Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best sit-com EVER
I grew up on the exploits of the On The Buses characters,but on revisiting the scripts and shows 40 years later,it shows what an incredible stroke of luck was involved to create such a piece of pure entertainment.For a start,the initial premise involves an ordinary cockney bus-driver,who despairs of his disfunctional family,his dogs life at work,and his never-ending...
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by scifiry

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this dvd editor should be sacked
picture quality is average "expected for oldies" now the cropping of the image ? not even done, result = permanent black boarders on each side that pushes the image in so that characters and everything else appear stretched vertical.
this dvd editor should be sacked
Published 2 months ago by tarallems


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A grand trip down memory lane., 10 Mar 2010
By 
A time capsule from 40 years ago.

Not sure which is funnier.... The comedy or how we lived way back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comon Us two,,GET THAT BUS OUT!!, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: On The Buses: The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Im 43 years old and grew up watching old school comedy like on the buses,, steptoe and son,,rising damp,ect.dads army,,.
Growing up in the UK in those days it was part of TV.
There was no cable millions of channels or satalite tv there was just 3 channels until channel 4 came along in the mid 80s.
Anyway i didnt get to watch many of this series growing up maybe it wasnt on my mum and dads hit list or just that it may of clashed with soemthing else that was on at the time AS Video in those days just wasnt around.

It wasnt until UK gold and later i really got to watch the actual on the buses TV series for which i enjoyed athough not as much as the films that spawned from it.
Ive now the whole collection and now living in America i cirtainly apreciate watching Britain back in the late 60s and early 70s sometimes puley for the nostalga.
Stan and jacks constant battle with inspector blake played briliantly by stephen lewis never gets old.
Its amazing that both through out the series the obvious drive for Sex and getting out of work is the only thing that seems to be number one in stan and jacks life.
If you look back at comedy from back then you will see that the comedy is purley about sexual inuendo ,,finding ways out of work or race its purely un P.C comedy but it was honest comedy not until the political comedy of the likes of Rick mayal,,Ade Edmonson,, dawn french , jennifer saunders, fry and laurie,, did comedy get real again.
If you are an ex pat growing up in the UK at this time you will know how important to you thease shows were to our national identity.
If you have been back to the UK in the last 5 years you will see how the uk has changed gone are the great comedies and time honored shows that you grew up with and in are the crappy reality shows that have infected the U.S.
The only thing though is the final series stan butler has decided to leave home and go and work in the midlands in a car factory so Blakey moves in as a lodger and blakey and jack harper move central to the plot.

Its my view that after olives divorce and arthur exits from the show and then finaly stan leaves the show i think thats when they should have ended the series.
It just seems to me after the exit of two main characters the series struggled and just have just been put to bed as soon as stan left.

Anyway those days are over England as moved on with the mass migration of easten europeans you will see that Tv over there has changed so much to be totaly unfamiliar.
On the buses collection is a time capsule of everything that was familier of the England i knew including the sense of humor of the time.
So come on Get that bus out..
Ill get you butler!!!! .LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Laugh, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. J. M. Haines (Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Right, let's get the bad bits out of the way first. On the Buses was a low budget sitcom, originally shown from 69 to 73. The plots were wafer thin ( if any plot to mention at all ), and the direction and acting were at least casual if not bad, but . . . they ( the producers and the cast ) got away with it. I am reviewing this now, purely because it is being shown again now on ITV, and I am nearly choking on my tea each night due to laughing at the same time.

The basics : Stan ( Reg Varney ) and Jack ( played by the tragic Bob Grant; the character was oddly called Arthur on occasions by Blakey ), are bus driver and conductor respectively. Stan is the eternal horny but frustrated bachelor, stuck at home with the fussy mother, the ( very ) plain Jane of a sister, Olive, and the ubiquitous stereotyped lazy malcontented brother in law, Arthur. Jack puts Stan in the shade when it comes to lechery - Grant's features add to the working class lounge lizard character magnificently, and he and Stan together are the bane of Inspector Blake's life, as he is the same to them. Stephen Lewis who played Blake / ( Blakey ), was a delightful very little Hitler, with a great gurney face and stupid moustache and when he pulled his worst faces whether it was out of anger and frustration at the pair's antics, or even when he was delighted to get the upper hand, and combined this with either his resigned mutterings followed by 'I 'ate you, Butler!', or if he was laughing as only Blakey can laugh, then I defy anyone anywhere not to end up laughing.

The plots, if they were plots, never differed much: skiving in the form of simply wasting time, or one covering for the other while the cliched clinches with the clippies or local bored housewives were on the go ( with Hubby coming back early and either suspecting or even seeing what was going on ), or more mundane reasons for lateness such as errands for the family; this limited range of scenarios was basically it, across the sitcom's entire screen life.

On the PC / non PC question; well, is it worth pointing out that it was non PC for sure? Compare it with the whole host of under-the-knuckle-never-mind-near it type stuff we have on the box now, and it makes the levying of such a charge at earlier offerings like On the Buses, very very petty indeed.

I can't put my finger on why it was so popular, and still so popular now; the gaffs were obvious and many, the lines were fluffed repeatedly, the budget was seemingly so low it gave the phrase low budget a bad name; perhaps it was the class in among the hammishness from Varney which did it, I just don't know, but, I liked it as a kid, I am enjoying it all again now.

To ITV, it's plainly obvious you are in big big trubs at the moment; but, keep rooting in the archive, the old stuff may yet save your hide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great British Comedy, 12 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Vintage comedy which has lasted and is still as humerous as when I watched the originals nearly 40 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept us amused for hours..., 2 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent value for money and loads of laughs. 2 disks are black and white and the rest colour - all are so funny - so many hours worth of amusement, I would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMEDY GENIUS, 18 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. K. R. Moran "dvd doctor" (Auchinleck, Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On The Buses: The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
THIS IS ONE OF THE FUNNIEST COMEDIES I HAVE EVER SEEN, AND IT WAS SUCH A SHAME IT ENDED

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND BUY A COMEDY CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this dvd editor should be sacked, 11 Feb 2014
picture quality is average "expected for oldies" now the cropping of the image ? not even done, result = permanent black boarders on each side that pushes the image in so that characters and everything else appear stretched vertical.
this dvd editor should be sacked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Buses defies modern logic...., 8 Nov 2010
Let's look at the facts; on the buses has a mid 50yr and mid 40yr old bloke who live with their parents chasing around early 20 something girls, whilst driving a bus. An Inspector deliberately and clearly made to look like Hitler stops them stealing/wasting time, and at home is an actress deliberately made as unattractive as possible for the butt of jokes.

Yet despite this, it all seems to work. The quality of some of the acting is superb - the banter between all of the main characters is superb. It never seems forced, or contrived - it's all fits in together.

The final series is pretty weak - especially after Stan Leaves - but the rest is superb, and peaks in Series 5 - easily the best one!

I hate the way this show is sometimes dragged into the ridiculous "PC" "non PC" world. Just as modern sitcoms are not influenced by being "PC", this isn't "non PC". It's a child of it's times. Sure, there's smoking, men chase women and talk about them in a sexist way, but that happens today - it was more common in the 70s, so very hard to hammer a show for reflecting the times. It's not as if Stan and Co outwitted the women or "won" - they were generally outwitted themselves.

Compare it to stuff which is utterly disgraceful (Love thy Neighbour, Mind your Language) which tended to be to deliberately and provactively racist and offensive, and On the Buses is quite mild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the buses complete boxset > have them English subtitles ??, 30 April 2008
By 
Agh Derks Derks "Piet Derks" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On The Buses: The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
On the buses complete boxset > have them English subtitles ??
Hallo can somebody tell me about these
I'm a Dutchman and want to buy these serie
But without subtitles it is sometimes difficult to follow these serie
In Holland is the serie populair but only two DVD's come out in Holland
Therefore I want to buy it in England

Kind regards,
Piet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy from North America, 18 Mar 2012
Love On the Buses from when I was a kid. Looked forward to watching the episodes again. However, region DVD restrictions prevent them being watched on DVD players in North America. Too bad, would have liked to have known this prior to ordering. I got a full refund but it cost me $16.00 in postage to return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

On The Buses: The Complete Series Boxset [DVD]
Used & New from: 48.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews