Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRITISH TV AT IT'S BEST
This great series has not been shown on TV since the mid 80s. It's a really good series mixing action, drama, surrealism, contrived (but good) comedy and a bit of camp in Charlie Endell's gangster ways! A few episodes in the 2nd series dragged a bit, ie the Greyhound one. The 1st series was overall stronger except for a dull court episode. Adam Faith's laid back acting...
Published on 7 Jan 2007 by Aalui

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product
The dvd is perfect but the content is not as good as I remembered, my memories must have been rose tinted!
Published 10 months ago by JCEE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
The dvd is perfect but the content is not as good as I remembered, my memories must have been rose tinted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Budgie dvd's, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
What a trip back in time, the story lines are slow, it looks amateurish. But what fun, Adam faith was a good actor, he did wel
For his first acting role. The 70's fashions are a scream. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series about a petty crook, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
**THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

Ronald "Budgie" Bird is a born loser - a petty crook who clings to the fringes of Soho's bent society. An incorrigible optimist, he has an eye for easy money, pretensions to the big time and a cornered market in failure. But Budgie bounces along - a snowball in Charlie Endell's private hell, trying to be a blizzard...

Adam Faith gives a career-best performance in this top-rated, early 70s drama series from LWT. Created by Keith Waterhouse and Willis Hall (Billy Liar, Worzel Gummidge), the series also features Iain Cuthbertson (Children of the Stones, The Railway Children) as bad-tempered spiv Charles Endell esquire (a role he would later reprise seven years after Budgie was axed in 1972 in the short-lived STV-produced spin-off series from 1979, Charles Endell Esquire), and guest stars of the calibre of Jack Shepherd, John Thaw, James Bolam and Derek Jacobi.

Note: The first four episodes of the first series from 1971 are in black and white because industrial action took place during production of the show, so as far as those four particular episodes are concerned no colour version has ever existed. There are some special features on this DVD set which consist of a featurette on the making of Budgie; an audio commentary on the episode "King for a Day"; "Pressure Cookie", a making-of documentary of Budgie from 1971; a 1974 Adam Faith interview with Russell Harty; and an image gallery.

Overall, Budgie is a really good show to watch as it's very entertaining. I was also lucky enough to collect the spin-off Charles Endell Esquire on DVD from a webshop called UKRarities which is equally good. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adam, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Another side of a famous singer, much missed. Quite amusing at times although some episodes a bit heavy going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I was very happy with this purchase as I always am with thing I get from Amazon and will always check to see if I can get from you before trying elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London lowlife in the early 70's... Amazing., 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I was a baby when the Budgie series was first screened some 42 years ago, the show was repeated on channel 4 in in the early 80s, though I never took much notice of it at that time.

FFWD to 2013 I took the plunge and purchased the boxset of the whole 2 serials, watched every episode over the course of 2 weeks and was delighted at what I seen, its was a cross between a comedy sitcom and a kitchen sink drama, somewhere between Minder and only fools and horses, but this is a whole lot better and that's coming from a big Minder fan.

Budgie Bird is a perennial loser, with ideas of getting rich that never work out, sometimes they end in his going to prison, or getting roughed up by some of the underworld of London of the early 70s.

Budgie works on a casual basis for Glaswegian pornshop and strip club owner Charlie Endell esquire, this character is subtly threatening and has some nasty henchmen, most notably Laughing spam fritter. Endell is a suave gangster with a Kelvinside accent and delusions of grandeur, but ive no doubt hes from Govan or the Gorbals areas of Glasgow originally, he seems to like Budgie, but in many cases loses his patience with him and shows his nasty streak.

Budgie has some other interesting associates such as the Irish fellow and crook, who he teams up with on occasion to ply their crooked ways together, such as in the Jump up boys episode and in the first show of the series.

Budgie never had a great start in life and this shows in the family he has who could not give a stuff for him, Budgie is a dodgy cockney, but likeable if a little dim. The last episode of the series was pretty saddening and we seen Endell show his true self in the end. I loved every episode of this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic TV, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Can't believe it's taken me this long to buy this set. It was such a great show when I saw it on reruns 20 odd years ago. Adam Faith is such a lovable rogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This ain't for the birds . . . . ., 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I bought the box sets of series one and two - last century, I think, 1990s anyway. This was before I discovered Amazon, the days when I
might spend an enjoyable afternoon rummaging through HMV at New Bond Street yet emerge exhausted and without really having found anything
interesting to buy. Well, I did buy "Budgie", on one such afternoon, watched each episode and thought a bit about Adam Faith - this was about
the time he died. All quite piquant. Adam Faith's death, as related to me, could have come straight out of a "Budgie" episode.

I watched both series again during the Olympics. Not much else on the box as relief from the grim business of watching Brits grinding out
medals in the name of world harmony! I shut myself away some nights with a jug of cold Pimms and watched in sequence, now at some distance
from Adam Faith's own demise.

Bloody excellent. I in no way agree with the guy who gave it a two star rating. Even though I'd watched these before, I still found myself being
gripped by some of the episodes and the characterisation is first rate. It may be that Keith Waterhouse could only write "Billy Liar" as a character
with any degree of conviction - Budgie is another Billy Liar, I think - it may be even that there was a large element of Billy Liar to Waterhouse himself -
but Iain Cuthbertson, Georgina Hale, Lynne Dalby and whoever played Laughing Spam Fritter all bring their characters vividly to life. Soon
the penchant that British television still has for making succesful period dramas may be overtaken by the succesful dramas made DURING the period.
Budgie is definitely one of these - well worth the watch (if you can get a decent copy at LESS than forty quid!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gamer, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Present for a family it took ages to watch and they wanted it reallly badily so i got them it and they fully enjoyed it all and will watch it again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I used to like watching this when it was on TV and missed a lot of it so decided to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Budgie - The Complete Series Boxset [DVD] [1971]
27.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews