Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Room for one more inside...'
I've seen this classic film almost every time it's been shown on TV for the last 30 years, and it's great to be able to have a permanent copy for one's DVD library. Perhaps because the TV prints have always been poor, I'm not so bothered about the print quality as others seem to be (although the sound is rough in places). Sure, this deserves to have the full restoration...
Published on 15 Sep 2007 by Steve

versus
103 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful transfer!
As mentioned before this truly is a British Classic and it is great that it has been made available on DVD. The film shows just what can be accomplished with minimal special effects and budget yet still come across as totally captivating and in some parts downright nerve tingling.

Where this DVD suffers tho is in its presentation which is shoddy and shows a...
Published on 31 Jan 2007 by Cudsie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful transfer!, 31 Jan 2007
By 
Cudsie (North London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night [DVD] (DVD)
As mentioned before this truly is a British Classic and it is great that it has been made available on DVD. The film shows just what can be accomplished with minimal special effects and budget yet still come across as totally captivating and in some parts downright nerve tingling.

Where this DVD suffers tho is in its presentation which is shoddy and shows a total lack of care, appreciation and understanding of the product.

The transfer is from the original VHS release from over 10 years ago now and it has in no way been properly remastered or restored. As to be expected the image is softer than you expect for new transfers and there are many blemishes and frame splices and cuts from the old print. These can be forgivable however the sound is atrocious. Wooly, muffly, distorted and heavily dampened down to eliminate the inherent hiss of the RCA original this audio really lets the film down.

I will say tho that it is slightly better than the even worse print that Channel 4 has shown in the past!

A great pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars try amazon.com for a better transfer, 24 May 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night [DVD] (DVD)
Great film but, as other reviewers have noted, this transfer is very poor. You will get a much better transfer if you buy the region 1 Dead of Night/The Queen of Spades double release available from amazon marketplace sellers or from amazon.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Room for one more inside...', 15 Sep 2007
By 
Steve (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Of Night [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen this classic film almost every time it's been shown on TV for the last 30 years, and it's great to be able to have a permanent copy for one's DVD library. Perhaps because the TV prints have always been poor, I'm not so bothered about the print quality as others seem to be (although the sound is rough in places). Sure, this deserves to have the full restoration business done, but that is very expensive, and I've been disappointed in the past with some American issues of classic films (NTSC to PAL conversion?) so I haven't tried that avenue. Yet.

To the film itself. I am concerned that younger viewers coming new to this film may have unreasonable expectations; it has dated certainly, having a very middle-class 30's/40's Englishness about it that may put some viewers off straight away. This of course would be a terrible shame. Ealing Studios themselves did it no favours by having as a poster (reproduced on the DVD box) a depiction of some weird monster- completely misleading as these are human, psychological, tales.

Over the years, I've asked people what their favourite of the five (six?) separate stories is. Although everyone remembers Michael Redgrave's fine performance with the ventriloquist's dummy, it is The Mirror which is remarked on more than you might expect. This is I think the deepest tale in terms of character development, and we really get drawn into the drama gradually unfolding. I've also always had a soft spot for the delightful Naunton/Wayne golf sequence, a gentle comedy in the middle of the film - giving us a breather before we get inexorably dragged towards that astonishing climax; as surreal as anything you will see in British cinema.

At its current preposterously low price I would snap this up. A better U.K. transfer may come along some day, but this will do in the meantime.

So go on, join Mervyn Johns, and visit Pilgrim's Farm.

Again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ealing, 2 April 2005
By 
Ealing may well be better known for its Ealing Comedy series but this quadruple set of films are excellent from direction to acting.
These period films somewhat represent old post war Britain with the quaint traditions, pleasantness and Received Pronounciation accents and dialogue. Certainly a trip down memory lane.
All of the films are well acted and interesting though personal taste is fundemental in liking any of them.
I wont go into the storylines as they are best watched with no preconcieved ideas.
My favourite in this series has to be Dead of Night. It is with true credit that the acting and direction of this film make it a Ealing classic. Without resorting to blood and guts effects, it conveys the real sense of intrigue and supernatural happenings that does keep you entertained throughout the film. It is more ghost story than horror, but thats fine in my opinion.
Unlike a lot of modern Hollywod films, it not pretending anything other and it is not altering history in favour of the American Empire!
I would recommend this series to anyone interested in the genre of Ealing films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
The new types of horror films cannot hold a candle to this very creepy film. The lack of blood and guts, that modern film makers feel they need to put into new films, I feel adds to the tension.The final scene is the kind of nightmare we all dread.
The tale of the mirror is truly hair raising, I felt the hairs on the back of my neck raise on more than one occasion during the film.
A VERY SCARY FILM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally available!, 26 Nov 2006
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Of Night [DVD] (DVD)
This film scared me as a teenager when I saw it on TV. Many years later it scared me again. Finally I have it on DVD and it can now scare me again whenever I want.

The film itself is stitched together like a quilt from a set of individual stories all of which show that horrow needs merely acting and writing, not CGI. I defy anyone to watch this and ever be comfortable with ventriloguist's dummies again;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, death, madness, and the irrational burst through the polite English surface of this superb film., 10 April 2007
By 
Robert Greenwood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Of Night [DVD] (DVD)
From an era when sheer cinematic skill rather than so-called special effects could create a chilling atmosphere and a sense of the macabre, Dead of Night is one of my favourite films. The golfing episode is, I think, under-rated. The wintry and almost deserted golf club provides a truly eerie setting. The episode also provides the film's most surreal image: that of Naunton Wayne appearing in full golfing gear among the wedding party. That touch of incongruity is truly Magrittian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 5 Oct 2003
This pastiche of short stories, topped by the ventriloquist of Redgrave, never ceases to grip, amuse and frighten me. I rarely recommend films to others...bit I have often recommended this one...and have been pleased to have been congratualted for doing so.
First class entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original and Greatest Horror Anthology, 29 Jan 2012
By 
D. M. Davison "DOM" (LONDON, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Of Night [DVD] (DVD)
Only just watched this, after seeing such great reviews all over the place. It certainly doesn't disappoint and never gets dull. One of those films that you just can't turn away from. Each story is well crafted especially the Ventriloquist doll segment. It's all topped off with a great twist. Highly recommended!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: Dead Of Night [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this incredible film as a child in the seventies and it scared me witless. As a teenager I imagined that a British black and white movie from the 1940s would be very unimpressive. How wrong I was! In fact this powerful work of art only increases in potency with age. It is a remarkable film of real psychological intensity.

Forget other films in the horror/supernatural genre made since. This is the real deal: a truly disturbing masterpiece that you will remember for a very, very long time...
A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Of Night [DVD]
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews