Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best sit-com EVER
I grew up on the exploits of the On The Buses characters,but on revisiting the scripts and shows 40 years later,it shows what an incredible stroke of luck was involved to create such a piece of pure entertainment.For a start,the initial premise involves an ordinary cockney bus-driver,who despairs of his disfunctional family,his dogs life at work,and his never-ending...
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by scifiry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
If you enjoy old series this is a good selection of this series.
Published 1 month ago by tumbletun


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic 70s, 3 Mar 2013
I'm in my 30,s so wasn't around when this aired. I remember an episode from my youth so decided to flatter my intrigue and bought the box set. I couldn't have spent my money any better. My fave sitcom of all time. This is essentially "carry on the buses", proper naughty seaside postcard humour. All the characters are treasures in their own right. The main characters being Butler, harper and blake with great support from Arthur, olive and mum. All episodes are a perfect 1/2 hour of enjoyment of nostalgia. Have watched an episode a week at least since watching the whole series in one go. Never get tired of the goings on and continue to watch after owning for 2 years. Add the films to the mix and a weekend will fly by. Appreciate comedy at its best, no swearing, just gentle comedy that you don't get nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Buses Complete Collection, 18 April 2009
By 
S. Davies (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a must buy for anyone who loves On The Buses, 11 discs of non stop non pc comedy.

Cannot recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ain't it marvelous!, 24 Feb 2012
By 
C. A. cardoza - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased the complete On The Buses sight unseen based upon having seen Stephen Lewis in Oh Doctor Beeching! (brilliant!). Initially, I was a bit disappointed. As has been mentioned by others, series 1 and 2 are weak, I almost gave up on the show. But by the middle of series 3 it had grown on me and I was hooked.

Of course every time Blakey (Lewis) opens his mouth it is pure gold. Far and away the character that makes this show for me. Additionally the characters of Arthur (Michael Robbins) and Olive (Anna Karen). Olive is funny straight away in the first episode and the interaction between the two gets better the longer the show is on. Arthur's obvious contempt for his wife who clearly adores him is simply well played and always funny.

Stan (Reg Varney) and Jack (Bob Grant) are both capable at carrying the story lines and providing ample comedy on their own and with Blakey and the various clippys who throw themselves at these two paragons of masculine prowess. Sadly, something always seems to get in the way for poor old Stan. Often getting in the way is his mum (Doris Hare). Mum as a character does a fine job of being the glue for the family and she furthers much of the plot.

The stories are simple and predictable. You will likley never be surprised by some wicked plot twist. But it's not about that, it's about this group of 6 characters and their interactions with each other and the comedy which results. There is quite a bit of clever word play as well as some very good physical comedy from Reg Varney (the episode where he's done his back in and the lads load him into the cab of his bus whilst he is wearing a corset is brilliant physical comedy).

I was torn between 3 or 4 stars for this show, but in the end, it makes me happy and makes the characters seem like old friends rendering it both watchable and re-watchable. So I give 4. I would not give it 5 stars because it pales when compared to shows like The Good Life, To The Manor Born or Dad's Army where the writing and character development and even acting is far more sophisticated. This show views much more like a filmed play than a polished show. There are a lot of fluffed lines, but there is also genuine live audience reaction.

And if you like this show and loved the Blakey character, check out Oh Doctor Beeching!, he's the same old Stephen Lewis, and ain't it marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RETURN TICKET TO LAUGHTER., 14 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this series is a funfest for all , it will surely have you laughing without a doubt ,the only negativity is the condition of some of the episodes because lines appear in the picture and the series starts in b/w then series 2 is in colour then i think its series 4 is in b/w again ,but even with those faults i was still laughing and i would rather watch this series in that condition than not at all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. K. Matley (manchester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I PURCHASED THE 11DVD PACKAGE FOR MY FATHER AS A PRESENT, AND BOTH I AND MY FATHER HAVE BEEN LAUGHING EVER SINCE WE PUT THE FIRST DVD OF THE SET IN
THE PLAYER,THIS IS CLASSIC COMEDY AT ITS BEST IN MY OPINION,THE ANTICS OF THE BUTLER FAMILY AND THEIR FRIENDS IS BRILLIANTLY PUT TOGETHER,AND THE PRICE IN MY OPINION IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY,ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE A FAN OF ON THE BUSES OR JUST WANT TO SEE COMEDY AT ITS FINEST,WELL DONE FOR BRINGING OUT THE DVDS HAS A COMPLETE SERIES SET,SO YOU CAN GET ALL THE LAUGHS FOR ONE PRICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 6 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. Elizabeth Laight "wooly 42" (kent england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
purchased this for my sons birthday. tried to buy in shops but couldnt find it. he was very pleased wiyh the dvds quality was excellent and made good viewing. have never ordered before from amazon i found the service great and hassle free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars political correctness no were in site, 19 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ON THE BUSES .I THINK IS A REMINDER OF HOW SIMPLE LIFE WAS BEFORE WE LET THE PC BRIGADE IN.A TIME WERE IF IT WAS FUNNY YOU COULD LAUGH WITH OUT BEING JUDGED. WELL DONE JACK.. GETTING RISING DAMP NEXT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rib tickling., 16 Aug 2014
On the buses is a self explanatory situation comedy. Stan (driver), Jack (conductor) and the oft disobeyed Blakey (inspector) are the main characters. Also extensively featured is Stan's home life (mother, sister and brother-in-law). Stan and Jack are also a pair of randy so and so's, whose aim in life is to 'bed' as many female clippies as possible. Jack often scores, Stan's assignations always go wrong. This comedy is slapstick (without the pie throwing) and at times very very funny. Over seventy episodes and three spin off films were produced.....During 1969-73 this was a sitcom that everyone watched. It has never lost its sparkle and is excellent viewing for most families...........Because of its past popularity it is deserving of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pure tv gold, 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love it love it love it! what can you say a pure tv classic tv at its best a time gone by that can never be gotten back some of the episodes were even before i was born but i remember them well from the lats 70's. a great boxset and will keep you entertained and laughing for hours a must for your dvd collection, just buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ex bus conductor, 11 Jun 2010
By 
limeyed "ed" (hapshire england) - See all my reviews
I was a bus conductor when this series was made and a lot of the antics happened believe me! excellent series and very good value for money also brings back happy memories
Eddie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On The Buses: The Complete Series Boxset [DVD]
Used & New from: £29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews