that will have your heart pounding and atmosphere, this is it. The visuals are sharp and detailed, and it definitely creates tension. You will be drawn into the encounters and visions, and will have you wanting to know more as the story enfolds. The enemy AL are intelligent and difficult. I dont think you will be playing it continually compared to a game like uncharted or COD4, but if your in the mood for tension and a spooky atmosphere, you should play this. Definitely one of the current best ps3 shooters. Don't play it on your own, mind.
graphics 9/10
online 6/10
gameplay 9/10
lifespan 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Oct. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
i bought this game for the PC when it came out and quite sadly ive bought it for PS3 aswell. I am glad i did as while the graphics arnt as good as they should be they are a big big improvement on the ones on computers for people that dont have £600 to spend on a top of the range graphics card. I think this game is much much much more challenging then FOM and in some cases i think the graphics are better aswell. Deffo up there with the best FPS on PS3 atm!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best PS3 FPS, 6 May 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a good game and the PS3 version seems to be a fairly straight port of the PC version. The ragdoll effects and the AI very good (far better that R:FoM in my opinion). Because of the atmosphere and the AI, I think this is probably the best FPS currently available on PS3.

In a few places, the gameplay seems to slow down a bit and start to judder. I haven't noticed a pattern, but it doesn't seem to be when there are lots of bots around or when there is a lot going on visually. So, it doesn't seem to be an issue with the hardware not coping, but probably just something that didn't go quite right with the porting. It's not a big issue and doesn't spoil the game, but it does lose a star from my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!, 5 July 2007
By 
E. Forster "lizziewizzie" (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
Having never owned a playstation before, I am quite a novice therefore apologies to all you experienced players! Resistance Fall of Man was OK but it was really easy and too quick to finish compared to FEAR. FEAR actually made me scream (I am a girl!) at times because the baddies jump out of everywhere. Some bits are a bit monotonous, especially when the baddies aren't around but the layout of the game is excellent. The scenery and backdrop in each section of the game is amazing. If this is not a good example of what is available, I will surely be even more amazed in coming months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Every Awesome Reviewer!, 7 July 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
Okay I am reviewing the PS3 version (As I am guessing you hit a link to look at the PS3 Version). Would someone please PLEASE stop people from reviewing games based on their experience of Xbox, PC and demo's!!!

FEAR is a first person shooter set in a dark and gloomey corner of the world, where a mystery bad guy (who is a bit of a hannibal lector) has taken control of the dark arts - not to mention a legion of cloned super soldiers. Its never quite explained but there is also a young ghost like girl (part based on Samara from the Ring and part based on the chinese girl from The Grudge) who strides around in the shadows, creating some genuinely 'jumpy' moments. Between the ghosts and the soldiers, FEAR has the potential to be a really good FPS.

So the good bits... the game has some very good 'tension and suspense' like any good horror movie, it builds the suspense well and its probably the only game that has made me jump - believe it or not. It does this using the same tools as the movies, sound, music, suggestion - things you think you see but maybe you didnt... for instance, someone walks past you so you turn the corner and they have gone.. and then there are some scenes where you get transported into blood soaked rooms to witness some pretty horrible flashbacks.

The fire fight set pieces are pretty good with the enemy AI reasonably high, meaning they attack, flank and counter fairly well - certainly better than in fall of man. The array of weapons is good and the use of bullet time slow motion is also very good, and enables a different style of gameplay.

So that bad bits... well those super soldiers are hard as nails, I mean to the point where they take the infamous shotgun to the legs and still get up to kill you. Several pin point sniper shots to the head and they can still fire back. In addition, I found the controls and aiming that touch more tricky that usual FPS's, whereas the enemy soldiers rarely miss - and only need to hit you a few times to score a kill. They seem to be able to see you a mile off so there is little opportunity to use stealth tactics. I dont mind hard difficulty, but the game didnt seem at all fair, or that realistic.

Then there is the levels design. You basically have three main areas, all of which have been abandoned with a few straggling security people. Each level is very boring and repetitive. Corridor, stair case, a lift shaft and ladder. The game layout and levels is very basic and the initial 'suspense' tools of lighting and darkness, along with long periods where nothing happens and there is no one to fight just makes the game fairly boring and samey.

This game is best compared to the film 'Dusk Til Dawn'. something that had the potential to be either a really good gangster film, or a really good vampire film. FEAR had lots of potential but ultimately fails to deliver a big scare (or two) on the horror front, or a really solid FPS for action lovers. The combination in FEAR just doesnt seem to work (for me).

The games biggest failing is that it does little to bring anything new, utilise the power or capabilities of the PS3, and it doesnt feel big budget (ala COD4 and even Turok). I have to say that I own some far better FPS's on PS2. FEAR isnt terrible, but is just isnt up to scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEAR, 26 Mar. 2007
By 
M. Shirlaw (Stirling, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
Just a couple of points:

1. The reviewer below appears to be an XBox 360 Fanboy that has never played a PS3. Just check out his other reviews.

2. FEAR is actually a port from a PC game that game out a while ago. It is a fantastic game that will scare you silly regardless of platform. If you can hook your PS3 up to your HUGE HD TV then it will be awsome!

The PS3 is still a young console and developers will take a while to learn how to make the best use of it's hardware, in the meantime expect quick wins like ports from PC games and Xbox games. I Love my PS3 it's an all round media centre with Next Gen disc capabilities... what more could I ask for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story - realistic combat, 2 July 2008
By 
SP Crowley "stevec" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
Like a lot of reviewers, I've enjoyed playing this game. It's very different to fom and the two games don't really compare. Where it scores highly is the excellent combat system. Enemy AI is pretty realistic as are their radio coms while you blow them away! Weapons and armour are scarce and you are rewarded for prudent fighting. Even on easy mode you can't just charge in blazing. The effects are tremendously creepy at times - easy to achieve if you're playing as a schoolgirl with a camera, less so if you're a well armed super soldier. Cut scenes are short and leave a real air of mystery.
The main downside is the lack of variety of locations. Most of the game is spent shooting up a huge factory: fom's varied environments beat this hands down.It's also a bit too linear though sionce one corridor looks like any other, it has to be. That aside, the sound effects, cut scenes and storyline more than compensate and parts of this game are truly chilling! I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quality title with major multichannel sound issues, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Olaf Barthel "Harmlos" (Lehrte) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
As to be expected from Monolith Productions, the studio which created this game, the game and sound design and writing are excellent. The visuals may look dated, but the game holds up, even more than three years after the original PC game, of which this is a port, was published.

There is one major caveat, though. The 5.1 multichannel sound mix often collapses, mapping the rear channel sounds to the front channels, and making very soft sounds come out a lot louder than they should appear. Taken together, these issues make it impossible to tell whether the bad guys are sneaking around somewhere behind you, or hidden in the shadows in front of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FEAR the...?, 29 July 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. (PS3) (Video Game)
FEAR, the first truly spooky FPS I've played on PS3. There is a plot to it, but it has many plot holes, I'm not sure if these are intentional or just something that was left out or skipped over. The levels are all slightely similar and quite linear, I guess this adds to the whole feeling of being a lone soldier locked in a few rooms, not too far away from something truly evil. Carrying only three weapons at a time is a pain in the ass and something that really out to be done away with. There is also a surprising lack of tools and/or power ups that are usually present in FPSs.
Aside from these, it's agood game with brilliant graphics that will shock you and keep you occupied for at least a month or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

F.E.A.R. (PS3)
F.E.A.R. (PS3) by Sierra (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: £7.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews