Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant disc of organ music
Wow, what a disc! This CD is billed as the last recording of the St Pauls organ before restoration but it sounds anything but. The organ sounds superb and the performer, Huw Williams, delivers all the pieces with aplomb and really brings out both the power and the subtlety of the St Pauls organ. The choice of works is excellently varied and the recording quality superb...
Published on 20 May 2007 by Jack Butterworth

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ouch!
Great music spoilt by poor sound mixing. The rousing pieces are just too loud compared to the quieter ones. The volume control on my CD player was constantly up and down as I adjusted the sound between music that was too loud and alternately so quiet that I was unable to hear it. Wonderful music and playing ruined by sound technicians. Sorry but unlistenable.
Published on 23 Mar. 2012 by nstew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant disc of organ music, 20 May 2007
By 
Jack Butterworth (Winchester, Hants) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
Wow, what a disc! This CD is billed as the last recording of the St Pauls organ before restoration but it sounds anything but. The organ sounds superb and the performer, Huw Williams, delivers all the pieces with aplomb and really brings out both the power and the subtlety of the St Pauls organ. The choice of works is excellently varied and the recording quality superb. Highlights include the festive Dubois Toccata, Guy Bovet's pulsating prelude 'Hamburg' and the haunting 'Master Tallis's Testament' (Howells.) In short, a must-have for all pipe organ fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly spectacular, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
Michael G. Mappin (Hanwell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
So many organ CDs with the title "Spectacular" fail in some way to live up to the title. Not so this one. A difficult organ to record successfully, the Grand Organ of St Paul's is marvellously captured here with a real sense of space. Huw Williams' playing makes the most of this marvellously versatile instrument and the spine-tingling acoustic of the Cathedral. The choice of repertoire is interesting and adventurous and Williams sounds as if he is enjoying himself: of particular note are the Howells' Master Tallis's Testament and the Bovet 'Hamburg' prelude. Yes the music is spectacular, no it is not hackneyed. If you are thinking of buying this CD, the chances are you already have some organ recordings: this compilation has enough that is unusual to interest you that probably doesn't feature on other collections. On the other hand, if you are buying your first organ compilation, this is the one for you, with its excitingly varied repertoire, superb playing and fantastic instrument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great starter for 10!, 30 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
As a newbie buying his first Organ music CD (after getting hooked on Radio 2's 'The organist entertains' whilst working late shifts!), i was very impressed. I never knew the variety of music that is able to be played on a church organ, from spine tingling 'belters' like Widor's and Dubois toccata to ever so soft and melodic pieces like Thalben Balls Elegy and the sublime like Guilmant's Interlude (one of my favourites at only 1:52 in length)and Bovet's Hamburg.
This is a great album, spoilt a little quite a lot of hiss on the recording (but that could be due to the immense size of St Pauls. i'm not sure), but still worth every penny. Buy it! It's already on my MP3 Player...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thrills galore, 17 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
Get out your seatbelt-St Paul's organ unleashed is a real stunner!Add to that fabulous playing and a really varied programme and you have a disc to annoy the neighbours bigtime.It also preserves the organ before it's last rebuild in 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable cd, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
I heard Widor's toccata on my car radio first of all ( I had heard the music before, but didn't know the title ). I then tracked it down on the Amazon website and ordered it; couldn't wait for this cd to arrive. It came in the post very quickly and I lost no time in playing it on my computer so I now do my emails etc. to the sound of this glorious music through my headphones.
Is there a more powerful pipe organ than this one? if so I'd like to hear it because this is divine and Huw Williams plays all the tracks faultlessly, you can hear every note
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Organ Spectacular, 27 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral
Love it, and particularly the Widor Toccata.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Organ Spectacular, 6 Jun. 2012
By 
Roy Caswell (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
This has a good selection of material. I bought it and use it for church services, when our oganist is having a week off, to provide background music before and after the service. It certainly fooled some of the congregation who had not noticed that our resident organist was absent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
Shipping to Germany worked super!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Organ extra-ordinary, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
I bought this for a friend, who telephoned to say it was a wonderful, well chosen selection of divine works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral (Audio CD)
Good CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral
Organ Spectacular from St Paul's Cathedral by Huw Williams (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews