Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like
How refreshing it is when a master producer and a great artist collaborate for a second time , only to reward listeners with a collection of songs that sound nothing like the prior recording. Ethan Johns and Ray LaMontagne hook up to produce one of the real stunning and rewarding discs I've heard this year. Stunning, because how different the disc is from it's...
Published on 3 Aug 2006 by irishcornboy

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It depends what you're after....
If you're after a continuation of Trouble, with Ray's heartfelt and blistering vocal delivery allied with, dare I say it, catchy tunes (Burn, Jolene, All the Wild Horses-hmmm 'catchy' seems a bit of an insult to them) then this album won't be for you.
Trouble has a more sparse production, while this is heavy with effects, and is possibly more of a 'concept' album. It...
Published on 14 Jan 2008 by Bootsy


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ray lamontagne, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Da Scott "daz scott" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
get this album its so mellow so full of soul chilled me right out , he has an awesome voice like melted chocolate !!!!! excellent use of strings on the first track sent shivers down my spine i love it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Mar 2009
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
Wonderful album, fairly quirky but hooks you right in. I've had it for quite a while now and it still gets me most of the time. Good quality recording too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over produced, 6 Mar 2007
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
I have to agree with a previous reviewer, the producer of both albums is especially bad on Ray's second album. Ray is different in style on this album and he doesn't use his voice as much which means we get to listen to the backtracks a lot more, which in some cases are just really tacky. With a voice like his you need minimal interference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
dissapionted in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
great lyrics,great voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 11 Jan 2008
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
What an incredible artist. His song writing is amazing and his voice is just so good. I particularly love 'Stay' and 'Trouble'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ditch the producer !, 29 Dec 2006
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
love ray's music but in my opinion he suffers greatly from the (over)production of ethan johns. listen to any of his demos (that were available on the internet) or see ray live with minimal accompaniment and you'll know what i mean. ethan johns kills the songs in the same way that he killed the raw earthy sound of whiskeytown and early ryan adams. this kind of beauty does not need syrupy overproduction and schmaltz. ditch the producer and stop going for a soft rock radio friendly sound .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Double Trouble, 23 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. W. Beacock (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Till The Sun Turns Black (Audio CD)
Personally i think the album Trouble is better than this one, don't get me wrong though i do like this one but not as much as Trouble, but it's down to personal taste at the end of the day, and may be it will grow on me with time and the more times i play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Till The Sun Turns Black
Till The Sun Turns Black by Ray LaMontagne (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews