Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Doctor Who Must Buy
The Jon Pertwee Collection includes six different Doctor Who stories featuring the third doctor, (Spearhead From Space, Inferno, The Claws of Axos, The Three Doctors, Carnival of Monsters, and The Green Death.) Jon Pertwee was arguably the best doctor (personally I'm split between him and Tom Baker as some as his stories, like Genesis Of The Daleks were just amazing.) But...
Published on 13 Jan 2008 by Andrew Kerr

versus
30 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new
From the item description, there appears to be nothing new in this box set. If you're a Pertwee fan you'll have bought these when they came out. At least they didn't add a single limited edition disk so that you had to buy the whole lot again to get one story. On the plus side, if you're looking to complete your collection, then this is a cheaper way of doing it.
Published on 20 Sep 2006 by Isengrin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Doctor Who Must Buy, 13 Jan 2008
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The Jon Pertwee Collection includes six different Doctor Who stories featuring the third doctor, (Spearhead From Space, Inferno, The Claws of Axos, The Three Doctors, Carnival of Monsters, and The Green Death.) Jon Pertwee was arguably the best doctor (personally I'm split between him and Tom Baker as some as his stories, like Genesis Of The Daleks were just amazing.) But with Jon Pertwee you always could look forward to a great story and he delivered every time. Included is the first Doctor Who story to be broadcast entirely in colour (Spearhead From Space,) and also the 10th anniversary (The Three Doctors.) I think Spearhead From Space was the first Doctor Who story to be released onto DVD, and it's not hard to see why, as it is one of the greatest and one of my personal favourite of all time. There are some fantastic special features in the boxed set, especially on The Three Doctors, and Inferno. The boxed set is good value and you're getting six of the greatest Doctor Who stories of all time. The only thing I can fault is that it doesn't include any of his Dalek encounters, which are yet to be released. A must buy for any Doctor Who fan and I recommend that you get it why you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb box set!, 29 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Like the Cyberman boxset. I have these stories already on video only. What tempted me was the value and the boxset presentation. Also the excellent extra documentarys you get with each story. These boxset are great for kick starting a Dr Who DVD collection. I intend to buy the New Beginnings set shortly. All six stories are fine Third doctor stories aswell. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV Heaven, 2 Oct 2006
By 
R. DONLAN (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
When this appeared in my recommendations I couldn't believe it, what a box set it's pure TV Heaven, I can only salute Amamzon for putting this package together.

The John Pertwee stories here are all total classics, he is a true legend. Along with UNIT the Doctor takes on the Autons, travels to an alternate universe in Inferno, battles the Master the Axons at a Nuclear facility, joins his previous selves in the Three Doctors anniversary show where they battle the mighty Omega, then take on giant maggots in wales and also wind up being stuck in an alien projector in Carnival. Sweet I feel like a kid again just thinking about the shows.

The only people I feel for are those who already have these adventures on DVD. A Bargain. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not a Complete John Pertwee, 18 Aug 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Why oh why cant the BBC do all doctor who fans a favour and package up a "Complete ..." for each of the doctors to date ... there just has to be a market for it if well presented and packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stories-Excellent Doctor-Excellent Value, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
6 great third Doctor stories, including the colour debut Spearhead From Space, and the 10th anniversary The Three Doctors, this box set offers all but one of Jon Pertwee's Doctor's DVDs. All the stories are good quality, and while they do not all follow directly on from each other, there are clear links between them. With an RRP of £19.99 each (6 would therefore cost £119.94), £34.99 is a bargain. Grab it before it's gone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent to obtain a rare product like this in good condition, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
excellent value box set with some top Jon Pertwee adventures. My son was delighted to get hold of this, much better than buying individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best doctor, 26 Jan 2008
By 
AJ BROWN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Without doubt, Jon Pertwee is the best Doctor Who.
Great price @ £34.99 and classic stories. You won't be disappointed.
Buy Buy Buy! and then buy The Silurians boxset aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 20 Sep 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who : Jon Pertwee - Limited Edition 7 Disc Box Set (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
From the item description, there appears to be nothing new in this box set. If you're a Pertwee fan you'll have bought these when they came out. At least they didn't add a single limited edition disk so that you had to buy the whole lot again to get one story. On the plus side, if you're looking to complete your collection, then this is a cheaper way of doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews