Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than waxing!
I have not seen the original film, but this is not a remake of the Vincent Price movie, similar to the recent House on hauted hill film also done by Dark castle is not a straight remake. This is very much a modern day teen horror and is one of the best I have seen of the gerne and I have seen quite a few!
Very similar in some ways to Wrong turn, a group of young...
Published on 19 Dec. 2005 by DVD Fan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The MTV version.
House of Wax 2005 is a lose adaptation of Charles Belden's story. It stars Elisha Cuthbert, Paris Hilton, Chad Michael Murray, Brian Van Holt and is directed by Jaume Collet-Serra. The simple plot sees a group of six friends set out to a football game but encounter car trouble out in the sticks. Finding the town of Ambrose it's hoped that their problems can be solved...
Published on 26 Mar. 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The MTV version., 26 Mar. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
House of Wax 2005 is a lose adaptation of Charles Belden's story. It stars Elisha Cuthbert, Paris Hilton, Chad Michael Murray, Brian Van Holt and is directed by Jaume Collet-Serra. The simple plot sees a group of six friends set out to a football game but encounter car trouble out in the sticks. Finding the town of Ambrose it's hoped that their problems can be solved. However this is an odd ghost like town with a huge wax museum seemingly being the only point of worth, and it holds sinister secrets that the friends are going to get wrapped up in; literally.

Forget any sort of link to the other adaptations of Belden's story, it is in truth a million miles away from the melodramatic tone of 1933s Mystery of the Wax Museum or the classy horror heart of the Vincent Price starrer House of Wax from 53. This is brought crashing up to date with the slasher audience firmly in the makers sights. The formula is a safe one for the undemanding horror fan, a bunch of pretty teenagers are offed in gruesome and ingenious ways, and the mystery element of potential survivors holds tight enough right to the end. This film does exactly what it promised to do, it's hard to imagine anyone thinking that this version was going to be anything other than a run thru of gory set pieces. The town design is creepy and the titular "House" of the title is really rather cool; and fetching with its green and orange make over. The cast aren't asked to do much other than scream, run, fight, scream again and maybe die. So why is the film badly thought of then? I would hazard a guess that it's just a muchness of a muchness in a pretty stagnated sub-genre. Especially during the noughties where remaking horror films of past was the done thing. There's nothing new or fresh here, but neither was that promised by the makers prior to release. Expect your standard teen slasher and this House Of Wax delivers the goods. Anything else will lead to a huge disappointment and have you yearning for that classy Vinnie Price version instead. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A novel kind of "all over body wax"..., 28 Mar. 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I haven't seen the 1953 original version of this film starring Vincent Price , but I suspect that it is better than this 2005 remake. There is nothing in "House of Wax" that I haven't seen before. It is a fairly ordinary "slasher" film featuring a group of young people on a road trip who end up getting bumped off one by one in an isolated village in Louisiana. A lot of the gore in the film is totally gratuitous and certainly does not add to the enjoyment of the film. The dialogue and characterisation in "House of Wax" is cliched and uninspired and the action is mostly predictable , although the acting itself is reasonably good. For me ,the highlight of the movie was the House of Wax itself , a superb Gothic creation and the stunning special effects in it at the end are the saving grace of a fairly run of the mill "horror" movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than waxing!, 19 Dec. 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I have not seen the original film, but this is not a remake of the Vincent Price movie, similar to the recent House on hauted hill film also done by Dark castle is not a straight remake. This is very much a modern day teen horror and is one of the best I have seen of the gerne and I have seen quite a few!
Very similar in some ways to Wrong turn, a group of young friends head of for a road trip to a football game and take a shortcut of the beaten road. After camping overnight one of the cars needs a repair. So off they go into the local town where they could become the next main attraction!
House of wax has some good young actors, especially Elisha Cutbert and Paris Hilton in the eye candy role. Good special effects you barely notice as they blend in rather well. Some grusome and original death scenes! For a 15 this does have some gory moments, similar to other Dark Castle productions I noticed. Overall a very good, original horror featuring a strong cast, a bit slow to start but once things start to go wrong for the group the action doesn't let up. Horror fans espescially will want this in their collection!
It has plenty of extras too, a fun commentary by the 4 main actors as they view footage from production and out-takes. A very unique extra as they laugh and joke looking back to the time of filming and nearly 30 minutes long! There is a 10min feature on the production design of the House of wax and the town set. A 8min feature on the special effects used. Also 1 deleted scene, short gag reel and a trailer. A well put together DVD with some fun extras and a great film! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 22 Jan. 2006
By 
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I liked this film. I liked it a lot.
And the reason I liked it wasn't because of the acting (although its pretty decent)or the special effects (and they are not bad either). I liked it because, unlike most of the current teen slasher films being churned out at the moment, it doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is..a no brainer teen slasher flick!
There have been some highly anticipated remakes released recently. 'Texas Chainsaw', 'Amytiville' to name but a couple.
And I have been heavily dissapointed with them. They come across as wanting you to take them very seriously. When infact, they don't warrent the time or effort to get 'seriously' terrorfied over them because, well, they just ain't all that good.
House of Wax on the other hand sets its statement out early and carries on down that road unashamed, and thats a plus for it.
A great fun slasher film that doesn't try to make you think its trying to be grown up. Its a case of sit back, press play, laugh at the murders, be intrigued by the badies and clap with delight at the fun and quite humourous dark dialogue as the film starts to get rolling (after they find the town).
And when its all finished you should be thinking, 'I enjoyed that coz it was silly'.
Many a current director of teen slasher films could learn a lesson or two from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House Of Wax DVD, 13 Oct. 2005
By 
K. A. Mearns "kevin6187" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
House Of Wax has to be one of, if not the best film i've ever watched - it has everything anyone could possibly want from a horror film and more and features some amazing talent from up and coming actors including Elisha Cuthbert (from 24), Chad Michael Murray (from One Tree Hill) and .. well .. Paris Hilton.
The basic plot is about a group of six friends on their way to a football game and decide to camp out in the woods. In the morning they find their car has been tampered with so make thier way to a deserted 'middle-of-nowhere' town to find help. This town is home to Trudy's House Of Wax - a seemingly popular attraction with extremely life-like wax inhabitants. But when the group start being bumped off one by one and becoming involentry members of this Wax Mueseum, they uncover this town's shocking secret and must escape before there's none of them left to tell the tale.
This film, as any other, offers it's share of thrills and chills and can be quite gross at times but is interesting and fast paced from the word go, never looses it's grip on the audience and builds up to a stunning and visually magnificant climax which will stay with you for a while.
The plot's is great but the cast help carry the film also, even Paris as she brought alot of media hype to this movie and i was shocked to see myself hoping she'd survive in this film as it was Elisha who brought my attention to it.
The DVD also offers great special features including 3 Featurettes, a Behind The Scenes Audio Commentary for Bloopers with 4 of the cast (Elisha, Chad, Paris and Jared), an Alternate Opening Sequence and the Theactrical Trailer.
I recommend this to fans of such films as Darkness Falls, Wrong Turn and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre but not so much to fans of the original as this version is very loosly based on the Vincent Price classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no, paris hilton IS NOT good but the rest is good!!, 1 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I saw this film in the cinema when it first came out mostly because I am a HUGE horror movie fan and also chad michael murray is hot!! I was actually pleasantly surprised when I saw this because it actually keeps the scares up throughout the film mostly thanks to the fantastic brian von holt.However when i say I was pleasantly surprised, i mean after i got out of the cinema and had time to block out any horrific moments i then had a chance to think about how good the film actually was. Be warned this film is not for the faint of heart!! It is extremely gory!!
The only down point in my opinion in this movie, apart from the extreme gore, is paris hilton's performance. She sucks and that is me putting it nicely. She is wooden and unbelievable and throughout the entire film i kept thinking 'should she not be going to a party about now?!' Honestly I did not think she died soon enough! That being said her death scene is easily the most imaginative and frankly, the funniest!
Don't let Paris Hilton put you off this film though. The rest of the performances are fantastic particularly elisha cuthburt and chad michael murray along with brian von holt. And if you are a particulary hardcore horror fan no doubt you will enjoy the death scenes which are a complete shock and surprise each time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining!! Well worth a look!, 26 Aug. 2005
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Don't make the mistake of automatically thinking this movie can't be any good, just because Paris Hilton is in it. Some critics complained about the slow start to the movie, but this is because time is taken to let us get to know the characters. If we don't don't get to know them, then we're not gonna care when bad things start to happen. Elisha Cuthbert and Chad Michael Murray come away from this film with the acting honours, with Elisha in particular being a very believable horror movie heroine. The movie really comes into its own in the final 20 minutes, when there is some superb effects work to portray the demise of the actual wax house. If you saw this film at the cinema, the DVD is well worth getting for its extras which include - B-roll and bloopers, Cast commentaries, Wax on, Melt down, Gag reel, Alternate open, From location - Joel Silver reveals House of Wax, theatrical trailer.
So go on, sit back and enjoy yourself - this film is 100% guaranteed to entertain you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's dated quickly, 14 Aug. 2013
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It's only a 2005 movie but the fear factor has dated quickly....or i'm just not getting scared as easily!
It's a bit more gory than scary but not in a slasher kind of way just a few moments that make you gasp!
I loved the theory behind it and how they made it suddenly realistic when she tried to baracade the door with the crib and he just cut through the door with his knife! It was wax! There was nowhere to hide! That was awesome!
Not too scary, good watch though. Bit slow in the beginning but i'll admit it kept me feeling suspenseful all through the movie which is something I like in a movie and I haven't seen anything in a while that has that ability!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 26 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I know it's not the best horror movie around but it is thoroughly enjoyable and despite people's comments, I also enjoyed Paris' performance. I specially loved the part when she was running around and got stabbed on the foot.
I think the movie has a nice plot to it, nice effects and creates some catchy moments for the viewer, like near the end when this girl tries to peel the wax out of someone's face and all the skin comes out and all you can see is the guy crying and his eyes moving. 4 stars, might be overrated, but maybe 3 1/2 should do it, or 4 if you include the soundtrack and the sex/nude scenes :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!, 3 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I have to say, when I saw Paris Hilton was in this film I wasn`t impressed! However her acting skills are actually pretty good. She seems more real and believeable as a person in this film than she does in her own "Simple Life" programs. All in all the film was entertaining, with good sfx. I haven`t seen the original but will after seeing this re-make. I recommend it as a light hearted horror, not one that will make you jump out your seat but will keep you entertained the whole way through with a good ending. Don`t be put off by Paris Hilton being in it, its worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Wax [Blu-ray] [2005] [US Import]
House of Wax [Blu-ray] [2005] [US Import] by Jaume Collet-Serra (Blu-ray - 2006)
£9.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews