Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest known to me
I don't know how this item isn't rated higher. The other reviews are just foolish. He was the greatest stand up comedian known to man. Bill Hicks, George Carlin close behind.
live at the sunset strip Is one of the funniest things you ever likely to see. Seriously everyone should own this DVD. The editing come been better but that really doesn't concern me in the...
Published on 27 Jan 2011 by Videokidsandwich

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pryor's swansong
This boxset is of two of Richard Pryor's final filmed performances before the chronic illness which beset him took him off the road. His act is still great, but you can see signs that the drug abuse is beginning to take its toll.

Live on the Sunset Strip is the weaker of the two shows, mostly due to some very poor editing interrupting the natural flow of...
Published on 25 Nov 2009 by boz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two fabulous shows for one small price!, 29 Jan 2011
By 
V. Cook "dvd-addict" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Pryor: Live On Sunset Strip/Here And Now [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I am a massive fan of Richard Pryor, and if you watch these two marvellous shows, you will see why he is now heralded as a comedy genius.

His comedy timing was amazing, and his honesty, although sometimes almost painful to hear, shines through his material, which is always funny, consistently in fact!

I know a lot of people prefer his "live in concert" dvd, which is also great, but I think "here and now" is his finest hour, (other than his live cds, go check out the boxset of his albums, a really great collection of Pryor at his hilarious best), I can't recommend it highly enough.

If you want to see a 100% comedy genius at work, buy this, sit back and be prepared to laugh, because, unless your funny bone is broken, you surely will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest known to me, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: Richard Pryor: Live On Sunset Strip/Here And Now [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I don't know how this item isn't rated higher. The other reviews are just foolish. He was the greatest stand up comedian known to man. Bill Hicks, George Carlin close behind.
live at the sunset strip Is one of the funniest things you ever likely to see. Seriously everyone should own this DVD. The editing come been better but that really doesn't concern me in the slightest. Its like saying Roberts Johnson music is badly recorded I cant listen to it. I own many Richard Pyror DVDs Im so glad I added this too my collection. Really great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Pryor, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Pryor: Live On Sunset Strip/Here And Now [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this dvd after seeing a documentary about Richard on BBC and i had only previously seen his first live show on video. I have watched this since, still very funny considering all his personal problems that he was recovering from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 5 May 2012
This review is from: Richard Pryor: Live On Sunset Strip/Here And Now [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
These are the final two stand up DVDs of Richard and they are really funny although not as funny as Live in concert but that was comedy genius and it would be very hard for him to top it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pryor's swansong, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: Richard Pryor: Live On Sunset Strip/Here And Now [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This boxset is of two of Richard Pryor's final filmed performances before the chronic illness which beset him took him off the road. His act is still great, but you can see signs that the drug abuse is beginning to take its toll.

Live on the Sunset Strip is the weaker of the two shows, mostly due to some very poor editing interrupting the natural flow of Pryor's set. On Here and Now, however, you get a much better representation of what made Richard Pryor the instigator of a great line of black american comedians. His act is incisive and cutting, his banter with the audience is magical and his character work, especially with the character of Mudbone, the homeless wino, is second to none.

Still not as good as Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] [1978], which is what any Pryor beginners should invest in, but a good buy for a collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Pryor: Live On Sunset Strip/Here And Now [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I like his films better, The racist jokes of his stand up routine began to wear thin and i began to feel annoyance thinking, 'if this was said by a white man then no decent person would find it funny'. This killed the rest of the DVD for me and i threw it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard Pryor: Live On Sunset Strip/Here And Now [DVD] [2006]
Used & New from: 0.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews