Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lone Ranger 4 DVD set
My husband of 62 yrs has gone back to his childhood playing the Lone Ranger DVDs!! It keeps him quiet. He is enjoying them very much.
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by Mrs. Joy T. Galley

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality
This digitisation of the Lone Ranger half-hour TV episodes has been shoddily done. The main complaint is the standard of transfer. The tonal range is bad -- bleached out highlights, muddy shadows -- a lot of noise in the picture with a small amount of ghosting in some of the episodes. I suspect the programmes have been mastered from video tape copies of the original...
Published on 6 Aug 2010 by P. Stanbridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality, 6 Aug 2010
By 
P. Stanbridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
This digitisation of the Lone Ranger half-hour TV episodes has been shoddily done. The main complaint is the standard of transfer. The tonal range is bad -- bleached out highlights, muddy shadows -- a lot of noise in the picture with a small amount of ghosting in some of the episodes. I suspect the programmes have been mastered from video tape copies of the original films. The result is certainly not what one has the right to expect from modern digital methods. Allowances have to be made for the fact that the original films were not made to very high standards, but that doesn't excuse this kind of quality.

Another problem is that one of the discs has the wrong programme sequence: the disc menu doesn't correspond to what's actually on the disc, the error is repeated on the case insert, and one of the programmes in the menu doesn't actually exist on the disc.

Also the case insert looks shabby: the cover picture of the L.R. is fuzzy and muddy.

All in all a shoddy job.

(There is no such problem, by the way, with five-disc set published by Cinema Club (CCD30149). This set contains the all the colour episodes made in 1956 and 1957, and the standard is very good. The presentation is good too - nice box with a small booklet with all the programme synopses. Recommended. Same can be said of Cinema Club's issues of the two Lone Ranger feature films.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lone Ranger 4 DVD set, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
My husband of 62 yrs has gone back to his childhood playing the Lone Ranger DVDs!! It keeps him quiet. He is enjoying them very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn, 6 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
The Lone Ranger - the DVD set brought back memories from my youth. The set was well worth the money because it brought a smile and took me back to the days on innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia - quite good reproduction. If you are old enough to remember the series then enjoy !, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
The reproduction is good considering the age, just enjoy the Memory Lane experience ! You learn how he got to be called The Lone Ranger and how Tonto became his sidekick not to mention how Silver became his very special horse. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LONE RANGER FAN, 31 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
HAVE HAD A GREAT TIME WATCHING THIS DVD.MY WHOLE FAMILY USED TO LOOK FORWARD TO THE CRY OF "WHO WAS THAT MASKED MAN?"LOVED IT.ALL THE DISC,S ARE IN GOOD ORDER& ARRIVED WELL PACKED AND EARLIER THAN I EXPECTED,WELL DONE,I WILL BE SHOPPING AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well i`ve gone back to childhood, 2 July 2011
By 
John R. Gidley (plymouth ,devon .uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
what can i say about the lone ranger , love him as a child and still do ,nice to see the first episodes where he became the lone ranger ,good quality considering the age of it (1949 ) and found out kemo sabby is trusted scout ,so hi ho silver away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NICE HORSE, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
BRILLIANT SERIES WATCHED AS KID LOVE IT AS ADULT GOOD MEMORIES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Ho Silver, 12 May 2014
By 
P. Yates "Mr. Moaner" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
A wonderful reminder of Saturday morning cinima, fabulous black and white 1949 adventures, most entertaining pure escapism, a brilliant budget priced box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Ranger In Colour, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
The Lone Ranger was a great TV series. But you either love it or hate it. This 4 DVD set is in good quality colour (not HD) and makes for some very watch-able episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant after 65 years, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set (DVD)
I used to watch these episodes of The Lone Ranger at the "Saturday Morning Pictures" in Walthamstow in the early 1960s before we had a television at home. Rewatching them now, I am still impressed at how well made they are and how good is the moral content of each encounter that the Lone Ranger has.
I am certainly encouraging my children to watch the Lone Ranger instead of the violent and inappropriate programmes that are currently screened on so-called "Children's Television".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set
The Lone Ranger 4 DVD Set by Clayton Moore (DVD - 2006)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews