Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic!
This is a fantastic title, possibly one of the best creative games I have ever played - and I'm not even a kid anymore! Zoo Tycoon: Zoo Keeper Collection is a great investment, I bought it back in April, and even now it's still on my computer pretty much 24/7 and will be for a long time to come (it's now September)!

For anyone new to this format, it's basically...
Published on 29 Sep 2008 by Ms. J. A. Jacobs

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars how much fun is this game ?
ZOO TYCOON COMPLETE COLLECTION-PC CD-ROMI've no idea , my PC is windows 7 and the game is not compatable. If only this had been mentioned I wouldn't have wasted my money. A fix for the problem had been promised weeks ago . Last I heard about 2 weeks ago, was that he was looking for a windows 7 pc to test it on .... still waiting
Published on 28 April 2012 by disappointed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic!, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Ms. J. A. Jacobs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic title, possibly one of the best creative games I have ever played - and I'm not even a kid anymore! Zoo Tycoon: Zoo Keeper Collection is a great investment, I bought it back in April, and even now it's still on my computer pretty much 24/7 and will be for a long time to come (it's now September)!

For anyone new to this format, it's basically a game where you design, build, and maintain your own zoo. There are several ways of doing this: challenge mode, where you have a specific budget and now and then you are given optional challenges to earn extra cash, for example, a company sponsor will pay you $5,000 if you breed 4 African animals in under 3 months; campaign mode, where you have to build/maintain a zoo under certain conditions, for example transform a financially unviable big cat sanctuary into a fully-fledged 5-star zoo, and finally, for those just wanting to play around with ideas, freeform mode, where you have unlimited cash and animals, and all objects are unlocked from the start.

There is so much to do in this game, and an insane amount of choice when it comes to design: there are at least 20 different kinds of fence (more are unlocked when you complete challenges and campaigns), multiple biomes (i.e. jungle, savannah, wetlands, desert) for your animals, kiosks, statues, flower beds, and you can even create themed areas - have a tundra area for your polar bear and reindeer, and a savannah-themed coffee stand and hamburger kiosk by your lions. You can even create sky tram or jeep safari tours through your zoo.

Also, since this edition is a culmination of the original Zoo Tycoon 2 and two additional expansion packs - Endangered Species and African Adventure - you are treated to an even wider range of animals, challenges and objects than in the previous version.

The animals themselves are realistic, behaving as they would in the wild. For example, female wolves will fight each other for the right to breed in the pack, and lions will stalk gazelle and other herbivores if mixed in the same enclosure. Each animal has an endangered rating, and a helpful and educational nugget of information - you learn about animals you never knew existed - and this knowledge is important in the game, since you need to make sure that the animal is in the right biome, is offered the right food and has enough toys, company and enrichment items to keep it happy. Putting a crocodile in a desert enclosure with a bale of hay, a polar bear and a tire swing is not going to make either the animal or your guests very pleased.

What's even more fun is that the animals can be named, and they can both reproduce and be traced to their family tree as long as their relatives are still in the game (they also die of old age). Many campaigns involve breeding the most endangered animals, and you can either release them into the wild or put them up for adoption. Also, in this game, rather than hover over your zoo all the time, you can revert to Guest Mode, where you can walk around in the first person and feed, groom, and clean up after the animals yourself (although the latter might not be quite as fun!). The same goes for your sky trams and jeeps; you can also ride them in the first person and take photographs.

You even have a great deal of choice when it comes to location. You can create your zoo in a city in North America, or even in the middle of the Sahara Desert or in an icy canyon near the North Pole. You can have a small, medium or large zoo, and change the landscape as you see fit by adding valleys, mountains, lakes, rivers, or just different trees, plants and rocks.

Of course, your main aim is to attract guests, who will be entertained by discovery kiosks and seeing the animals up close. You have to decide which buildings to place where, and ensure you make enough money each month and more (except in freeform mode). Even the guests have their own personalities; some will make comments like "ha ha, John Smith went into the Ladies by mistake" or "tee hee Dromedary Camel 1 spit on Jeanie Brown", and they will get upset if there aren't enough toilets, donation boxes, or places to eat, or if the animals fight each other.

This is an ideal game for young and old alike. Children will learn so much, and there is no gore or anything unsettling; if the animals do kill each other, the victim merely turns into a small pile of bones, and when they "mate", they just lie down next to each other for a couple of seconds. As for adults, it can be fun designing your own enclosures and populating it with your favourite animals, as well as the business aspect of running a financially successful zoo.

The only downside is how addictive it can become; you'll have carefully built a couple of enclosures and already 2 hours will have passed! But it is worth every fun-filled minute. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and involving and fun!, 2 Jan 2007
By 
Kborom (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
Great game for all ages, detailed enough for an 8 year old to pick up the requirements (good tutorials as well).

This is the original Zoo Tycoon 2 plus 2 expansion packs, both which addd different elements to the gameplay but at a great price.

I am very impressed with this game, and bought the marine mania expansion also from Amazon which is also excellent.

This is a highly recommended game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldnt recommend it more!, 13 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
Being an animal lover I was very keen on the idea of creating my own virtual zoo and when I saw this product online and I had to buy it straight away.
I bought the Zookeeper Gold collection with the Marine Mania expansion pack... and im totally hooked!
I was abit dubious at first buying the product as I was apprehensive about the game being too child orientated (im in my mid twenties) but it isnt, it is entertaining and enthralling for all ages. It is a good source of information and helps all ages learn about different species, their habitats and needs.
I have had the game about 3 days and have gone online straight away to purchase the 'extinct animals' expansion pack, if your thinking about purchasing this product dont hesitate, you wont regret it!

Miss Smyth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable value bundle - marketplace prices are phenomenal, 6 Nov 2007
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
I bought this from the Amazon Marketplace and am very pleased. Having the core game and two packs will certainly please my children, and the franchise as a whole is very healthy - the up and coming extinct animals expansion is already on the list for the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoo Tycoon 2, 1 Sep 2007
By 
David Stevens "Hibs07" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
Just got a new laptop, meaning lots of games won't play on it (not vista compatible) But when i seen this game, after enjoying Zoo Tycoon 1 so much i had to have it. The two expansions packs give you many more animals etc which is great. I am now considering buying Marine Mania, and cant wait to for 'Extinct Animals' to come out.

When you buy this game you get an option to buy 'Dino Danger' for only a fiver, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 2 Jun 2008
By 
K. Duerdoth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
I love this game so much! You never, ever get bored and is worth 12 times the money you spend on it. I got it because my Zoo tycoon 1 crashed and we're going to Africa and i couldn't decide between endangered species and African animal adventure, so we got both in this fantastic pack!!!!!! It's tricky to set up (but our computers a bit dodgy!)My 8 yr old sis couldn't quite get the hang of it, but she isn't good with computers! This game has loads of really cool features like elevated path, unlimited money and amazing animals! If your thinking of buying it, I'd definitely do it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zoo Tycoon Review, 1 Sep 2009
By 
S. Hart "Vera" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
I'm guessing a little because this item was bought for my Godson who lives in England. However, I am assured (by my 16 year old gamer son) that this is a great game, especially when bought in the format this is, because it includes the two add on packs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoo Tycoon 2, 13 Feb 2009
By 
D. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
My son loves this game and shows it to everyone who comes to the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, fun, educational!, 18 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
A great game for all ages, it may have alot of typing so a adult should help them. But it is cheap for three games and has a Zoopedia that tells you about the animals in your zoo!

Reccomend to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) (Video Game)
If any of your household likes wildlife this is a fun past time on rainy days, with great projects to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC)
Zoo Tycoon 2: Zookeeper Collection Gold (PC) by Microsoft (Windows Vista / XP)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews