Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Baywatch's only true decent season
Three years after Knight Rider came to an end the Hoff finally found another TV vehicle (no pun intended!) in which he starred as a central character in a LA lifeguard station. Thus in 1989, Baywatch was born and we were introduced to Lieutenant Mitch Buchannon and his team of life guards.

Long before the show became a launchpad for every LA supermodel and...
Published on 25 Nov. 2011 by CJ1980

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD but....
Nice to get the original and best season of Baywatch on DVD. However after taking the plunge and buying the set my suspicions were confirmed in that sadly the original opening theme of this series 'Save Me' by Peter Cetera has been replaced on all the episodes by the rights friendly track by Kim Carnes. Which can be heard currently on the UKTVGOLD repeats of season 1...
Published on 12 Dec. 2006 by James Burnwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD but...., 12 Dec. 2006
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Nice to get the original and best season of Baywatch on DVD. However after taking the plunge and buying the set my suspicions were confirmed in that sadly the original opening theme of this series 'Save Me' by Peter Cetera has been replaced on all the episodes by the rights friendly track by Kim Carnes. Which can be heard currently on the UKTVGOLD repeats of season 1. It's not a bad song, but it doesn't fit the visuals as well and it's not better than 'Save Me'. A shame, but what can you do? There is no R1 set of this season as they are starting with season 2 and including episodes of S1 as extras. From what I've read they have also replaced the theme music, even the familiar later theme has been replaced by some Hoff penned monstrosity. There are german releases of Baywatch on DVD, but I don't know if they have the original music or not.

If you want series one this set is still worth buying.

Update: I understand the german releases which can be bought from German Amazon have the correct theme music. They contain an english soundtrack as well obviously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baywatch's only true decent season, 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Three years after Knight Rider came to an end the Hoff finally found another TV vehicle (no pun intended!) in which he starred as a central character in a LA lifeguard station. Thus in 1989, Baywatch was born and we were introduced to Lieutenant Mitch Buchannon and his team of life guards.

Long before the show became a launchpad for every LA supermodel and perfectly bodied male and female actor in the States, this series started out as a enjoyable drama styled series with strong stories weaved in with nice touches of comedy. It's fair to say that Baywatch will never come top of the list in outstanding acting awards, but this first series has alot to offer.

It is important to remember that the first season was produced by NBC who decided to drop it after the first year because of poor ratings. This makes this set of episodes different from the subsequent seasons in that there are some good action sequences (courtesy of a decent budget NBC provided) and some decent actors like Parker Stevenson (Craig Pomeroy), Shawn Weatherly (Jill Riley), Peter Phelps (Trevor Cole) and John Allen Nelson (John D Cort) who had all departed by the time the second (revamped) season arrived in 1991.

I remember being pleasantly surprised by this series when I first watched it on ITV being aired early on Saturday evenings around 1990. By the mid 1990s I had long switched off as the show had just melted into a mish mash of sloppy soap style stories and the majority of the cast were about as wooden as the boats they sailed in!

An enjoyable first season, but forget the later seasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best season of the entire show., 18 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Baywatch, as many people will be aware, was cancelled after its first season. I find it highly ironic that the stories are far stronger and the acting of a much higher standard in the first season than any of the others. Of course, the show hit its popular peak in the early to mid-90s when Pamela Anderson was on board (season three onwards), and the show went through three or four seasons of cast stability. However, the show did at the same time simultaneously descend into strict formula. The slo-mo montages became a staple feature of most episodes and Pamela Anderson was almost always the first person on screen if she was in a particular show. Still, it was always fun. But the first season was far more structured, the drama always a bit more convincing than later on. This might be, in part, due to the production problems pushing the writers and producers to make a stronger show. Compare the death of Jill near the end of the season to how the "death" of Mitch was handled in season ten.

It's interesting to note that Season 1, which was in part produced by ITV in the UK, also had different distribution deals in order to get it sold, which has resulted in it being unavailable on DVD in the US. If you are thinking of buying the cheaper season sets available on Amazon.com, do be aware that because Season 1 is not available, they have renumbered (!) the subsequent seasons, so that what is actually Season 2 is being released as Season 1. I ask you! So do be careful.

Another thing, and I am really hoping they kept it for the DVD, is that Season 1 had a different theme song. "Save Me" was performed by Peter Cetera and is, in my opinion, a much better song than "I'm Always Here" which was used on the rest of the show. I know when the first season has been repeated in syndication, it has often had the opening credit sequence edited down and redubbed with the second song, presumably to give more consistency to the show. I am hoping they have left the opening and closing credits intact in their original forms on the UK DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I did not buy this DVD from amazon.co.uk (I loved the character of Jill and was totally crushed when she...), 6 April 2014
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Before Pamela Denise Anderson Lee (not actual name) came along there was Shawn Weatherly, as Jill Riley. I always preferred her over the dire Erika Eleniak, and was SO angry when the show chose to focus more on the blonde bimbo than the real star of the show. But I digress, Baywatch here, without certain big boobies, is only watchable when Jill has a starring role, otherwise it's worse than Cheryl Tweedy. The Hoff is diabolical. The entire show is excrement. But I'll always cherish my favourite all time character Jill and the meagre storylines she was afforded. I seem to remember that there were at least two instances of bare breasts in the pilot ep "Panic at Malibu Pier" but I can't remember if they, the boobies, appear on this version of the box set. Speaking of the pilot Madchen Amick, from Twin Peaks, appears as an unhinged young woman who attempts to murder a character, played by a different actress in the pilot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont bother with this UK rip-off, buy German, 1 May 2007
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Strange that the German version of the same Season 1 is 1083 minutes long in comparison to the edited UK set of only 1035 minutes. The pilot in itself contains some scenes on the German set that were not on the UK one. Go to amazon.de for the real item on six discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, 1 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Just started rewatching Baywatch the other month first time since the 90s.
They were showing it on Movies 4 Men but the episodes are all cut with different music in.
The best way to watch is the German DVDs which have the original music in and much less cuts if any.
The picture is not great but this is a really old show.
Am really enjoying season 1 though and am coming to the end now.
This is now one of my best shows and I think David Hasselhoff is really cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, 14 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
How I loved this series when I was a young girl!The DVDs bring back some good old memories and I enjoy very much watching the best season of the series over and over again!

P.S.: The german releases do have the original opening title "Save Me" by Peter Cetera!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Baywatch at its best, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The original season 1 of the classic series. Great if you liked this show before it became Playboy's showroom. TV quality DVD however, don't expect something crystal clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality is not the best, but this one is by far, 12 July 2014
By 
Hebs (Brasilia, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Picture quality is not the best, but this one is by far, my favorite season of Baywatch! Billy Warlock and John Allen Nelson are totally worth the price! Love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great good recording just as i remembered it many years ago have now got season 2 now to see what that is like i belive by dofferent comapny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD]
Baywatch - Series 1 [DVD] by David Hasselhoff (DVD - 2006)
£18.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews