Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars63
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2007
I saw this film by accident at the Edinburgh Film Festival last summer. I went into it thinking Rupert Grint would be Ron and as they were together again, Julie Walters would be Mrs. Weasley, Ron's Mum. Well, what a surprise. Within the first ten minutes, I had forgotten about the Harry Potter films and Ron. Rupert Grint was a star in his own right as Ben, a charming portrayal of a teenage boy finding his feet in life. Julie Walters, as ever, was a superstar. Is there any character she cannot play convincingly? After watching Driving Lessons, I would say not.

A brilliant film, all the more poignant as I was actually in Edinburgh for the Book Festival when I saw it!

Would I recommend it? Oh yes, very much yes.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2007
Driving Lessons is one of the finest British comedy films I have seen for a long time. The story is about a teenager's (Grint) upbringing in a middle class surbanan community, with a highly devoted religious family. The pivotal point of the movie is where he develops a special bonding with this ageing and eccentric actress (Julie Walters). These key moments of the movie are absolutely hilarious, as their are petit quarrels between the two and crazy adventures. The fresh experience which has emerged in his life, has questioned loyalty towards his religious family or this actress. Which direction does he head? That is the general gist underlying the movie.

The movie is really entertaining and light hearted humour. The performance provided by Julie Walters is electrifying and she without any doubt is one of the finest actress Britain boosts. Rupert Grint's performance is equally good as the shy teenager. If you appreciate a bit of light hearted humour, this will satisfy your taste. Driving Lessons is one of best British comedy films I have seen in a long time.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
Excellently cast, Driving Lessons portrays the young Grint attempting to escape the cluches of his excessively overbearing zealot of a mother. He meets Walters, an out of work and ageing actress, who is typically eccentric and an alcoholic into the bargain. She forces Grint out of his shell whilst herself becomming increasingly dependent upon him. The film climaxes with a trip to Edinburgh, where Walters has been invited to give a reading at the Book Festival - her only job offer since a terribly banal role in a second rate eighties drama entitled 'The Shipping Magnates'.

The pair learn a great deal about each other and through each other learn to cope with the quandary they find themselves in.

The film is excellently cast with exceptional performances form both Walters and Grint. Walters' colourful language is side-splitting.

It's well worth purchasing for any fan of great British film/comedy. 5 Stars
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
I personally think that the British are the best filmmakers in the world and if that is me being blinded by ignorant patriotism then so be it, but if you really think about it I bet you are inclined to agree. Driving Lessons showcases all that is great with British comedy drama, it's modest, clever and most of all it is heart warming and sweet.

I think a very strong asset in the production of this film is the casting. To make my point I ask you to close your eyes for a second, now think of a socially awkward young British male actor... its Rupert Grint isn't it? Or it is at least someone resembling his basic appearance and mannerisms. The same goes for Julie Walters I honestly can't think of a better lady to play such an eccentric character, she is simply marvellous.

One thing that did strike me about Driving Lessons is that it isn't really about learning to drive but more about learning lessons while driving. The lessons aren't really being taught either they are just being learnt. Grint's character has a nice family and has no real problems at all, but I think he has led an extremely sheltered life and he is excessively mothered by, no surprises here, his over bearing mother. The lessons are learnt are by living with his mother then in contrast working for Walters character, she is so eccentric and such a free spirit, she really could not care what anybody thinks of her. This takes Grint on a journey of self discovery and gives him a little taste of how sweet making his own way in life can be.

The chemistry of Grint and Walters is just amazing, probably helped from all the time spent on the sets of the Harry Potter Franchise, but I wouldn't want to put all the credit with their previous interaction, both are just simply outstanding actors.

Driving Lessons is purely a tale of two people that grow to simply not to be able to do without one another. It is heart warming, uncomplicated and humble to describe it in just a few words I would say this film is friendship defined. Defiantly of interest to any Harry Potter fans to see what Rupert does when he is not being Ron and a must see for any fans of Julie Walters, she is really at her best in this film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I wasn't sure what to make of Driving Lessons at first due to the mixed review, so ended up buying a 2nd hand copy for £2 here on Amazon due to the fact if it was rubbish it's only two quid.

But WOW WOW WOW, what an amazing film, We have all seen Rupert from the Harry Potter firms and Julie Walters in pretty much everything from TV shows to massive movies. So really, it's no surprise this film would be good.

For me, the 2nd half of the film is better than the start and yes, I want to give Ben's mum a slap. But apart from that what an amazing film. Will be one I watch again and again and again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
A must see for any Rupert Grint fan. You forget all about Ron Weasley and he really comes into his own. Such a great story and relationship between him and Julie Walters. I've watched it about ten times :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Laura Linney, as an over protective, manipulative mother, struggling to find her authentic path, was painfully brilliant.
Julie Walters delivered her usual fun, watchable, self with a Miss Havisham slant on this character - eternally watchable.
Rupert grint was completely believable as a teenage boy, wise beyond his years, and yet still naive.......
A film about people, not a blockbuster all about the action - Fantastic!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
A lovely film that explores the relationship between a teenage boy and an elderly actress. The boy is accustomed to being told what to think and feel by his conservative and controlling mother. The relationship enables him to look at life through different eyes and develop into his own person. Along the way, he deals with all the usual coming-of-age dilemmas. I loved the gentleness of the story and the way that it developed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
This film is beautiful. Rupert Grint is just wonderful as an awkward 17 yr old boy, who is struggling to cope with his mothers infidelities, his father who is a walkover, and their extremely odd lodger. He gets a little job helping Evie (Julie Walters) who is a very eccentric retired actress. Evie has incredible warmth, humour and although she manipulates Ben into driving her to Edingburgh, it is the making of him. Evie is often outrageous but still incredibly loveable and Ben develops almost paternal feelings for her. Ben is the son she always wanted (she lost her young son to illness) and she delights in their sharing of poetry and other literature. Rupert's and Julie's acting is outstanding and you very quickly fall in love with their characters. This film is a gem and one you will watch many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
I liked this film. It's very comfortable to watch and funny too. The cast are great, especially the parents of the main character. Julie Walters reprises her 2 soups glory.

Put your feet up and enjoy with a cup of tea and a biscuit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)