Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely film - uniquely intelligent
This is one of the classic Ealing comedies which lingers long in the memory and leaves a very happy aftertaste. It is unique because of Alec Guinness's tour de force in personifying all the D'Ascoignes, but it has many other virtues too - the suave and solid work of Dennis Price and of Valerie Hobson, beautiful and remote with just a hint of earthy lustfulness, and Joan...
Published on 25 April 2007 by hillbank68

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great film -- disappointing release (see update)
I was greatly looking forward to this digitally restored version of one of the great black comedies of all time. I need not extol the well-known virtues of the film itself: the intricate and imaginative story, the extraordinary acting and actors, the flawless design and execution. It is, quite simply, an icon in film history.

I wish I could say that this...
Published on 14 Oct. 2011 by M. FUSCO


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Price., 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly great film, and a wonderful tribute to the great great British actors of the post war period. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars French version beware, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie, pity it is the 'french version' so no english subtitles and all the written bits in the film were in french.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... am not hard of hearing but the restoration is poor and ruins the beatiful enunciation of the classic actors, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not hard of hearing but the restoration is poor and ruins the beatiful enunciation of the classic actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very dear classic, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good classic comedy-I love it!-it brings my mind back to the days -when cinemagoing was a lot cheaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 15 Oct. 2011
By 
Bookaholic (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching this as a child and enjoyed it then. Even now it does not disappoint, from a era where the film is not so in your face as the present ones are. A true classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love this film so happy it is in my Dvd ..., 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely love this film so happy it is in my Dvd collection it is a film you never get tired of watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable oldie, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took about 12 days to arrive, post-free option. High quality genuine article. Highly enjoyable oldie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Film Restored, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to write a review of your favourite film. However I really like this restored copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Ealing Comedy, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These Ealing Comedies are amazing. And being digitally restored it gives so much clarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kind Hearts And Coronets [DVD] (DVD)
Great just what I was looking for. Thank you for good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kind Hearts And Coronets [DVD]
Kind Hearts And Coronets [DVD] by Robert Hamer (DVD - 2006)
£14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews