Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again They Will Rise...
Well, what can I say? They have done it again - and possibly with their best album yet! Don't get me wrong, I love all their albums, but this was the first Lamb Of God album I bought after hearing Redneck on Kerrang, and I've been hooked ever since! If you are a fan of Lamb Of God, then you will love it; if you are new to metal then this album is a very good starting...
Published on 30 Aug 2008 by Mr. Zebulon tm Minett

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice album...
A nice album, although not my favourite, but I still think Lamb Of God are one of the most talented bands around.
Published on 28 Jun 2007 by kingboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again They Will Rise..., 30 Aug 2008
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
Well, what can I say? They have done it again - and possibly with their best album yet! Don't get me wrong, I love all their albums, but this was the first Lamb Of God album I bought after hearing Redneck on Kerrang, and I've been hooked ever since! If you are a fan of Lamb Of God, then you will love it; if you are new to metal then this album is a very good starting point! I couldn't choose any standout tracks if I tried because they're all amazing - the sound of musicians at the top of their game. Mark Morton and Willie Adler lay down some amazing riffs to rival even the mighty riffs of 'Laid To Rest' and 'Hourglass' from Ashes Of The Wake - 'Redneck' is a favourite of mine, with a riff to die for!
Album opener 'Walk With Me In Hell' has a really dark opening riff, then it goes into headbanging territory, with some outstanding drum work from Chris Adler! This then runs into 'Again We Rise', a song about heresy - again, a truly amazing song. One of my personal favourites 'Redneck' storms in at Track 3 on the album, the riff is a stroke of genius! Then comes the breakneck 'Pathetic' with a breakdown riff so good it'll blow you away! 'Foot To The Throat' has an interesting breakdown to really give the song some variety, and is a very ferocious song, as the title suggests. The machine gun double pedalling of 'Descending' is astounding - this one's a real thrash song! 'Blacken The Cursed Sun' is an absolute stormer and another of my personal favourites, with the band firing on all cylinders. This is closely followed by 'Forgotten (Lost Angels)' and 'Requiem' which run straight into one another with no trouble at all, and both songs are brilliant! Then comes 'More Time To Kill', a song with a really evil and driving riff, and finally comes 'Beating On Death's Door', a huge sounding song that closes a truly epic metal album! As I said earlier, both Mark Morton and Willie Adler churn out some truly amazing riffs, with John Campbell and Chris Adler making a truly formidable rhythm section and a force to be reckoned with! Randy Blythe's vocals are as powerful as ever, although there is some melody added in on some songs, which I think is a great addition to an already great sound! And as always, his lyrics are brilliant and poignant!
Definitely one of my favourite metal albums from possibly the finest metal band on this planet! I recommend this album!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lamb Of God Sacrament, 11 July 2007
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
Virginia metalcore kings Lamb of God get personal on the blistering Sacrament, an 11-track onslaught of machine gun riffs and larynx-shredding vocals filtered through an immaculately mapped-out rhythm section that owes as much to progressive rock as it does traditional heavy metal. Producer Machine, who helped craft 2004's Ashes of the Wake into one of the best metal records of the year, has returned, tightening his wrench and experimenting on Randy Blythe's voice like a fever-mad scientist. Longtime fans will no doubt debate the virtues of Sacrament's commercial bullet, the scathing White Zombie-meets-Megadeth single "Redneck," but the rest of the album is as brutal as anything they've ever done. Melodic opener "Walk with Me in Hell" culls inspiration from Piece of Mind-era Iron Maiden, "Pathetic" wraps itself around a sinewy lead that sounds like a snake swallowing dinner, and "Blacken the Cursed Sun," easily one of the best metal songs of 2006, shows further evidence of the band's potential to become the American version of Opeth. If Sacrament suffers from anything, it's a pounding sense of sameness. They rarely stray from the "Drop D" tuning, resulting in a second half that tends to blur, shake, and sputter out a bit, but there's no denying Lamb of God's almost unnerving power to conjure wind from the tiniest of stereo speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selling out? hell no more like stepping it up!, 14 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. R. Colwill "L0ather" (Malvern, Worcs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
Sacrament is Lamb of Gods second major-label studio outing and it's a well needed development of the first. Starting with the sound of `Walk with Me in Hell' the album's production is flawless, even Chris Adlers performance behind the kit sounds better than ever. Randy Blythe has given his vocal chords more range on tracks `Pathetic' & `Blacken the Cursed Sun', and his lyrical content is more personally themed this time round, decidedly steering clear of his political opinions. Guitarists Mark Morton & Wille Adler showoff their skill & songwriting ability throughout and even their newfound melodic edge doesn't in anyway compromise the brutality of the bands overall product. The feel here is that they have concentrated on introductions and in `Descending' this is particularly noticeable. Any fans of previous albums Ashes of the Wake and As the Palaces will really appreciate this record and the bands evolution into a fine modern outfit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of finest albums of our time, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
Sacrament is Lamb of God's fourth full length studio album and perhaps their best to date. The musicianship is of the highest standard; head and shoulders above many of their peers, their influences and their own earlier albums.
The album is chocked full of career highlights from the brooding opener `Walk with Me in Hell,' or the anthemic chant along `Blacken The Cursed Sun,' to furiously catchy single `Redneck,' nothing is ever short of amazing, the band have never sounded so good. The album is such a step up its really difficult to stop listening to it over and over again when you first hear it.
Everything about this album just clicks, a trend started with 2004's Ashes of the Wake. When its fast and heavy, its fast and heavy in just the right way. When its dark and brooding, its dark and brooding in just the right way and so on.
Even the production is amazing, while the Producer named Machine may be criticized for making Ashes of the Wake a little too safe or overproduced, nothing but compliments are deserved for the dark and very heavy sound on Sacrament.
Every band member ups their game on this album, better bass, greater variety, more guitar solos and unbelievable quality drumming. Chris Adler is a fantastic drummer and brings an energy to the music that would surely be missing without him, as well as being the business brains and motivational focus of the band he is musical backbone and a huge part of what makes any song sound like Lamb of God.
I can't recommend the Sacrament enough; There are no weak songs on this album, there are no performances that feel phoned in and there are no guitar solos that sound anything less than the best solo that could possibly work in any given song. If you have even a passing interest in Lamb of God you really need to check out this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars. One of the best albums I've ever bought, 5 May 2007
By 
K. Mcgregor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
I got this album a little after christmas 2006, and it hasn't been off of my playlist since. Every track has that Lamb Of God feel to it, yet each one sounds completely different. I would list some highlights, but honestly, they are all that good. I can just about guarantee if you already liked Lamb Of God, then you won't be hitting the "skip" button. Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great accidental find :), 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest with you, I accidentally stumbled across this album while searching on amazon at random. Listened to some of the preview tracks and thought I'd give it a go. Simply wow! I can't help but head bang along with some very attractive guitar and drum pieces. I just have to go careful not to injure my fellow passengers on the bus :), although it might knock some sense into people. Anyways if your into this kind of music you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whoa, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
What an album
Blew my eardrums out
I love it
Makes me headbang and play air guitar whilst im walking down the street
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for de-stressing!, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
only got into these when redneck was released. this album is great and grows on you. redneck is class. doesnt let up either, riffs on here make you want to go for your guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
This was a gift for my boyfriend and he loved it! As Lamb of God is his favourite band, he asked for this album for his birthday. He opened it straight away when he got it and tried it out on his CD player. The CD is excellent, brand new so no smudges and scratches and great value for money. A great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars !Amazing!, 16 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. M. R. Lawrence "Metal Madness" (Falfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacrament (Audio CD)
The best Alabum I've listened to in ages and from one of the best bands on the planet. I would say it is a match for ashes of the wake. I've only listened to it all once but I got into straight away if you liked all the other albums then I can say !BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sacrament
Sacrament by Lamb of God (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews