Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a few missing but still plenty of good tunes to out do a boybands best of!!
I'd heard Noel do a few interviews before this album was released and it brought the choices of some of the tracks into perspective. He explained like many people he got into The Beatles by listening to the Red & Blue 62-66, 67- 70 double albums (me included). Because the record company put the thumbscrews on to release a greatest hits he thought it'd be better to give a...
Published on 30 Nov 2006 by P. Burgham

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better
As a huge fan I was eagerly anticipating this new release by Oasis when I heard there was something in the pipeline, but for me it doesn't work in this format well. If this was a greatest hits album it would be one of the best collections of songs released in two decades but they have opted for this slightly experimental double album instead. Those who bought the...
Published on 31 Oct 2006 by Hugh Finnegan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a few missing but still plenty of good tunes to out do a boybands best of!!, 30 Nov 2006
By 
P. Burgham "Pedros" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd heard Noel do a few interviews before this album was released and it brought the choices of some of the tracks into perspective. He explained like many people he got into The Beatles by listening to the Red & Blue 62-66, 67- 70 double albums (me included). Because the record company put the thumbscrews on to release a greatest hits he thought it'd be better to give a broad review of what he considered the bands best songs and what would make up a good concert set list. This is what Stop the clocks really is a double CD of what a great Oasis gig would be like.

It's true that a lot of the songs feature on either Definitely Maybe or Morning Glory but when you listen back to those albums they do stand above the likes of Be Here Now or Standing on the Shoulders of Giants. Songs like Rock N' Roll Star, Slide Away, Morning Glory and Champagne Supernova may not have been single but their always highlights of going to see Oasis live. As for putting some B Sides on there you could put The Masterplan and Acquiesce on any of the albums and think they were the singles from the album.

It's true I do miss some of my own personal favourites like D'you know what I mean? and Stop Crying Your Heart Out but there are 18 quality tunes on there which make up for it. How many bands release paint by numbers greatest hits not many do it this way which is part of what makes Oasis the best band of a great era.

The bonus DVD is well worth the extra money. The 40 minute interview with Liam and Noel (well mainly Noel) is full of the kind of insight that makes the definitely maybe DVD a great watch. My personal favourite part is Champagne Supernova live at Knebworth with John Squire as it brings together parts of the two greatest Manchester bands of all time.

If you've already got all the albums and B sides it may not be the greatest purchase you ever make. But if this is the start of your Oasis collection then this is a great introduction to some of the best songs every created. With classics like Live Forever, Some Might Say, Don't Look Back In Anger, Cigarettes & Alcohol and Wonderwall on the 2 CD's you can't argue with the quality!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 25 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Clark Gillies (West Kilbride, Ayrshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop the Clocks (Audio CD)
I suppose with a back catalogue as big as Oasis, there is no way every great song can make it onto the album such as this!

All the classics are there, but it is a real shame that Noel hates Be Here Now, cos there are some good stuff on that which has more right of place than some of the songs that are on here already!

Great selection though, but would be even better if Columbia, Whatever, Stand by Me and Hindu Times were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compilation - Not a Greatest Hits Package, 13 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Stop the Clocks (Audio CD)
Oasis have recently on their web site informed which songs are included on this release. For those thinking this is the definite Oasis singles collection, take a look at the songs NOT included (highest U.K. chart position):

Shakermaker #11

Whatever #3

Roll With It #2

D'You Know What I Mean #1

Stand By Me #2

All Around The World #1

Who Feels Love? #4

Sunday Morning Call #4

The Hindu Times #1

Stop Crying Your Heart Out #2

Little By Little #2

She Is Love #2

Let There Be Love #2

Their web site states: The tracks as chosen by the band themselves - the songs they believe encapsulate their remarkable career to date. For many though, omitting all these tracks (no less than 3 number one hits) is rather excessive. Actually, this track list would make most bands proud of their achievement. Usually when tracks are omitted on such greatest hits compilations, those are one or two songs the band just simply hate (case in point is the recent R.E.M. In Time compilation which skips Shiny Happy People) or more often minor hits or known album tracks.

This is not to say that the songs on this compilation are not superb, they are. There are simply so many left, including Whatever which has only been available as a single. This begs the question, why is there not a double CD version of this release? Well, actually this seems to be a double CD release with simply very few songs on each CD compared to the compilation norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You and I are gonna Live Forever, 5 Nov 2006
Picking the best Oasis tracks to fit into a top 18 is a monumental task, one which hasn't really been achieved on Stop the Clocks as Sony are only really putting this out there to cash in on the band since they decided not to sign a new record deal.

we could argue all day about why All Around the World or The Hindu Times isn't on the tracklisting, and why be here now was overlooked completley, but the fact of the matter is that this isn't really for the hardcore fan who knows that strange thing is the only track from the original demo tape to not make it as a properly released song, or that it's a crime might actually be better than let there be love. But instead it is aimed at the person in the street who loves wonderwall, and the rest of (whats the story) morning glory, but thats about it. This collection is made with them in mind to get it and then be blown away by slide away or acquiesce, songs which any other band would have made there careers on.

so, if you're a hardcore fan with 8 different versions of live forever on itunes, then you may want this for the extras, but if you're the caual oasis fan who can't tell which one is noel and which one is liam, but you're scared of both of their eyebrows, then this could be the greatest introduction to the rock and roll stars that are oasis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality in depth, 13 Oct 2006
By 
D. S. CLARKE "www.humbleproductions.co.uk" (Suffolk. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a great testament to the band that everyone has their own views on what should be here. I think it shows real depth in the Oasis locker.

Personally I would have included Little By Little, Let There Be Love, Stand by Me, Don't Go Away & Who Put the Weight of the World On My Shoulders (stunning track from the 'Goal' soundtrack)

I can perhaps see why the band went with the track list they have. It shows the range of the band with the adrenaline fuelled opener 'Rock n Roll Star' through many acoustic and of course anthemic rock tunes, topped off with the beautifully crafted and personal 'Don't look Back In Anger'

I also think it was wise to include a few b-sides. I remember when every Oasis single came out it was like buying a mini album with gems like Acquiesce, Talk Tonight, Half the World Away and Of course the stunning Masterplan. The latter of which is possibly Noels greatest song, although that debate would probably create the same amount of discussion as the 'best of' track list.

In the end I see this as a celebration of one of Britain's finest ever bands. It sums up the feeling that made Oasis so great, their inherent positivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, Myth and Genius, 27 Sep 2006
This review is from: Stop the Clocks (Audio CD)
This is the third compilation from Oasis, following on from the "Familiar to Millions" live album and earlier "Masterplan" B-sides release. Those hoping for a traditional greatest hits collection this time round will be disappointed, "Stop The Clocks" is instead a selection of live favourites in studio form, so we get ten singles, four B-sides (all included on the earlier "Masterplan") and four album tracks (culled from the bands first two albums). Unfortunately this decision has seen no less than eleven hit singles jettisoned into pop-genius orbit like so much unwanted flotsam; "Shakermaker", "Whatever", "Roll With It", "D' Ya Know What I Mean", "Stand By Me", "All Around The World", "Little by Little" and "Stop Crying Your Heart Out" are no where to be found. How many bands could even consider dumping songs of this standard? Noel is on record as saying that he doesn't want to put out a true hits album until the band has run its course so you can understand the reasoning behind the approach but I have to query the actual selection; there is no doubting that every track here is an absolute peach but those fans who have the first two albums (surely everyone) will already have 10 of the 18 tracks included here. Perhaps I'm missing the point though; maybe this just presents a "way in" for those with only a passing interest in Oasis, or to those who were originally unwilling to be swept up in the - completely justified - hype first time around. If you're one of these people you are in for a treat; this is truly indispensable stuff, the songs here are full of life affirming lyrics, irresistible swagger and above all undeniable beauty. It's a great introduction to a band whose music will live on for generations. It'll send a shiver up your spine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but missing so much!, 29 Nov 2006
This review is from: Stop the Clocks (Audio CD)
I do love Oasis and no doubt this collection has some classic songs on it (Live Forever, Slide Away, Wonderwall, etc), so really it should breeze through with 5 stars easily.

However, 18 tracks for a double album is simply not enough! Basically this album could easily have been released in 1996, as it only has a mere 4 songs included from there last 4 albums! Where's Stop Crying Your Heart Out? Where's Stand By Me? Where's Gas Panic!? Where's Little By Little? All missing. They could EASILY have included all of these onto the album if they wanted to. And yet, even looking at the first two albums, there's still a wealth of great songs missing (Sad Song, Whatever, Rocking Chair, Hello etc.)

Basically this collection is far from complete. Buy anything up to and including Be Here Now, and if you like it get the rest of the albums, if you just buy Stop the Clocks you'll be missing out on so much! However, like I said, the album does contain a large amount of good songs regardless, so if you are tempted, at least buy Be Here Now afterwards. (There are no songs from Be Here Now on the album, dispite it possibly being their best work)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 31 Oct 2006
As a huge fan I was eagerly anticipating this new release by Oasis when I heard there was something in the pipeline, but for me it doesn't work in this format well. If this was a greatest hits album it would be one of the best collections of songs released in two decades but they have opted for this slightly experimental double album instead. Those who bought the Masterplan (including me) will feel cheated by the inclusion of some of it's key tunes here and the fact that 'Whatever' - one of their true greats - is missing will also suprise some people (considering it was a stand-alone single), not to mention also that there are no new tracks here to try and promote this album. I understand what the band are doing here by picking their favourites but these songs only partially describe their amazing career. All-in-all, I will be much happier with one of two things in the future:

a) A greatest hits album will ALL of their singles to date

b) A Beatles-style 'best of' early years and later years which would include a mixture of singles, top album tracks and B-sides.

Better luck next time lads

Hugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There really isn't any arguing with this..., 16 Nov 2007
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stop the Clocks (Audio CD)
Stop the Clocks is a great Oasis collection, and is fairly definitive. Every fan will have a different view - I would argue for the inclusion of at least something from Be Here Now, and for Let There Be Love from their most recent album. And of course many other great songs. But at the end of the day, someone had to make the choice, and there isn't really any arguing with any of the songs here. They are the soaring, growling, uplifting anthems that Oasis are famous for. Highlights as ever are the likes of B Sides The Masterplan and Talk Tonight, and early hits Live Forever, Wonderwall and Don't Look Back in Anger. And the more recent hits don't seem out of place.

This is a real flexing of the muscles for Oasis. I challenge anyone who claims not to be an Oasis fan to put one of these CDs on really loud and not enjoy it. Oasis are a phenomenon of modern music, and if you want to find out why, listen on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Because it's Oasis, 20 Nov 2006
By 
As with other reviewers I too was disappointed that no songs from Be Here Now were included, but maybe Noel now thinks this was just a load of "Noise and Confusion", but as a teenager at the time, I thought it was fantastic. Despite this I absolutely love every song on this release, as I always have, and like any other die hard oasis fan it sits pride of place at the top of my CD rack, because of course, its Oasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stop the Clocks [VINYL]
Stop the Clocks [VINYL] by Oasis (Vinyl - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews