Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant
I had to add my thoughts as I really feel the previous reviews don't do this wonderful album justice. I'm a huge fan of Alice Russell too, but I can't agree that Spanky Wilson is in any way a lesser singer. She brings a rawness that is makes for an epic combination against the Quantic backdrop. I really think this album deserves true classic status, and that's not...
Published on 1 May 2009 by Mayor of Simpleton

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Bassy?
Music on this album is very good indeed tho the vocals well thats another thing...Im in agreement with the other reviewer Alice Russell has such a better voice!I went to see a few months ago QSO with Spanky Wilson doing the vocals it was terrible!! Argh! Its was like ITV's Shirley Bassy night and if it was for Ben Westbeech supporting it would of been a total waste of my...
Published on 19 July 2007 by Harvey Keane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 1 May 2009
This review is from: Im Thankful (Audio CD)
I had to add my thoughts as I really feel the previous reviews don't do this wonderful album justice. I'm a huge fan of Alice Russell too, but I can't agree that Spanky Wilson is in any way a lesser singer. She brings a rawness that is makes for an epic combination against the Quantic backdrop. I really think this album deserves true classic status, and that's not something I say lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that good, 13 Dec 2006
This review is from: Im Thankful (Audio CD)
I was thrilled to find another release from QSO / Will Holland etc. And on the face of it this is a great album, raw, funky and to the point. However the vocals by Spanky Wilson just don't match Alice Russell, you can't help but wonder what the album would have been like with her amazing voice, indeed 'Don't joke with the hungry man' has been released with Alice Russell on vocals and has much more zing to it. Don't get me wrong this is a good album but not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 July 2013
This review is from: Im Thankful (Audio CD)
Quantic soul orchestra track heard accidentally on the radio. I looked into it and discovered this album. Excellent must listen to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spanking good album, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Adrian E. Webb (kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Im Thankful (Audio CD)
spanky wilson was a singer i grew up with in the 70's and loved her ,so when i saw this album i got excited and a bit doubtful too as to whether she could still cut it in the industry,boy was i shocked .this album rips your head off and stuffs funk down your neck. the stand out track is dont upset a hungry man, the bassline just keeps on thumping away at you-with a slight undertone of melting pot by booker t and the mgs.
and you cant judge a book by its cover -with a slight hint of the benny hill theme ,all make for a bargain priced slice of modern funk with a legend of a singer to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spanking stuff, 22 Oct 2011
By 
Charlie B (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I'm Thankful (MP3 Download)
Great voice, and a fresh backing sound. Nice! The title track is a good'un, and there are a couple of other belters on here. Not outstanding, but very well priced indeed, and if not a classic, still definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Bassy?, 19 July 2007
This review is from: Im Thankful (Audio CD)
Music on this album is very good indeed tho the vocals well thats another thing...Im in agreement with the other reviewer Alice Russell has such a better voice!I went to see a few months ago QSO with Spanky Wilson doing the vocals it was terrible!! Argh! Its was like ITV's Shirley Bassy night and if it was for Ben Westbeech supporting it would of been a total waste of my hard earnt money.
Will Holland drop the old dear!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Im Thankful
Im Thankful by Spanky Wilson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews